Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears - Purchased expensive lawn tractor 7-speed Shift on the Go

After mowing a few times tried to remove blade for sharpening, but it would not unscrew. Consulted Operator's Manual and it said you had to remove the entire cutting deck assembly. Finally removed it and found blades had rusted because they were made of cheap steel. All parts in this cutting assembly were stamped made in China. They were poorly machined and full of burrs. The blades are cheap steel, but cannot purchase other manufacturer's blades. IT TOOK 8 HOURS TO TAKE THIS APART AND PUT IT BACK TOGETHER. DO NOT BUY! IT IS CHEAP CHINESE JUNK! Only good thing is the motor made by Briggs & Stratton.
View full review
Review
#452281 Review #452281 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1500
With Official Company Response

Sears in Deerfield, Illinois - New Refrigerator delivered - broken ice maker

Every communication I have had with Sears has gone wrong and the customer service people on the phone are extremely uncaring and robotic. I purchased a brand new Kenmore refrigerator for $1800 and a small freezer. The refrigerator was delivered and the ice maker was not working. I called and went to the original store where I made the purchase. A new ice maker was ordered and I was told I would have to wait for 5 days after the delivery before the tech could come and install it. The tech did not want to look at the refrigerator unless the ice maker was there, not sure how they determined the cause to be the ice maker. The freezer section and the refrigerator were working. Tech came out and worked on it for 3 hours, not an ice maker issue, there was a problem with the wiring and the refrigerator had to be replaced. Next day, I opened the refrigerator and all my food had gone bad because there was no cold air coming from freezer or refrigerator. I was told they would replace the refrigerator - I DO NOT WANT ANOTHER REFRIGERATOR FROM SEARS!!!! I had a phone call from sears, customer service to say they would be picking up my freezer. I didn't have any problems with my freezer. Then we were disconnected and no one ever called back. I made several calls and finally the driver came out to pick up my broken refrigerator and was the ONLY nice person that I dealt with. He called customer service to see if I could get a discount on a replacement and was told no. Even after I had lost a few hundred dollars worth of food and a few weeks of time and aggravation of dealing with the issue. The refrigerator is gone. Today I get an automated call from Sears saying to please call because my delivery is going to be delayed. I call Sears and I'm told that I am scheduled for a refrigerator delivery. How can that be possible. Even when I go to hang up, the CS rep tells me in 24-48 hours I will get an email with my new delivery date. I don't think she understood one word I said to her. Then after I started yelling about not wanting another one, she had the guts to ask me if I wanted to buy something from Sears. Are you kidding me? Not one person got anything right. I have all my appliances from Sears, but it is time for me to move on and look at another company for my appliances.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#727983

Dear Cashli00,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry for the multiple setbacks you have faced since making your appliance purchases with us, and apologize for the trouble you are currently experiencing as you try to get your refrigerator returned. It is easy to understand why this whole situation has been disappointing for you, and we would like the chance to ensure that the remainder of your experience goes smoothly. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Cashli00), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Review
#452119 Review #452119 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Replacement
With Official Company Response

Sears in Connellsville, Pennsylvania - No refund --- No merchandise

I spent 386.92 on line called canceled order few hours later item never shipped or processed. Reason found same product cheaper in-stock local retailer .... Two weeks have passed and still no refund for an item that never got pulled from the shelf..... Worthless company I hope they bankrupt and end the misery already... Terrible in-store service--- and also the store employes have no idea what there talking about.... I was in the tool isle a few days later and i asked the tool professional (psssh). Didn't even know what an ipmact driver was... I asked he gave me a hammer... lmao
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#769489

They told US that they could NOT cancel and order. The people at the call center have no idea what to do about any kind of problems they encounter. All they do is read off of a paper supplied by the company. Usually when they read the paper they can't pronounce the words because they do not speak English.

Eventually they tell you what you want to hear to get you to hang up. If you don't hang up they will hang up on you. They and untrained and uneducated for the most part and will tell you straight out that they do not care if your problem is resolved.

It will be the best thing ever when this store is bankrupt. He old sears died years ago

And no one really knew it, unfortunately.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#727600

Anonymous451929,

I saw your comment today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Kurt and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We are sorry for the difficulties you have experienced with the refund of your purchase. We can truly understand how frustrating it can be without have that amount of money readily available to you. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to ensure this matter is addressed and hopefully restore your faith in Sears. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (Anonymous451929), to smadvisor@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Kurt M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#451929 Review #451929 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$387
With Official Company Response

Sears - Poor management policies

I purchased a IR air compressor with a sears service contract. Went to repair center about purchasing synthetic compressor oil but that they did not use synthetic oil and did not have it for me to purchase. According to IR, synthetic oil will need to be replaced yearly. I know non synthetic oil has to be changed more often. How can this be cost effective to me and to Sears. I have to go for repair shop more often and you have to spend more service hours to keep compressor in top notch condition. Difference in cost of oil is about 9 dollars more for synthetic.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#769490

I don't understand HOW they can get away with selling warranties and then not honoring them. Seems illegal to me......

I have had people call me and try to get me to renew my existing contracts.

I got wise to that and when I declined to renew they were rude and offensive. They want the money but don't want to honor it once they get their money.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#727255

Anonymous451773,

Thank you for bringing your concerns regarding the oil in your air compressor to our attention. It concerns us that, after spending money to purchase the compressor and service contract from us, you are not happy with the oil that we have available, either for sale in our stores, or through our repair centers. My name is Jack and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We would like to discuss this matter with you in greater detail. One of our case managers can contact you to see what options are available to you at this time. If you would like to speak to us about this, please email the following information – your contact phone number, screen name (Anonymous451773), and phone number used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again we’re sorry for any trouble this may have caused and we look forward to speaking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jack C.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#451773 Review #451773 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I wrote and submitted a negative review about a Sears Marketplace merchant on their website, and I got the following response: "Oops, there's a small issue with your review. Your review wasn't approved.Please just review the product and its features. If you have other...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1085889

Yep, same here with Sears.ca (Sears Canada)

They don't like to publish negative reviews.

I posted mine a few times before it got published, I received an e-mail saying my review is live and I confirmed this. A few days later, I went back and found that the review was gone.

Another reviewer did manage to get a somewhat negative review published on this item, however I was very negative in mine because it's a horrible product quality-wise.

Sears does not want its customers to know about this fact.

Here is the review that was published by Sears Canada and then removed shortly after:

Poor Quality The sheets softened up some after a wash, but are still pretty rough after three washings. Sometimes people say Egyptian cotton will soften up with washings, but that's just a way to discourage you from returning the product. I no longer buy from Sears website or catalogue - in my experience, too many merchants are using it as a place to dump stuff that wouldn't sell in the store. One pass of your hand on this fabric and you know it's no good.

I was too busy to return these sheets within the one month they give you as a reward for paying cash (store card users get three months). As another reviewer mentioned, they did shrink a lot even though I dried them on the lowest heat setting, however they still almost fit my pillow top mattress though not very well due to the shrinkage. They do not appear to be sateen as advertised, and the thread count is questionable - very grainy.

The fabric already has some pills, and the pillowcase is starting to come apart at the seams. http://www.sears.ca/product/malibu-300-thread-egyptian-cotton-sateen-sheet-set/696-000157701-MALIBU-4-T300

View more comments
Review
#451534 Review #451534 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$212
Tags
  • seller feedback
  • Oops
  • there s a small issue with your re
  • Your review wasn t approved
With Official Company Response
I have had enough with Sears or Kmart and they have lost my business forever! I order a lot online and I have never had so much horrible experience with any other store! It looks like people who work there cannot read English to see what a customer ordered or just do...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#726789

Dear Hammond2013,

It truly concerns us when we hear things like this said about the products we sell, or the services we provide. My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We apologize for the over disappointment surrounding your online purchase experience. There are many variables that determine how fast a refund is processed for a canceled order. Without knowing the specifics of your situation it is hard to say exactly what caused this delay. Nevertheless, we understand how discouraging this type of service is for you, and we’d like the chance to get some more feedback. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (hammond2013), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#451473 Review #451473 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
With Official Company Response

Sears in Medfield, Massachusetts - We purchases a new snow blower about 2 yrs ago, never worked

i tried my new craftsman snow blower at the first snow fall.. worked for about 1 second then the snow jamed at the blades and shoot. I clared it and tried again, same results..jammed now i'm angry, I called and customer service replied , bring it back! I dont have a vehicale large enough, send technician out, replied we cant do that..now its 2 yrs, tried again innthe snow Same snow jam, Cleared and tried,..no good. now i found a person who fixes snow blowers,he said belt is no good and the mechansim where the blades are is loose and should be tight. His expertise indicated "faulty at the factory" So i paid him 141.00 to fix and now will work properly I have the paid bill and want compensation from Sears
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#727233

Anonymous451412,

We appreciate your feedaback concerning the snow blower that you purchased from Sears two years ago. We apologize for the issues that you have experienced with the snow blower. My name is Jack with the Sears Social Media Support team. I understand that this situation can cause you a lot of frustration. You spent your money on a product that you expected to perform well and the snow blower has failed to meet your expectations. We would be happy to have a case manager contact you to get some more information about the snow blower and to determine the best course of action at this time. If you would like to speak to us about this, please email the following information – your contact phone number, screen name (Anonymous451412), and phone number used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again we’re sorry for any trouble this may have caused and we look forward to speaking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jack C.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

nikalseyn
#726430

You did not specify what kind of snow blower you bought, single-stage or two-stage, etc. On a small blower, single stage, the belt, if not tight enough, will cause the problem you experienced.

This happens especially if the snow is wet. Apparently the machine was not assembled properly, either at the Sears store or at the factory. In either case, I would recommend you find a spare belt to have on hand, as they tend to become loose and worn out if you are trying to blow wet snow---again, assuming you have a small machine. In any event, knowledgeable people nowadays do not buy appliances or machinery from Sears.

They are not the Sears, Roebuck & Co. we once knew.

View more comments (1)
Review
#451412 Review #451412 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • sniw blower
With Official Company Response

Another Sears Complaint "Continued"

Sears Service Tech was out 10/5/14 to replace the washer "pump" I was told this should correct the problem. WRONG. The machine has not been repaired and is still not draining/spinning. The laundry was sopping wet. The same problem persists & I am still w/o wrkng washer. Was told by Sears CS that they can't get a tech uot until Sear' 10/22/13 (again, just to look at washer). If Sears cannot fix the machine - replace it or hire outside appliance repair to fix. I purchased there Service Maintenance Agreement. This is "bad faith" on the part of Sears (have been without a proper wrkng washer since August 2013.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#726947

Dear Anonymous451237,

We are sorry for the difficulties you have had concerning your washing machine, we can certainly see how this has been an inconvenient and frustrating experience. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Cares Team. We saw your post today and thought we would reach out to you to offer our assistance. At your earliest convenience, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name to reference your post (anonymous415237), to smadvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. Again, we apologize for the struggles you’ve had with your washer and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#451237 Review #451237 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$800
With Official Company Response

Sears in Lodi, Wisconsin - Kenmore Pro. Delivered July 14th 2013 - Oct - Still not working

When we got the fridge our food was going bad. Temp on outside of fridge said 38. Finally went bought a thermometer and put it in the fridge, reads out at 55. Had 4 repairmen, several missed appointments. Fridge still doesn't work 4 months after buying it. If this is the top of the line fridge I hate to see how their lower level fridges work. Today had mother board replaced. Didn't help. Earlier replaced a fan, didn't work. Skipped work two different days and repairman didn't show. Worst service for a new product that I have ever encountered. Just a complete piece of ***.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#769529

RECENTLY purchased????.are YOU kidding me? That is four months without a fridge.

How would YOU like to pay out big bucks for a top of the one fridge only to be out all that money and time. What do you EXPECT her to do now......Wait another four months for a resolution?

What you are doing to customers is hurtful and should be illegal. You are taking money and not providing a working item for that money.

How do you sleep at night knowing that?

SearsCares
Sears Response
#726929

Dear Anonymous415222,

We are truly sorry to hear that the refrigerator you recently purchased has not been operating to your expectations and for the troubles with repair. We know that it is very important to have a properly functioning refrigerator in your home. We would be more than happy to see how we can address this matter for you. My name Brian and I am a member of the Sears Cares team. To receive further assistance, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name to reference your post (anonymous41522), to smadvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. Again, we’re sorry for the dilemma you’ve encountered regarding your water heater and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#451222 Review #451222 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5000
With Official Company Response

Sears Marketplace Merchant EWPLUSOFT Provided MS Office Professional 2010 With Invalid Key

I purchased the full retail version of Microsoft Office Professional 2010 from EWPLUSOFT via the Sears Marketplace. You really want to avoid purchasing software from EWPLUSOFT since they provide developer's licenses rather than retail licenses (called Office Professional Plus 2010). Microsoft will not activate developer licenses without a developer's subscription. I have no idea of the cost this subscription since I am a home user. I sent 8 e-mails asking EWPLUSOFT for a disc with the retail version of the software or a full refund. EWPLUSOFT sent 7 e-mails simply telling me that I needed to download the software from their website "to fix the problem" in lieu of retail disc. In the 8th e-mail, EWPLUSOFT finally acknowledged that they will neither provide a disc with the retail version of Microsoft Office Professional 2010 nor provide a refund. Again, you really want to avoid doing business this Marketplace seller!
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#726924

Dear MyYoki333,

Thank you for posting about your online purchase of Microsoft Office Pro 2010; I can truly see how this was a troublesome matter to resolve. I came across your post today, my name is Brian, and I am a member of the Sears Cares Team. If you need further assistance I would be more than happy to have one of our dedicated case managers follow up with you. Please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name to reference your post (MyYoki333), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the laborious encounter you had with your recent online purchase and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

MyYoki333
#726961
@Sears Response

Brian,

I previously forwarded an e-mail to your office about this matter but didn't receive a response yet. I will forward another e-mail with the requested information to your attention again.

MyYoki333

MyYoki333
#734493
@MyYoki333

I called the 1-800 number for the Sears Marketplace, sent an e-mail to a Sears representative listed on one of the complaint websites, opened a case with their blue ribbon department at their corporate headquarters, contacted Microsoft about the licensing issues described below, and even filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. However, Sears offered no remedy for this transaction (citing their no return policy for the Sears Marketplace).

Sears consistently stood up for their seller throughout this dispute process, and even prevented me from posting feedback on their website warning other potential buyers to be careful with their purchases from this seller.

The situation was real simple. The Sears Marketplace seller, EWPLUSOFT, shipped an item that doesn't match the description on Sears Marketplace, and that was probably fraudulent.

- The description on Sears Marketplace was for a disc with the "Microsoft Office 2010 Professional Retail Full Version." The advertisement didn't explicitly state valid license code but this is in fact an obvious requirement of this transaction.

- The seller shipped me a disc with Microsoft Professional Office Plus 2010 rather than the retail version of the Microsoft Office Professional 2010. The Pro Plus version is a volume licensed product that is only sold in volume to businesses or academic institutions that have an agreement with Microsoft. An employee of these businesses and institutions can then purchase a copy of Pro Plus through the Home Use Program. However, a retail buyer CANNOT legitimately acquire this software through consumer retailers (including Sears Marketplace sellers). Why is this seller shipping a volume licensing product to end consumers?

- The plastic container with the Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010 was obviously opened (presumably to remove the original product key). The seal across the two sides of the plastic case was detached on one side so the seal wouldn't break when the plastic case was opened. I couldn't even get the seal to affix to the one side after applying ample pressure on the seal. Why would the seal not stick to only one side if this is a legitimate retail version of Microsoft Office?

- The product key in the plastic case was invalid. Microsoft stated that the product key could only be activated by a software developer with a current developer's subscription with Microsoft. Why would a consumer encounter this issue with a legitimate retail copy of Microsoft Office?

- The seller repeatedly wanted to substitute a download for the retail disc version, and to replace the product key with another product key from an unknown origin where they "had to pay extra for the license code." This license wasn’t authenticated by a Microsoft product key label and was simply provided in an e-mail. Why would a legitimate seller need to pay extra for a valid product key if they are indeed selling legitimate copies of Microsoft Office?

- The seller indicated that the Microsoft Office download didn't require a Microsoft Office product key. I purchased more than a dozen different software packages from Microsoft, and Microsoft in every instance required a license code to load and use their software. Why would Microsoft allow a merchant to sell copies of Microsoft Office 2010 without a authentic product keys?

- The language on the slip with the product key was primarily in a far eastern language (presumably in Chinese) rather than in English. I found exact matches for layout and content of this slip on websites showing pirated and fraudulent software. Why would the slip with the product key primarily be in a far eastern language when I was buying the retail version of the software in the United States?

I honestly thought that the Sears name meant something, and that I was ok buying this item through their Sears Marketplace. However, Sears will likely continue to die a slow death and the Sears Marketplace will only accelerate this process.

Please be careful in any dealings with Sears and particularly with their Sears Marketplace.

View more comments (2)
Review
#451217 Review #451217 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$212
Tags
  • EWPLUSOFT
  • Invalid Key
  • MS Office 2010