Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears Service Problems

AUG 15 13 Dear Mr. Lane: In order to speak with me by phone about any of the following information, here is my direct line: If you prefer e-mail, you should reply to this message. Thank you for your service and for Sears. Today, in the afternoon, after I returned from the physical Sears store locations in the Northridge Fashion Center (California), I called Sears Blue Ribbon Line by phone, and I left a description with a Mr. Dave Hall. I appreciate Mr. Hall's service. The contents of this message is important. It is based on real life experience, particularly from a customer's point of view. If the customer has bad experiences, money will not be spent at your retail locations and that will be bad for business. This is factual for you. The goal should be for Executive Relations to improve the customer experience. I am going to itemize the facts and I would like for you to treat this as a checklist for assisting me and improving the customer experience for other shoppers. The information will have some good feedback, but more negative reviews. Everything I write is from first hand experience over the past 3 days, and also from previous experience over the years. The checklist will be numbered. Because I am doing this from memory, I may forget to include some items. (1.) Craftsman Membership Rewards Card. During today's visit, and also my past 3 visits to the Sears location, I did not necessarily have my Craftsman card. When I issued my unchanged telephone number, the membership database on the computer did not recognize my number or any information about me. On each of the past 4 visits, under the membership, I did not receive any discount of my costs. There was no account information. I did not receive any savings for buying Sears/Craftsman products. I received no savings on patronage to the Sears store. (2.) Tools & Hardware Center. The tools and hardware center is located in the basement of this Sears location. One associate was a seasoned individual. Another associate on the floor was a young Philipino man. I want to let you know that these associates were very friendly and service oriented. They gave considerate interaction and provided me with information for the small tools and electrical multimeter that I eventually bought. The prices on the screwdrivers sets and similar Sears tools was good, and because of the combination of these things I would be inclined to visit the Hardware Center again if I need parts or hand tools. Again, the Craftsman membership information was not shared universally in the computer system. I did re-provide the information with associate, who was very cordial. I did not receive any discounts for my purchases. I want to emphasize that the two associates I mentioned are excellent, high quality representatives of your organization. I hope you recognize their dedication to service. (3.) Replacement/New Air/Tire Inflator Unit #28.75117. When I went to the Hardware Center in the basement, I was looking to buy the replacement tire inflator unit. The Hardware Center had large contruction type/contractor compressors, but they did not have inventory on the smaller, more portable home/auto/garage tire inflator system. Because the tire inflator units were not in inventory, I was directed to go to the Sears Auto Center in the parking lot. When I went to the Sears Auto Center, the last aisle had tire inflators, but majority of them were 12V. I had no interest in weak 12V system. I specifically wanted a 120V home wall plug/electrical 120V compatible unit. I found 1 unit, and there were no other choices to make a better selection. I read the box for specifications and warranty to get a mild introductory idea about the system capabilities. When I approached one of the associates about the "durability" and performance of the unit, that associate was presenting an absence of product information. The only thing he provided information was that the product had not experienced many returns from other customers. The referenced associate did not show a desire or a command of product knowledge, and was not particularly engaging, informative, conversant, or professional. Another associate that appeared to be having more tenure indicated that though this was a Craftsman product, it was not subject to a Craftsman discount--which was self-contradictory. I again did not receive any percentage off the purchase, though I have been a Craftsman member for years. The second associate stated that though the statement he made was contradictory, that was company policy, and he could not resolve anything or make any changes. The entire operation was very inconsideration from committing to customer service in terms of listening, product knowledge, customer commitment, helpfullness, and general tact and retail sophistication. The service was probably some of the worst I have ever had. Notwithstanding, I made my purchase, because I had a need when I went in the auto center, and I just made a choice to try the product. I have no assurance at all whether this new inflator will break after the 3rd use; I am just going to have to test it and find out by hands on experience. I don't plan on visiting your auto center for anything in the future, but other customers will be in a position where they need knowledge, trust, service, and fair price on mechanic repairs, and their experience will be completely dependent on integrity and positive helpfullness. My personal advice on this is the manager needs to have some college education, and the training and shop discipline is nonexistent. (4.) Warranty. Because electrical equipment is subject to failure in direct relationship to quality of construction, I really require a 3 year warranty on my electrical equipment purchases. Please send me this as a letter in writing. If these products fail again in a short duration, I just won't purchase a Craftsman product in the future. I have to have confidence of the performance, life, durability, and reliability of the system. (5.) eGift Card. I had many items to address and I gathered my belongings, but I somehow, on the way out the door, I forgot to pick up my paper printout for my gift card. When I was at the store, there was no way to draw the credit information to execute the purchases at the cashier registers. Therefore, I had to make an additional trip back home to pick up the paper and return to the several locations, and make the purchases. If a computer with full internet connection was available, I could have retrieved the information out of my Yahoo! e-mail. In any case, I had to drive back home, and double back to present my documentation. It was 100 degrees and uncomfortable in many ways. (6.) Bike Section/Road Bike Front Derailleur. In the basement of the Sears, there is a sporting goods section. In small section, there is bikes. I needed an economy quality road bike derailler compatible with Shimano, but there was no selection of inventory at the store. (7.) Men's Athletic Wear. I purchased 1 Everlast athletic shorts and 2 athletic shirts. These were very good and impressive products. The T-shirt selection and cotton sports shirts were very good, and I liked the colors. But, for the athletic shorts, a lot of them were bland or made of very thin material construction. I know from use that those kind of shorts would not handle any degree of wear and tear. There also was not a lot of attractive options in styles of design patterns. The Everlast was very good. You should consider bringing in another competitive brand and patterns. If I saw something appealing, I probably would have bought another pair of shorts, even though I don't need them. (8.) Men's Shorts. This was a massive product quality disappointment. I canvassed the entire Men's Apparel on the 3rd Floor. I looked very hard. I wanted to purchase a pair of stylish purple, charcoal gray, and black plaid Khaki type shorts. Though Sears had large quantities of shorts, nothing was attractive to me as a consumer of retail goods: a lot of sizes were too small, materials seemed thin and flimsy, designs were not catching, displays were not really neat. A lot of the shorts inventories seemed to be targeted at a non-conservative, younger shopper, with no clean colors and clean lines. In the past, I found shorts that looked crisp, clean, and polished. This situation definitely ignores the middle age man (though I understand this demographic is not your main). The main point is I was open to purchase one more pair of shorts, but there was nothing I liked in the store. You have great Docker's Khahi pants and similar, I think some classy, clean looking knee length shorts would be easy for you to present and generate revenues. (9.) Air Inflator Failure. Reconditioning. Model 28.75117. 120V, 3.3 AMP, 2/3 HP. This is the old Craftsman air inflator that failed in the middle of normal usage of simple bike tire inflation. This is the item that precipated the original contact. I would like for you to assist me by shipping this back to the manufacturer for reconditioning the unit, and perhaps reducing the engine noise. It would be very positive if this could be restored. It would avoid a lot of environmental waste. Over the years, this unit has filled up car tires and bike tires. I did not see any comparable units at your store. Though the motor makes too much noise, the design and portability is a good idea. It makes sense. I hope you can make the repair arrangements to help me. (10.) Shop Sears Again. I don't enjoy shopping. I only shop when I need something, not want something. I buy to make a use to finish some work or goal. Since I have a little credit balance, I will visit Sears again in the future, and see if I can find the tools or shorts I could not find this time around. Your gift card got me into the store. If you have any recommendations, feel free to call me or send an e-mail. Please take steps to address these items.
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#706083

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Susan with the Sears Cares Escalations team. I have forwarded your post to your Case Manager, John Lane, in our Blue Ribbon Group. Thank you for providing the detailed information regarding your concern and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thanks,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#924668
@Sears Response

Why not do something about the Waterford CT op's manager who has bullied employees and customers and so far 5 people have quit in the last month and one transferred because they can not deal with him? Or is bullying and threatening okay by Sears standards?

View more comments (1)
Review
#442510 Review #442510 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500
im not sure what is wrong with sears as a whole. Sears has all these hotlines implemented for employees to file reports, complain about abuse in workplaces, management abuse etc, however if you attempt to call in to complain, you will get mistreated, harassed, put...
View full review
21 comments
Anonymous
#1651404

IM GOING THRU THE SAME EXACT THING

View more comments
Review
#442491 Review #442491 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
My electric water heater was purchased in 2009 and is leaking four years later. It has a five year warranty. I contacted sears service and was told that they would either repair or replace it but a technician would have to look at it first. Guess what, the next...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#706037

Anonymous442250,

My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalation Team. I came across your post and wanted to express our apologies for the difficulties you have experienced with your water heater. It sounds as if we have let you down on just about every level imaginable and would like to offer our assistance. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to ensure your situation is resolved quickly and to your complete satisfaction. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that I have assigned to reference your post (Anonymous442250), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#442250 Review #442250 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$275
Sears is a highly unethical place to work. They have all these guidelines which they claim they abide by but rarely do. there is a lot of corruption at this place and this company. sears claims they are against bullying but this is not the case- bullying is rampant...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#974268

Terrible, absolutely terrible. Its no wonder Sears is going down the drain.

Even the CEO is shady, he was kidnapped & let go due to corporate drama. The Sears in Orland Park, IL had issues with fraud from an ex-store manager, mistreatment of employees & associates, attacking one's personality & character & all sorts of cherrypicking & preference games.

Employees are always threatened to get fired unfairly. This company hosts all sorts of crazies, its a failure.

Review
#441943 Review #441943 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager
With Official Company Response

Sears in Wingdale, New York - Where are they?

I signed a contrat with Sears on July 23. They said I would be contacted for " final measurements" for kitchen cabinets. They called once said they would come "Mon or Tues" No show. No return calls I call the "YOUR TEAM " 3 and no one is able to answer your call. How do I cancel contact? Called Citi bank and they said the account is "pending" I want to end this. I can't get any response. I am not allowed to cancel. Even the operator at Sears failed to be able to contact any of the "team". I do not want to continue this.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#704110

Dear Guanyin,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry to hear how your Home Improvement project has been handled thus far, and apologize that we were unable to keep our commitment to have someone out to finish measuring your cabinets We’d like the chance to discuss this matter in more detail with you, and see what options we have to help. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Guanyin), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#441752 Review #441752 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • terrible communication failure
With Official Company Response

Update by user Aug 21, 2013

No editing allowed I guess. Hit return before I saw the typo in the title; should be burnt not burt lol.

Original review posted by user Aug 21, 2013

On July 6 , 2011 we purchased a new Whirlpool LDR3822PQ1 from Sears which they delivered and carried it into my basement. I have never been able to plug this dryer...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#704023

Dear HallMarc,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We would like to apologize for the trouble you have experienced with your 2 year old dryer. We can certainly understand how this situation was more than a little concerning, and very scary for you. We’d like the chance to look into this issues you have brought to our attention, and ensure that feedback is provided to the correct management team. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (HallMarc), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#441639 Review #441639 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Tucson, Arizona - Freezer not working EMERGENCY service one week wait!

Sears customer service is ***! The freezer half of my Kemore elite refrigerator is not working, everything in it is defrosting and the earliest EMERGENCY service call I can get is NEXT MONDAY - one week!!! I bought the extended warranty, but if I bring in an outside repair company I will have to pay for it and it will void the warranty. I spoke with four different customer service representatives on the phone and the store manager at the Sears where I bought the refrigerator. I was told I could be reimbursed for up to $250 for spoiled items - this is not even close to the value of the contents of the freezer. Nothing can be done to move the EMERGENCY service up. I thought Kenmore was a good brand - this is less than 2 years old. It is a piece of *** and so is it's service!
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#706499

sears in Tucson lost refer techs makes the wait times even longer some techs are running 8-10 calls a day :zzz

Anonymous
#705248

Yes, Sears repair dept folks do not understand the word "emergency." I too had a freezer not freezing problem, and after 2 hrs on the phone with Sears (after 6 different people)an appt was scheduled for next week. Seriously? What emergency can wait a week!

Emergency, food melting, not freezing.....silly me to think I might get someone out today!

I guess Sears and good service do not go together.

In today's technology, I would think that the customer complaint dept would be able to communicate with the repair dept....but not at Sears. At Sears, the ones who answer the phone should be able to take ownership to the problem and actually help....but not at Sears.

Anonymous
#704866

Since 11:48 a.m. today, Aug.

22, I have been trying to get my "emergency" repair for my freezer bottom of my new frig (delivered 8/13/13) repaired. After talking with 6 different people in repair service dept and even a person in the store (#7 person), I do not have anyone coming today to repair my freezer section of frig. Some fool in repair actually put me down as a repair for next week....don't know if that was

Jessie, Gil, Ali, Qwen, Red, or Dave (since I spoke to all of them in a 2-hour period). And that recording menu has to GO!

It is now 4:16 p.m.

and still no satisfaction. Come on people!

SearsCares
Sears Response
#703396

Dear Myra,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry to hear that your refrigerator has failed you, and the earliest repair appointment date is a week away. We understand how upsetting it is to have lost a large amount of food to spoilage, and we’d like the chance to see how we can make this right for you. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Myra), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

View more comments (3)
Review
#441026 Review #441026 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
Sears outsourced the installation of our new Kenmore Elite 5.0 cu lt washing machine to a third party to deliver and install. Upon installation, I noticed they skipped a key step to ensure the elbow bracket was installed which would prevent flooding (or so the large...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#703387

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are truly sorry that your new washer flooded your home after the unit was installed. We understand how disappointing and discouraging this situation has to be for you. We’d like the opportunity to look into this matter more, and ensure that everything is being done on your behalf to get this issue corrected in a timely manner. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Anonymous440980), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#440980 Review #440980 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$30000
With Official Company Response
We purchased a gas dryer from Sears in May 2013. In August 2013 we smelled gas in our home so contacted our utility. They sent out a technician who said the gas leak was caused by the dryer. I had purchased the protection plan so I contacted Sears repair service and...
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#703379

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry to hear that your gas dryer has failed you, and the earliest repair appointment date is over 3 weeks out. We understand how inconvenient it is for you to have to make multiple trips from your home to do laundry, and we’d like to discuss how we can help with this situation until your repair is completed. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Anonymous 440784), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

View more comments
Review
#440784 Review #440784 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Protection Plan
Loss
$1000
With Official Company Response
I purchased a Kenmore Elite 31 cu. top of the range refrigerator with a protection agreement less than 2 years ago. The refrigerator can't cool less than 50 degrees Fahrenheit. My entire family got food poisoning due to the *** design showing what the temp is set at...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#703370

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. After reading your post, I have to say I am very concerned, and would like to offer my team's help in making this right. We would like to apologize for how your refrigerator repair has been handled, and for the less than stellar customer service that you have received throughout your experience. We would like to follow up with you regarding the concerns you brought to our attention, and discuss some options we have to help moving forward. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Anonymous440483), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Review
#440483 Review #440483 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Tags
  • sears support