Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Resolved: Sears review in Sacramento, California: Misleading return policy on website

1.0
Details
I purchased curtains and a curtain rod from sears in October, 2014. I only made the purchase because the website said the customer could return the items to any full service Sears store. When I received both items, not only were they cheaply made products, the shipping tag said I could NOT return the items to Sears stores and that I would have to ship the items back. The policy promoted on the website is deliberately misleading. To put it simply Sears LIES!!! I spent more than $28 to ship the items back. I will never shop at Sears again!
View full review
1 comment
Kinsley
#921716

Since my initial review, Sears sent me a store credit for $28.00 to compensate me for shipping expenses for my returned items. This was not my ideal solution, but it was a compromise that I could live with.

While I will never shop on Sears.com again because of this experience, I will shop at their brick and mortar store because I know that if I'm unhappy with an item, I can take it back to the store. At least, that's what I'm hoping.

Resolved
Review
#562809 Review #562809 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Shipping Service
Cons
  • Their deceptive return policy
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$28
Preferred solution
Reimbursement of my shipping expenses

Sears failure starts with poor customer service

1.0
Details
IMO Retails success or failure is based on the quality of your customer service. Sears once had a slogan - "Satisfaction Guaranteed"...really...not showing up to fix my new Kenmore refrigerator/freezer for 5 WEEKS.....dealing with customer service who leaves you on hold for in excess of an hour! promising you are 1st call of the day, then saying Sears went to the wrong address (after continuously assuring you, you were the next call at 4PM), and then saying you'll be rescheduled in 2 WEEKS, because Sears went to the wrong address...R U Kidding me...this is why Sears is dying.....another lost 20+ year customer & family of customers.....Sears can't die fast enough...I bought 6 name brand new appliances from Lowes over a 4 month period.....
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#917398

Hi there,

We never would want to lose a lifetime member. We understand why this is upsetting and as a member you do deserve better!

If there is anything we can do to gain your trust back or assist with any inquires, please reach out to us on one of our social channels so we can best assist you going forward: 

• Sears Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

• Sears Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL

  Both channels are moderated from 8am-8pm Monday-Friday and Saturday-Sunday 8am-6pm CT to happily assist our member's with any issues they may have!     Thank you, SearsCares

With Official Company Response
Review
#561191 Review #561191 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2100
1.4
Details
I will never step foot in a sears again. They have absolute terrible customer service and a worse home delivery service. On Sunday, November 9th, I went to sears with my parents because they wanted to buy me a treadmill for my birthday. We found one that I liked and my...
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#917396

Hello,

Purchasing a new treadmill should be an exciting time. We regret that we've failed to make that happen for you.

We'd appreciate the opportunity to turn your experience around.

Please reach out to us on one of our social channels so we can best assist you going forward. Both channels are moderated M-F from 8a-8p CT, Sat-Sun from 8a-6p CT and we’ll take great care of you:

• Sears Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

• Sears Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL

With Official Company Response
Review
#560898 Review #560898 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Home delivery
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Full refund
We bought from Sears a 3 seater sofa and a one seater. First: a few months after purchased, the front bottom of the sofa started to protrude, still under guarantee. We thought the wood structure would puncture the leather from the inside. It was fixed. Second: an arm...
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#917391

Hello!

We would never want to ruin anyone's idea of their dream furniture.

We want to discuss this matter with your further.

Please reach out to us on one of our social channels so we can best assist you going forward: 

• Sears Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

• Sears Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL

  Both channels are moderated from 8am-8pm Monday-Friday and Saturday-Sunday 8am-6pm CT to happily assist our member's with any issues they may have!     Thank you, SearsCares

With Official Company Response
Review
#560501 Review #560501 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Very dissaponted
  • Damaged structure of furniture
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Tags
  • Nattuzzi Leather Furniture

Sears review in Bronxville, New York: NEVER AGAIN

I ordered online & chose the store pickup. I was informed the product will be there in a week. I got an email that the product arrived and I was instructed in the email to wait for the pick up email. After 9 days, it still hasn't come. I called the store and encountered numerous drop calls. Finally, I was able to get in touch with a human being. I was told that the product is in the store and I can get to the store and MAYBE I WILL BE ABLE TO GET IT or wait for that email. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible.
View full review
2 comments
David
Sears Response
#910361

Hello!

Placing an order online for in-store pickup should not be this complicated.

We want to make sure you receive your order and that you are provided with the kind of service you deserve.

We encourage you to reach out to one of the following social channels. Our team would be more than happy to assist you accordingly.

Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL

Reach out to us M-F from 8a-8p CT, Sat-Sun from 8a-6p CT and we’ll take great care of you.

Best, SearsCares

David
Sears Response
#909822

Hi There --

Placing an order for in-store pickup should not be this complicated. We regret the lack of customer service you've experienced thus far.

The folks at Sears Facebook page would be glad to investigate this further. You can reach their team here: https://www.facebook.com/sears

Thanks!

SearsCares

View more comments (1)
With Official Company Response
Review
#560449 Review #560449 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery

DO NOT waste time ordering from Sears outlet online.

DO NOT waste your time ordering on Sears Outlet. The good deals are not real. I have tried to order on Sears outlet several different times. Always the same thing - one or more items are canceled as not available, even though when I am ordering and I try to order four it says not that many available so I pick two and it says that many are available and puts the order through. Then later I get an email saying the order was canceled. So all my time searching and ordering on the Sears site is a total waste. BTW, same thing happened on regular Sears on line with tires. It happens enough that I do not think it is just mistakes, but rather part of their business plan. It has never happened to me on Walmart online, Amazon, Target online, Office Max, or Office Depot
View full review
Review
#560233 Review #560233 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears ripping off the military personnel - shameful

1.8
Details
Ordered an item and realized immediately after confirmation it was going to be shipped to a store instead of the address entered for shipping! Cancelled immediately, spoke to Sears, they have taken over 2 months, multiple promises of "3-5" business days for refund....nothing. No time to deal with this, being in the military on post, they don't care, just tell me 3-5 days over and over. After every promise i wait over a week, never a refund and never a response from Sears. Then another call to customer service. The last one, from a "Manager"....at some call center in some foreign country..."I am sorry, there is nothing more we can do, you must wait a few more days, there is nothing more we can do". SERIOUSLY? a company so incompetent they can't refund something they acknowledge you never received and cancelled immediately - even after 2 months? Sears is the Obamacare website of online shopping. Sears is incompetent or unethical or both. Shame on Sears
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#917387

Hi There --

The lack of customer service you've experienced thus far is totally unacceptable, especially after an error on our end. We want to make sure you receive the refund you're entitled to.

We would love to help! Please reach out to us on one of our social channels so we can best assist you going forward:

 

• Sears Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

• Sears Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL

Both channels are moderated M-F from 8a-8p CT, Sat-Sun from 8a-6p CT and we’ll take great care of you.

With Official Company Response
Review
#560131 Review #560131 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Shipping Service
Reason of review
won't refund money
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

Sears has poor service rules!

1.0
Details
My treadmill stopped working 8 weeks ago. I called Sears the day it stopped working and set up a service call. The repair person showed up and established (with the help of a Sears Technician) that the faulty part was a $20 speed sensor. He ordered the part and 8 weeks later it came in! When the repair man showed up to install the part the treadmill would still not work! He was told by the Sears technician to try another part....that would take 8-10 weeks to come in!!!!! Each time the service man shows up he charges me for his time as well as his travel (100 km). There is no guarantee that the new part will work and Sears will not allow the repairman to order any more than one part at a time!! It is official!! I've purchased my last item from Sears!! This looks like a warranty that is designed to protect the company and not the purchaser....just like most warranty's
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#917386

Hello there,

We are disappointed to see you are upset with our services. We value our members and want to be sure you receive the service you deserve every time!

For future concerns:

Please reach out to us on one of our social channels so we can best assist you going forward: 

• Sears Facebook: http://on.fb.me/18CwSqp

• Sears Twitter: http://bit.ly/1BK1jbL   Both channels are moderated from 8am-8pm Monday-Friday and Saturday-Sunday 8am-6pm CT to happily assist our member's with any issues they may have!     Thank you, SearsCares  

With Official Company Response
Review
#559731 Review #559731 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Let the repairman order all the parts that could be wrong with the treadmill. The parts we don't use can be returned to Sears

Sears - Car Brakes Review from Great Falls, Montana

Am I pissed at Sears....yep, but not just for the reasons you might think. Sure I've had some bad buying experiences there for example, I took my car in for new brakes and the wheel fell off the next day. I had a headlight replaced there on a different occasion and they broke the headlight socket. But, they were not horribly difficult to deal with and they did eventually fix their mistakes. What makes me angry at Sears is because of what Sears has become. Even as a person in my thirties I can remember when Sears was an honorable retailer. They once sold quality American made products that they stood behind. Now they sell the same junk you can buy anywhere else and if you expect them to give a rip when it breaks...you have better purchased the extended warranty usually for an additional 20% or more or good luck! But the problem doesn't stop there. Talk to any Sears manager and they will sell you the "we pride ourselves on customer service" spiel all day long. Heck they might even believe it, but it's all nonsense. The Sears sales model is self defeating for customer service. For example, I have a childhood friend who's father retired from Sears.....did you catch that?....i said RETIRED from Sears! He worked there for 25 years as an appliance repairman. This guy was a career professional. People called and asked for him by name. People would stop him in public while he was strolling around with us kids to ask repair questions, update him on the appliance they had purchased, or just to shoot the breeze. Have you looked around a Sears store lately? It looks like an after school program for teenagers. Now no offense to the younger members of the workforce. Many high school aged workers are dedicated hard working employees....but who are they supposed to learn from? There is nobody there to teach them to be top notch sales professionals because nobody with a mortgage can afford to work there any more. Sears "associates" (God I hate that) are trained on the products they sell by watching ridiculous computer videos that highlight the features of the product. This is all well and good until a customer has a question about application or work scope. The "associate" typically doesn't have the work or life experience to answer the question adequately. But, this it what $7.25 an hour will buy you...someone who can work for $7.25 an hour....for 20 hours a week. The other part of this equation is that the focus isn't service it's about sales. But not necessarily product sales. Sears has two sales focuses that drive customer service straight into the dirt. The first is the extended warranty. Associates are required to sell these "golden turds" in obscene numbers. Ever wonder why when the kid asks if you want to buy the warranty and you say no that he is still relentless about it. The reason why is that he is required to sell a certain number of these things in order to qualify for his sales commission. I personally know a guy who was a Sears "million dollar" salesman. He would actually get other employees to ring up sales for customers who didn't buy warranty so that it didn't screw up his "credit". So if the other sales people were busy guess what the customer had to do...you guessed it...wait! He even told me that if he didn't sell enough warranty or Sears credit that he had to attend classes at the store on his days off to teach him to peddle this garbage. And if it continued to happen then he would eventually get canned. So where do you think his focus was....on customer service and getting you the right product....or up selling you an overpriced interest laden *** sandwich? I'll give you a hint...it's not customer service. Sears doesn't care about customer service...not really. They only care that their online customer service survey numbers are at the correct percentages, and they usually are....Because employees actually call them in themselves so they can....get paid....OR NOT GET FIRED!!! Instead of experienced managers working side by side with employees to help them develop professional sales skills and rapport with customers you have instead a 16 year old kid going it alone being graded by a telephone call. It's a recipe for disaster and it bakes up a perfect disaster every time. That's why I hate Sears!!
View full review
Review
#559306 Review #559306 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears review in Santa Cruz, California: On-line order a debacle

I bought a washer dryer pair from Sears on line. A couple weeks later they called me to tell me the washer was no longer available even though I had already paid for it. I thought a fair resolution would be to pair me with a similar washer/dryer Kenmore model or pay for an upgrade. I was put through telephone *** being passed from department to department. I was on the phone for over three hours. Ultimately when I finally got the number of the customer solutions dept they said they could only authorize me for a $100 difference. There departments do not talk to one another and you have to spend HOURS trying to resolve what was their problem in the first place.
View full review
Review
#558892 Review #558892 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Price reduction