Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears gave false information

We bought a Nordic Track 7700 from Sears and they said it was the same exact model as Nordic Track sells and that I could buy it from Nordic Track. I know companies change the quality, motor, etc. when selling to lower quality stores (sears does not have quality merchandise for the most part). He assured me that it was the same exact machine as Nordic Track and that I could buy the 7700 directly from them. That was an untruth. He said that the console would project to the TV screen (I'm short and can't see the console and want to do the google map routes and use the browser and be able to see it). He assured me that the browser and trail maps would all display on the TV screen so I could see them. That was an untruth. He also told me that the ifit subscription was free with the machine I bought. I tried to pay for it and he said it was included with this machine. That was an untruth. All of which was false. Nordic Track was very unhelpful and one person was rude and in so many words said it was my problem. If they are going to use Sears as an agent then it's their problem too. He told me it would be 30mns to 1hour set up and simple. It was difficult, complicated and 4 hours. That was an untruth. I posted my complaint on Sears and a representative, for the sake of customers reading these posts, asked me to send my contact info so they could help me. I sent it and never heard from them—I pretty much figured it was an empty gesture from everything I've heard about Sears customer service (oxymoron). After many attempts to talk to the Store Manager we finally got a hold of him and he said we could return it (duh, that's the law) but he wouldn't pick it up for 2 weeks and after that he would give us our money back. My husband asked if he really wanted to lose a customer over a simple product pickup and he was completely unconcerned about it. I have written many reviews on Sears and Nordic Track today (Nordic Track needs to sell through someone else) but hadn't written one to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) but we are going to do that tonight when my husband gets home. Buy socks on sale but NOTHING else from Sears, too many good reputable places to have to deal with a place like Sears.
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#804429

Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the information on your Nordic Track. My name is Jack and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team.

Please accept our apology for the issues that you experienced. We would like to a have a case manager contact you to discuss your concerns in greater detail. At your earliest convenience, please email the following information –contact phone number, screen name (Anonymous482426), and phone number used at the time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Again we’re sorry for any trouble this may have caused and we look forward to speaking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jack C.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#804343

Actually regarding return laws in South Dakota "There are no state laws regulating return policies. Each store may set its own policy."

View more comments (1)
Review
#482426 Review #482426 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager
Tags
  • didn t care

Sears - Microwave oven broke

My name is Robert Lightcap. I live with my wifw at 2123 Glenview St., Phila. Pa. We purchased a Kenmore microwave oven at K-Mart in June of 2012 for which we have a receipt. On April 1, 2014, we started to have some trouble with it. When I put something in it to cook or reheat, the timer would start, but the turntable would not go around. I tapped on the door and then it would start to turn. This happened a few times during the next few days. On Sunday, April 6th, while cooking bacon for breakfast, the motor stopped about half way through. but the timer kept going. I tapped on the door but nothing happened. I closed the door a little harder and turned the turntable by hand, but nothing worked. I spent all day Monday trying to get some help on the phone, but to no avail. I finally talked to a supervisor, who told me that no one outside of Corporate Headquarters had the authority to to have it replaced or repaired @ no cost to us. She gave me the e-mail address to Corporate Headquarters, which I have been unable to bring up on any computer that I tried on. The e-mail address she gave me, which I later confirmed, is shc@customerservice.sears.com It comes up on google, but there are 28,000 sites to chose from and the only one where I could lodge a complaint was this one. We are Senior Citizens and on a fixed income from Social Security. I know that's not your problem, but we try to buy reliable products so We don't have these problems. I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a microwave oven to last more than 22 months without spending extra money on an extended warranty. In My opinion, if you are selling extended warranties on your products, then you must not think to much of your workmanship. I am requesting to either have Our microwave replaced or repaired at no cost to us. On our income, we can't afford to buy a new microwave every 22 months. I can only tell you that if we have to purchase a new microwave on May 3rd, when we get our checks, you can rest assured it won't be a Kenmore. I would certainly appreciate anything you can do for us. We need a break. Thank you Robert Lightcap 2123 Glenview St. Phila. Pa. 19149 e-mail rblsr.1@comcast.net
View full review
Review
#482321 Review #482321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
Always make them plug it in first. The skinny little geek of a salesman assured me it wasn't a rebuilt. I paid another $185 for installation & it didn't work, When I made the appt, they assured me I wouldn't be charged if the oven didn't work. It didn't. They...
View full review
5 comments
Mike_mn
#807524

I agree with MikeBrady. Is it really going to help by insulting the very people your looking too for a resolution!

Also, a warning about persons claiming to be from a 'Customer Relations'. This is a complaint web site. It is NOT sponsored by retail companies, and typically not monitored by them.

Unless you call their tool-free number, or, start a communication from there web page, do NOT give out any information about yourself, or, your issue to anyone claiming to be from Sears (Or any other company).

You may think is obvious. But, you'd be surprised by how many people get scammed.

There's nothing wrong about expecting a resolution from Sears. But, there are many people who would take advantage.

View more comments
Review
#481549 Review #481549 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$670
With Official Company Response
Problems & runarounds with reconditioned fridge. 6 service calls in 7 months. Pray you never have to call for service. If you do, document everything. Multiple transfers to people whose command of English is questionable at best. Must be paid based on how long...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#801222

Anonymous,

We genuinely appreciate you feedback regarding the experiences you have had with purchasing from us. We certainly don’t intend for you or any of our customers to become frustrated or annoyed with any aspect of our business and we’d like to ensure the concerns you brought up are addressed as well as assist you any way we can.

Please send the following information – contact #, this screen name I’ve created for you (28affad) and phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Also, please include the case number you’ve been provided. Again, we apologize for any trouble we have caused and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#481303 Review #481303 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
Loss
$1000

Sears in Cleveland, Ohio - Muffler scam

i went to sears on seminary drive in fort worth texas and the ad said 19.99 for a new muffler. so they wrote me a order for 599.00 saying i needed a new dual exhaust system and THEY CAINT ALLOW ME TO TAKE THE CAR UNTIL I GET IT FIXED so i said ok lemme think about it. so this caused them to let their RETARdED GUARDS DOWN HAHAHAHA so what they didnt realize is i always carry a spare key in my pocket heheheheheh SO WHEN THEY WENT INTO THE OFFICE I JUMPED IN MY CAR AND STARTED IT UP AND TOOK OFF FLIPPING THEM OFF AND LAUGHING
View full review
1 comment
Mike_mn
#807529

I can see this with a failed brake system, but an exhaust system!

The Ohio law '4513.02 Unsafe vehicles' section E & F states that an inspecting officer can seize the vehicle until repairs are made. Question is...

is the Sears repair shop considered and Inspecting Officer? Reading the section, I think not. Sounds like a scam to me.

45312.02

(E) When any motor vehicle is found to be unsafe for operation, the inspecting officer may order it removed from the highway and not operated, except for purposes of removal and repair, until it has been repaired pursuant to a repair order as provided in division (F) of this section.

(F) When any motor vehicle is found to be defective or in violation of Chapter 4513. of the Revised Code, the inspecting officer may issue a repair order, in such form and containing such information as the superintendent shall prescribe, to the owner or operator of the motor vehicle.

The owner or operator shall thereupon obtain such repairs as are required and shall, as directed by the inspecting officer, return the repair order together with proof of compliance with its provisions. When any motor vehicle or operator subject to rules of the public utilities commission fails the inspection, the inspecting officer shall issue an appropriate order to obtain compliance with such rules.

Review
#480926 Review #480926 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$50
With Official Company Response

Sears in Clarksburg, West Virginia - $600 washer is a piece of ***!

I bought this washer that has NEVER worked right- stained my clothes with soap, no spin, no water...they have come out 8x in the last 3 years and they will not replace it unless you order parts 4x in 1 year. I HATE THIS MACHINE AND NOW I HATE SEARS!! Their customer service sucks and their technicians are idiots. My grams had a washer that lasted for 20 years! Why can't they make products that work and last? OR at least stand by what they sell! I called their customer service help line and still nothing they can do! Well they lost a customer and now I am on a rampage to tell everyone NOT to buy anything from them and it looks like I am not the only one- Sears is the most despised company out there according to recent polls. You lost me and as many people as I can tell to NOT BUY FROM SEARS!!
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#799735

Geez, they don't MANUFACTURE it, take it up with either whirlpool OR Lg, only 2 they outsource too.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#799693

Anonymous,

I saw your comment today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Kurt and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team.

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with your online order. . We can truly understand how frustrating it can when an appliance does not meet your expectations. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to ensure this washer matter is addressed and hopefully restore your faith in Sears.

At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (Anonymous480704), to smadvisor@searshc.com.

We look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Kurt M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

LTCC
#799388

2534 and counting...Dissatisfied customers! Just wait...the peusdo SEARs Care minion will be contacting you via this forum to do damage control.......its a mock gesture of concern......they will do nothing for you as they have in the past to all others.......make sure you post your negative follow up!!!

View more comments (2)
Review
#480704 Review #480704 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600
Tags
  • don t buy from SEARS
With Official Company Response

Sears/Kmart

I will never buy anything from Sears/Kmart again. They mislead me to make a sale, then tried to strong-arm me into making additional purchases "since the product had already shipped". The good news is that I got to speak with a lot of foreigners who did not understand basic English and could not understand my questions let alone answer them. I spent nearly 3 hours on the phone with unhelpful people after spending 20 minutes with a customer service rep who gave me wrong information. Sears used to be such a great, honorable and reliable company. Now I will consider it my duty to warn others about their current way of doing business.
View full review
3 comments
Mike_mn
#807533

This is unfortunatly, the trend.

There's really no need to travel anymore, since we can get the 'world tour' just by calling a companies help(less)-desk.

Anonymous
#797436

all of the Kmarts near me already closed. No more Kmart at all.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#797376

MJ2014,

I saw your comment today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Kurt and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team.

We are sorry to hear about your recent repair experience concerning your microwave. We know it can be very frustrating when a purchase experience does not meet your expectations. We would like the opportunity to speak with you and address any concerns you have with your mattress order and the level of customer service that you have received. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (MJ2014), to smadvisor@searshc.com.

We look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Kurt M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (2)
Review
#480087 Review #480087 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1108
With Official Company Response

Sears in Fort Wayne, Indiana - 3 TECHS OUT AND STILL CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM

I have an LG washer 2 years old and it stopped working, 2 different "techs" come out, dented it twice, couldn't fix the problem so re scheduled for another "tech" to come out, same result but were rude, today they call and say they can't make it, SERIOUSLY? I called the store with no results and then called corporate, they can only send an email to them to get a faster appointment time, meanwhile I have been without my washer for 2 1/2 weeks, I let them know if it isn't fixed ASAP I will be contacting the BBB and a lawyer! if you sell things and pay for a warranty then you should stand behind your products. HIRE TECHS who KNOW what they are doing! I will not buy another thing from them again!!!
View full review
2 comments
Mike_mn
#807536

What does a newer washing machine and the space shuttle have in common? 500,000 parts all made by the lowest bidder!

But really...

why the heck does a washer need to be computerized with a circut board!!!

Displays, lights, and touch buttons are great... but why does a washer have to look like it came out of NASA?

SearsCares
Sears Response
#796990

Anonymous,

We thank for taking the time to let us know about this situation. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team.

We can truly apologize for the mishaps that have occurred with your washer repair. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to assist you and address this matter.

Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Anonymous479965), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#479965 Review #479965 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$1200
With Official Company Response
I purchased a Kenmore Waterheater with 12 year warranty. After only 2 years now, I found the Gas Module has gone out. I followed the manual troubleshooting section and was easily able to confirm with the LED Diagnostic light on the valve that I was getting 4 flashes...
View full review
10 comments
Anonymous
#807615

Why don't you just walk back into the Sears store you purchased it from, instead of dealing with all those people on the phone.

View more comments
Review
#479474 Review #479474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager
Loss
$200
With Official Company Response

Sears in Van Nuys, California - Very Poor Customer Service

We purchased a freezer at Sears. When we went in, we would have liked to be able to look at them without being hassled. But, of course, here comes the sales guy talking 90 miles a minute. My husband was ready to walk out, but I really wanted to get the freezer. I told him we would come find him when we were ready, but he didn't move. I finally decided on what I wanted. When he rang it up, he was very rude when we asked about the discount using our Sears card. Said we didn't qualify. Then we asked about the free delivery....again, we didn't qualify, but wouldn't say why. If I hadn't wanted the freezer, I would have walked out. I called back to ask a question and had to call 5 times to get the answer. They just kept putting me on hold and apparently walking away. Doubt that I'll purchase any appliances from them again. Their customer service really needs an overhaul before really *** another customer off and they lose the sale.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#795460

Anonymous,

Thank you for posting about your recent customer service experience. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the level of customer service you experienced while trying to purchase a freezer.

We would like to have you speak with one of our dedicated case managers, so we will be able to have a better understanding of what occurred and address your concerns properly. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com.

In the email, please provide a contact phone number and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Anonymous 479373), you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Dianne D.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team

Review
#479373 Review #479373 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Large appliances