Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears in Gastonia, North Carolina - Lawnmower dead, lied to about repair, refuse to repair under warranty

Purchased Craftsman push lawnmower less than a year ago with a two year warranty. Used several times last season, would not start for first mowing this year (April 2014). Took to store, sent out for repair, and after a week received a call and told that it wouldn't start due to using "stale" gas which had subsequently clogged up the fuel system. Since this wasn't a "manufacturing defect" the warranty didn't apply and it would be $199 to fix it. Only paid $299 to begin with. I emptied the gas tank last October at last use of the season, ran mower until the remaining fuel was consumed, and then refilled it this season with gas purchased 2 weeks prior. Standard end-of-season practice for me with all my gas powered lawn equipment. Use of "stale" gas use didn't occur, and is therefore not the cause of the problem. I know that and they know that. So either they are lying about it and attempting to extort a ridiculous amount of money to fix a problem that doesn't exist, or they are totally incompetent. Not sure which, but neither is acceptable. When I get the mower back (unrepaired), I'll take it to a local shop and find out what the real problem is. If there is no evidence to back up their "stale gas" claim, I'll send this to the NC Attorney General's office for investigation, and my guess is it won't be the first complaint they've received. I've spent a lot of money at Sears over the last 30 years on tools, appliances, lawn equipment, clothes, and electronics, but no more. Sears has seen the last of my money. Their demise is self-inflicted and apparently overdue, and while I never wish to see an American company close its' doors, in this case it's predictable and justified.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843290

We would like to have a member from our team contact you and help provide you with answers about your lawnmower. Please email searsservice@searshc.com with the full name, address, phone number and URL associated with your service order and this post.

Review
#492223 Review #492223 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Tags
  • dishonest business dealings
With Official Company Response

Never ever use Sears Vacations!

So I got an email from sears offering vacations for up to 99% off! Usually if I see anything like this I pay no attention, but since I was in need of a room I went ahead and put in a search. I found a hotel and put in the promo code and to my suprise it cut 99%. Wow! So I booked and even called the hotel directly to confirm and sure enough everything was confirmed. Well today sears vacations calls me and says that there was a glitch in there system and it was supposed to be a 10% discount. So they informed me that I could pay the remaining balance or they would cancel my room. It seems that the 99% off ad is only to bait people to the website, isn't that called false advertising! I will never use this site again. Book directly with the hotel. These third party companies are a scam.
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843285

We would like you to take a screenshot of this and email it to searsservice@searshc.com so we can have a member from our team look into this for you.

Anonymous
#822186

Purchase heat pump and air handle r from Sears nothing but trouble from the start. They came out so many times to do repairs to and replace the unit .

Electric bill stay high 300--400 dollar s a month .

Found out they sold me a unit that was out date. When to replace a part on the air handler and it cost his much as a new air handler

View more comments (1)
Review
#492045 Review #492045 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
With Official Company Response
On 5/24/14, I purchased a refrigerator that has 2 identical dimensions of my current refrigerator for installation- I explained we have space issues and the salesperson told me that the refrigerator would be delivered without the doors and that everything would be...
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843271

We're disappointed to hear that you had to cancel your order due to poor customer service. However, if you have yet to receive what a customer service team member promised you, we would like you to email searsservice@searshc.com so we can have a member from our team look into that for you.

View more comments
Review
#491954 Review #491954 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$1043
With Official Company Response

Sears in Linden, New Jersey - Bathroom Renovation Roselle NJ

Was promised the removal of Bathtub and new floor installation would only take three days. We are on day # nine. It took two guys to remove the old tub and do some roughing, and haul the old tub away. Next day the tile guy came and announced that it would not right replacing only two rows of tile five rows would look better. So called Sears and asked if we could increase the contract amount and include the 60 additional tiles. They informed me that I would have to deal with the tile specialist myself. He charged an $1500 on top of the $3,400. Now a $3,400 bathroom is costing $4,900 and the $1,500 has to be paid independently of the $3,400, using a separate Credit Card. What a rip-off. I will never deal with that organization.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843262

This sounds like a very odd situation. Please email searsservice@searshc.com with the results of your customer service inquires, along with the URL to this post and the full name, address and phone number associated with the service order.

Review
#491679 Review #491679 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
With Official Company Response

Sears - Whirlpool Refrigerator Review from Cloverdale, British Columbia

I purchased a house in July 2012 which came fully furnished with very nice Whirlpool appliances. Today my refrigerator quit working less than 2 yrs since I purchased the house. I called the retailer (Sears) as well as Whirlpool who told me the fridge has only one year warranty. I did some research online and contacted many repair companies to try and troubleshoot the issue. Tonight I have found that the compressor in my fridge is not working properly. It is extremely noisy, extremely hot and will not cool the fridge anymore. After moving the fridge and removing the rear cover I've identified from the manufacturers tag that the compressor is an Embraco EM3Y60HLP. I am seriously un satisfied about the short lifespan of this equipment that it's only lasted less than two years. This equipment is getting much more difficult to have repaired do to the technology involved and this refrigerator has become disposable because of the poor equipment that has been installed. The compressor made it past the warranty period so now the consumer is responsible for the cost of repairs and or replacement. Embraco's website speaks about innovation and technology, passion, sustainability and talents. I as a consumer would like to see this company put their money where there mouth is and stand up for their product and help a consumer. Otherwise theses words of wisdom and wealth are worthless and my children are without a refrigerator because the company that build the compressor is as disposable and the the product they have created. I will continue to post this and more on the internet until I am emailed a response. Yours truly, the most dis-satisfied consumer ever.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843264

We would like someone with the Sears Canada Customer Service Department help with your warranty issues. You mentioned calling the retailer, but we would like to you try calling the customer service line 1-888-932-1015 and/or go to the Sears Canada customer support page: https://secure.sears.ca/customer-support# to see what we can do to help.

Review
#491368 Review #491368 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
My Sears Experience March 31-April 4, 2014 One of my water heaters developed a leak, so I went on-line to Sears and purchased two Kenmore 50 gal water heaters for $1,746.00. To that I added their Sear’s professional installation, haul away and services, for $520.00,...
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843260

This is a very disturbing story and it sounds like you've been through a lot. We would like to have a Member Experience Manager contact you about these issues. Please email searsservice@searshc.com with the full name, address and phone number associated with your service contact, along with the URL to is post.

View more comments
Review
#491197 Review #491197 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Tags
  • on line contracts

Substandard Cabinets Review

We refaced our cabinets with sears in 2008 and they are peeling and look horrible. Sears has the absolute. Worst customer service ever! Don't waste your money on substandard cabinets from sears!
View full review
Review
#490954 Review #490954 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Waterford, New Jersey - Keep switching time frame

Needed a new compressor fan for my fridge. When they ordered part and I scheduled appointment t o install I wanted a Saturday however I was told they didn't service my area on Saturdays. Therefore, I had to do it on weekday. I explained to them I work and can't miss a day. First they gave me time frame 8am-10am. Then I called as I didn't hear anything from them. Then I was told around noon. Now I am being told around 3pm. I had to lose a days pay and they don't care. NEVER PURCHSE FROM SEARS AGAIN. WE PURCHASE OUR WASHER AND DRYER THROUGH HOME DEPOT AND SERVICE WAS BETTER AND THEY MADE IT AT OUR CONVEINCE. SEARS STINKS
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843257

We would like to let you know that we very much value your time and would like a member from our customer service team to contact you about this poor repair scheduling. Please email searsservice@searshc.com the full name, address and phone number associated with your repair, along with the URL to this post.

Review
#490683 Review #490683 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Delivery Time Review

Sears scheduled me for a delivery time only to change it without informing me. Then they changed it for me to a day I was available and did not honor that date either. They definitely were not reliable.
View full review
Review
#490664 Review #490664 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Leesburg, Virginia - Carpet Cleaning what a hassle!!!!!!!!!

I had many options to get the carpet cleaned. I specifically picked Sears due to its reputation and I love Sears brand. However, the level of service I received unfortunately was way under par. Here are the reason - a) I had to called 5 times to get my appointment setup. They did not seem to get the correct information. First time I did not even get a call or email confirmation. b) Level of service was par for following reasons: i) There are spots before and after cleaning that my wife and I cleaned using warm water and towel ii) After the service our carpet is stiff and hard vs. soft. Later, sears setup a follow up appointment to address my concerns. And here is what happened. a) Staff member showed up and was rude and unhappy b) Did not do any cleaning and left the premises. I am rather frustrated and disappointed with the experience.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#843252

We're equally frustrated to hear about your poor experience. Were you able to talk to our customer service team about this?

Review
#490409 Review #490409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Cleaning Service
Loss
$130