Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears - Very Poor Customer Service at the Highest Levels of Management/Board Members

Purchased a Kenmore refrigerator from Sears in 2013. Ice maker did not work. I called customer service and every tech visit (total of three in a few months time) the tech would say there was nothing wrong with it and that it was me. Sears' response was that this is how the refrigerator was designed and that this was normal. Really? It only makes 6 ice cubes a day. Frustrated to the point that my wife and I were already arguing about the issue. On going joke with friends and family was that when they come to our house, they need to bring their own ice. I was so disappointed with Sears. I can understand that products fail but when they do, you would hope that the company that sold you the product would stand by you and help make the situation right. It didn't seem as if Sears was going to do this so I gave up. In 2014, I decided to file a complaint with the BBB which caught Sears' attention. I think it helped that I emailed their board of directors. This was in April of 2014. Since then there have been several more tech visits and now with calls from their executive office. They now agree and admit that there has always been a problem with this model's ice maker. It appears a service alert has been put in for this model. Finally, validation! It appears it wasn't just my imagination. Wow! Here is what is disappointing: As I have said, the fact that the product failed isn't the issue, it is Sears failure to correct the issue that is truly disappointing and unbelievable. 1) it shouldn't require a service alert to validate a customer's complaint. Even if it is just one customer with only one appliance with an issue, it should be taken seriously and addressed. 2) when they finally admitted there was an issue with the refrigerator, Sears wanted me to pay for the tech visit to fix it because it was beyond the year's warranty. Really? Doesn't the fact that I raised the issue about it multiple times during the first months (within warranty period) and it was Sears that failed to address it properly and timely a factor that should waive the lapse in the warranty period. 3) solutions attempted/proposed: in the last couple of months, there have been several Sears' technicians to my house. First, they glued a piece of plastic to the door since they thought it was hitting the button that tells the ice maker to start making ice (it didn't work), next they sent another tech who said it was the control panel/ice maker unit but he had to order it (another failed attempt), next tech visit the part came in and they put it in (it didn't work), next they said they would order the left door of the refrigerator all together but then they said it is on back order so they have decided to just replace the refrigerator. One would think this is finally Sears doing the right thing but guess what? They won't give me the same refrigerator as a replacement and are in fact allowing me to pick one of a lesser value (I paid approx $1500 for the refrigerator and they are only willing to give me approx $1300). The value of this same refrigerator is more expensive now so if I want it, they want me to pay. Here I am, once a loyal Sears customer. For over a year My household has had to deal with this. We continue to endure the issue and the burden of taking off work / making time to be present for the tech visits (not sure if you counted but I could actually charge Sears rent for the amount of time they had techs at my house). They really know how to lose a loyal customer. It doesn't make sense.
View full review
Review
#487438 Review #487438 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3000

Sears in Newport, Oregon - "Service Center"? A joke...

Our lawnmower has been returned to SEARS three times in less than a year; we have used the lawnmower less than 20 times. The first time (after six uses) they charged me for a new battery and clutch assembly. The second time (within six weeks) it went back; this time they kept it 6 weeks and replaced the entire wiring assembly. It was returned in December long after mowing season was over; I tried to start it in April and had to return it for the same problem. Now they told me they have to charge me for a tune up? The lawnmower should last more than 15 uses before a tune up. The turn around time fr the "service department" is ridiculous; at this rate, my Extended Service Contract which I paid extra for will expire before I use the machine 25 times. I can't exercise the "No Lemon Clause" in the contract because it states the machine has to be repaired four times for the same issue within twelve months and for some reason, the "service department" keeps my machine for weeks on end. When I told the "service rep" I refuse to pay for a tune up, he hung up on me.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#814937

you're obviously doing something very wrong with your mower.

as someone who works in a place that offers repair services I can tell you this is the problem 9/10 of the time is CUSTOMER abuse/misuse/neglect of the machine in question.

as to the tuneup problem that's very incorrect. I've seen people need a tuneup in much less time.

a tuneup is not something that's normally covered by ANY warranty anywhere that I've ever seen unless they have something in theirs specifically that says it does cover it normally.

I tell customers a tuneup is something YOU the CUSTOMER should be doing on your OWN anyways without worry of affecting your warranty. it consists generally of an oil change, spark plug, air filter (if one is present on unit) anything else is would fall under another category.

blade changes for instance? not that you mentioned it mind you for just for example are NOT covered and would be a charge for that.

one thing you didn't mention which would be helpful too is when did you bring it back the time they kept it for 6 weeks? was it during peak season time?

I know here we have customers getting grumpy it's taking more than a few days when they're told up front it could be anywhere from 2-6 weeks depending on if the repair can be done in house or if it's gotta be sent to our repair center out of state. they actually get mad that THEY forgot it was told to them and that THEY signed the paperwork where it states this fact.

so in closing get off your high horse. learn to do tuneups yourself you'll save $$$ in the end and stop trying to put everything off on their repair service you obviously use the machine a lot so what do you expect?

Review
#487386 Review #487386 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500

Sears online out right lies

On 5/9/14 I was curious about a bedframe and mattress but with my work schedule I would need to schedule a delivery date. I asked via chat a sears rep if I could schedule a delivery date, he said yes no problem within a 2 month window I could pick a date. So I place my order, right away it said the packages would arrive between this date and this date. I inquired about selecting a delivery date and they said that was not possible. So I immediately within minutes wanted to cancel the order. They told me it would take 3 to 5 days to cancel. odd how it takes a second to take my money but 3 to 5 days to give it back. on 5/12/14 I received an email saying we are sorry but because your item was already shipped. then on 5/13/14 received an email stating my item was shipped A DAY AFTER they said they could not cancel it because it was shipped already. Sears online was one lie after another to scam a buyer into buying something and to make sure it could not be returned once you realize you were lied too.
View full review
Review
#487305 Review #487305 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$160
Tags
  • bed frame Sears lies sears scams
  • sears lies
  • sears scams
With Official Company Response

Sears in Missoula, Montana - Tried to call my local store... impossible.

I wanted to save myself the time of driving all the way over to Sears to see if they have a part, so I picked up the phone to call them. I ended up at the "call center" where they were completely unhelpful. They said I needed a model number of the part I wanted... isn't that what you're supposed to be for? If I knew the model I wouldn't have called to get help finding it. The phone system is simply terrible. You have to wade through endless menus and that voice recognition software that we all know and hate.
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#834474

Were you able to take care of your part issue?

Anonymous
#817468

You obviously have never ordered a part for anything you don't go to autozone and say I need a part for my ford with out telling them what make and model it is you used to have these big *** books that showed all the models and parts so if you didn't know you could look it up by brand but now it's all online so it is difficult to find but you probably talked with some *** who had no idea how to work the system I know because I used to work there and I am the parts king wether you know the model number or not most employees are dumb and will not go the extra mile to help you just like autozone I have helped many customers find the parts they needed even giving up a chance at making a good commision on a sale I have found parts that the manager couldn't even find it's a little more work but many employees simy don't care or have no common sense I wish they would bring back the big books that makes it easier

Anonymous
#813820

You need the model number for the part you want! Are you really that clueless?

How on earth are they to know what you're talking about if you do not have the model number. You really do not understand how clueless you are do you? I highly suggest you go out right away and get a part time job at any of the following places; Home Depot, Lowes, Menards, Sears and even Walmart.

You will quickly realize that if you have no information you can't help the person asking for help. It's your job as the consumer TO KNOW THE MODEL NUMBER, not the store.

View more comments (2)
Review
#486543 Review #486543 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears in Riverside, California - False Information from Customer Representative

I called Sear's customer service and spent about 30 minutes talking to a representative before purchasing 2 Wii U Deluxe Bundles. I clearly asked the representative every possible question about the price matching policy - especially when I'm trying to price match online Sears with another Sears store. The representative told me that if I have a copy of the receipt of the Wii U for a lower price, I can bring my Wii U in for a price match/refund in differences. That's what I did and I was rejected by 2 local Sears in Riverside,CA. Both the representatives at the two stores told me that the person I spoke on the phone with didn't know what she was talking about. I felt like I was wrongly induced into buying the products. I ended up return both Wii U Bundles to the local Sears and I will never do business with Sears ever again. To conclude, I did not lose any money; however, the time and effort that I wasted really made me angry.
View full review
Review
#486058 Review #486058 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears in Bloomington, Illinois - Broken Microwave, Broken Promise

I purchase a microwave from the outlet store in Nashville. They said the microwave was working fine but had two dents. I took it home and installed it. I noticed right away that it took a very long time to heat up food. I had purchased the warranty so I called to have a technician come out and look at it. They sent a technician out who proceeded to tell me that there was nothing wrong with the unit. I showed him that it took over 8 minutes to cook a bag of microwave popcorn. He told me he couldn’t do anything. I continued to use the microwave and it eventually stopped heating all together. I called Sears again and they set up a second appointment. Well, the day came and went but not technician showed up. I called back and they apologized and said they would reschedule. It was 2 weeks before I could make another appointment. The second appointment came and went with another no show. I called back and was very angry. The person at the call center asked me if I had received the parts yet. I explained that no technician had been to my house to even look at the unit. She said that they had cancelled the appointment because the parts were on back order and that someone should have contacted me to reschedule. She said to call back when the parts arrived. Another 1.5 weeks passed and the parts finally arrived. By this time someone from their executive response team had been in touch with me to ensure that the issue was handled. I called them back and set another appointment because the parts were finally in. Surprise, they were a no show for a third time in a row. I called back and demanded a refund as I could not wait for them to figure things out any more. They refused to refund the money and told me that I would have to file suit against them to get it. I went yesterday and filed a complaint in General Sessions Court, so we will see what a local judge says. I am a single father with sole custody of 3 children, one who is in treatment for a brain tumor. I working microwave is a necessity, but they just don’t care. Avoid Sears and their joke of a warranty at all costs.
View full review
Review
#485256 Review #485256 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$203

Sears in Temecula, California - Refund......

had a damage micorwave. had it return to the store said i would be getting a refund check in the mail in 7 10 days ... had to waste time call sears got the run around..had to drive up there several this went on for 3 weeks ..then found out they never sent the check bad service treat u like after they get your money ..went to the store one last time..was made to wait an hour...did get my refund...people were rude...temecula store.. sears..temecula california ..please avoid this store at all cost... and then only give me back 216.00 instead of 247.00 after all this time..terrible service ...from the manager to the salespeople...
View full review
Review
#485094 Review #485094 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$247
With Official Company Response

Sears in Chatsworth, California - Horrible First (and Last) Experience

Patronizing this Third Party Vendor as well as Sears is by far the most infuriating experience I have ever encountered with merchants. I now know why Sears and its subsidiaries are plagued with so many financial woes- they insensitively mistreat their customers to the point that very few continue to do business with them. In my recent (and only) experience, I have been troubled time after time by their lack of business savvy, professionalism, and incompetence.To have the first item delivered be the wrong item and then the second item delivered to the wrong person/address speaks to why I am poorly rating these companies. Now the item is out of stock and neither merchants had any regard to my financial loss due to the other items I purchased to accompany this set that cannot be returned. Thus, I give them both a poor rating and would give them a negative rating if possible. I am currently in the process of taking action to be compensated for their their misfeasance, but thought is wise to advise others to avoid conducing business with either Sears or their Third Party Vendor, ErgodE.
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#810253

Hello Anonymous,

Thank you for sharing with us about your order situation, and we apologize for receiving the item wrong multiple times. We’d like to speak with you, and have one of our dedicated case managers contact you to make sure this situation is resolved and you've been taken care of.

At your soonest convenience please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Anonymous484214), and phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Edwin C.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team

Anonymous
#808814

I'd call and demand a discount on your bill and a refund on any and all delivery charges. They hire third party contractors to deliver and install their products.

I'm so sorry for this. I had one guy come to our house and although I had it in the contract that they run the washing machine to make sure it wasn't going to leak, the guy refused, until I called corporate while he was still there and my husband showed up at the same time. The guy did as he was told, but you could tell he was pretty ticked.

He was about to walk out the door. Trust me, had he done that, that washing machine was going right out with him, crammed up his backside.

View more comments (1)
Review
#484214 Review #484214 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

SEARS Auto REFUSES to Honor Tire Warranty

I experienced the exact same service as many others from Sears Auto. The Sears Auto Sales reps at 1178 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 refused to even inspect my tire and immediately began berating my knowledge of the warranty. Both Raymond and Rick used bullying and intimidation tactics to prevent people from reporting tire defects. They lied and told me it was not SEARS problem. Then they said it was MY FAULT for not having them rotated at SEARS. I spent over $1,000 on 4 tires and in 2yrs, they shredded. When they sold me the tires, the sales rep re-assured me on the great warranty protection and excellent customer service. However, when I came in today to have my tires replaced under the warranty, not only was RICK a *** but he continued his verbal abuse towards other customers who also brought their car in for warranty redemption. The 1st thing Rick said to my face was, "DID YOU READ THE WARRANTY because if you READ the WARRANTY you'll understand this is NOT SEARS PROBLEM?" Why would you even ask me if I read the warranty instead of investigating and checking the car first? What if I wasn't a native speaker or couldn't quite understand the "fine print" on the back of the warranty? Is this a justification to berate CUSTOMERS who ask for tire replacement assistance? In the end, they refused to do anything! BUYER BEWARE!
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#819622

I was told that the tires I had purchased had no warranty. That was after I was told that the tires had been discontinued.

Yea. I was told to come back when I had my warranty papers on the tires. The service guy had changed my oil and checked alignment(which all four tires were in perfect alignment I was informed). When I went back after finding warranty papers, the person who was helping me could not find my information in the computer on my last visit.

The guy that said I had no warranty walks over and tries to control the conversation. He, who had once said that I had no warranty, was now showing me a booklet and stating that my tires had a 50,000 tread wear warranty and not 65,000. The nice young lad that was trying to help me couldn't find info on my last visit in the computer so he was going to check the paper work they keep in their files. The supervisor told him that paper work was last year and had been put away and it would be impossible to try and find it because it was way in the back.

Back where? I don't know. But I have a degree in accounting and no business files last year's records where they cannot easily refer back to them. Last year had been in November 2013 and it was first part of February2014.

One would think that this information would still be needed for tax filing purposes and not kept somewhere impossible to locate.

I had paid money for the oil change they did. Wouldn't one think, "where did the money go that I had paid?" Had to show somewhere right?

Anonymous
#814635

As someone who wholesales tires for a living I can tell you that there are very few warranties out there offered by tire manufacturers. That being said the fact that all 4 tires shredded leads me to believe that perhaps there was improper maintenance performed.

Ensuring the correct tire pressure is VERY important in ensuring the longevity of your tires. It sounds like your tires were under inflated for some time which lead to them 'shredding.' I wouldn't imagine that it was Sear's fault that you didn't maintain your tires adequately

SearsCares
Sears Response
#807929

Hi keithlee_76,

We appreciate you for letting us know about how you were treated at one of our auto centers, and we’re sorry for the level of customer service provided as well as to how we made you feel. We’d like to speak with you and have one of our dedicated case managers help you in getting this issue resolved.

At your convenience please contact our office at smadvisor@searshc.com so that we can further discuss your concerns. In the email please provide us with your contact #, screen name (keithlee_76), and the phone # used at time of purchase. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences faced.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Edwin C.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team

View more comments (2)
Review
#483442 Review #483442 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Replacement

Sears - Last Sep of 2013, Hamlet bought was not complete. March 2014 collapsed.

After three shipments finally had a complete package. Assembled exactly as instructed. ( felt good at that point ) March 2014 roof collapsed. Called store was told to call Arrow. Called Arrow was told it was " Act of God ". WOW, since I am Unitarian and really do not judge if God " Acts ". The shed is not made to hold snow at all, maybe an inch but not for Minnesota or any place where the snow stays on the roof for an extended period of time. Do Not buy Arrow if you live north of the Mason Dixie Line or south either for that matter.
View full review
Review
#482915 Review #482915 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$350