Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears Kenmore Washer Repair disaster

My Kenmore washer quit spinning. Waited 8 days for repair appointment. Repairman looked at it for 5 minutes - says it needs door lock assembly. I paid extra for 2 day express delivery of part. Waited another 8 days for repair appt. Technician arrived today and said "oops" it isn't the door lock after all. You need a $300 motor. Spent an hour on the phone being passed to 5 different people regarding this tech and his mis-diagnosis of my problem. Told that I now have to wait for shipment of motor and go to the back of the line for another repair appt. Parts department is telling me they may be able to help me with return of part, but they really have no record of ordering it. I can file a dispute if I want to. So I'm stuck with part I don't need and a broken washer. Washer is going in the trash and I'm dealing now with my local family owned appliance store. My 30 plus years of buying from Sears are over. I hope they go out of business soon.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#675590

Elijah2002,

I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. We are truly sorry for the troubles you have experienced with your washer repair and the level of customer service you have received. We do our best to make every service interaction both positive and memorable for our customers, and we do apologize for falling short of that mark in this instance. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would very much like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss your experience and see what can be done to make things right. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Elijah2002) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#426324 Review #426324 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$390
With Official Company Response
My Craftsman gas blower stopped working after 5 months of home use. Craftsman did not stand behind their warranty and informed me I would have to pay $139 for the repair of the engine. A new blower costs $140. After further research, I see where engine failure is a...
View full review
5 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#678621

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are truly sorry for all the trouble you have encountered with your Craftsman gas blower. We understand how discouraging this failure has to be for you, and we’d like the opportunity to see what options we have to help make this right by you. Please send the following information – contact #, s the screen name that I have assigned you (Anonymous426107), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments
Review
#426107 Review #426107 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$140
Tags
  • craftman gas blower
I paid $8000 for a new Carrier air conditioner and installation in April of 2008. It was supposed to take less than a day, I believe 6 hours to install. It took a day and a half because it did not work. They were forced to call a air conditioning expert to diagnose...
View full review
1 comment
tomtimbo
#674150

Please correct the location of the complaint from Phoenix to Tucson AZ as that is where the events took place. tomtimbo

Review
#425888 Review #425888 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
With Official Company Response
I have been a loyal customer of Sears since I was a child almost half a century. I am very disappointed in the crooked/lying/thieving ways that SEARS has deteriorated to. On May 24, 2013 I purchased online a refurbished RCA TV. It was received on 6/6/13. The TV looks...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#748259

I would like to know why no one has sued them?

They do things that are clearly skirting the boundaries of the law.

If they don't start hiring competent people they will go out of business fast.

I was a long time customer as well(over forty years) and that didn't seem to mean anything to anyone, unfortunately.

View more comments
Review
#425748 Review #425748 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$250
With Official Company Response

Sears in Gulfport, Mississippi - Internet order

I made an I telnet order online cancelled it the same day, spoke with at three customer service reps, including a supervisor, received three or four emails stating my order was can Ellen and then today I re wives an email stating the itm was shipped, this is so unprofessional, terrible customer service, I owe sears three hundred dollars and then they will never see my face, my three children faces, nor my grands in their stores again. It's like they are attempting to pressure me to take this itm, even though I am on family va actions and the it. Was cancelled , GOOD BYE SEARS/KMART
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#677118

Dear Georgia2013,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry to learn of the trouble you are experiencing with your online order. Unfortunately, once an online order has been processed, it cannot be canceled or modified. Nevertheless, we understand how disappointing this experience has been for you, and we’d like to see how we can help. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Georgia2013), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#425631 Review #425631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
In 2007 I purchased a Kenmore washer from sears.I have put in numerous complaints in about the bleach dispenser rusting.The rust is traveling outside to the side of the washer and they claim that this is not covered.My washer and dryer are taken care of like children...
View full review
10 comments
Anonymous
#1695801

My kenmore elite washer Is rusted everywhere! It’s junk, I just bought a new washer today

View more comments
Review
#425473 Review #425473 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Salt Lake City, Utah - Incorrect Credit card chage

Order 525688059.I agreed to the charge of 79.0l that the phone processer gave me for two items. However, my e-mail confirmation price charged was 82.81. 4 transfers finally got me to the correct customer service person who said the 82.81 charge was correct, his word against mine since I am not privvy to that discount information til my statement arrives; he suggested I contact Citicorop regarding the incorrect charge, well, I was not about to get involved with them. I also used promo code "Firewirds" which was contained in the e-mail ad. Can you help me?
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#673483

0123az,

Hi, my name is Brian with the Sears Cares team. I was able to locate your post and I'm sorry to hear that you've had such a bad experience with your online order and the amount you've been charged. I can understand how we missed your expectations as we expect only the best from ourselves when helping our customers with any problems they may have. We'd like to make sure this situation is resolved to your complete satisfaction. Please send the following information – contact #, phone # used at the time of purchase and your screen name (0123az) so we can reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. A dedicated case manager will contact you directly and assist in working towards an acceptable resolution. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#425459 Review #425459 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
Loss
$4
With Official Company Response

Sears in Salt Lake City, Utah - Order placed 7/2/13- 525688059 was incorrect

The sears operator gave me one price of 79.0l tax included for this order for two dresses asking me if she could place the order. I agreed. The e-mail confirmation I received totaled 82.01. I had difficulty getting to the correct customer svc. employee to try to correct the operators mistake on my Sears Credit Card. I've NEVER had difficulty such as this, dealing with Sears in my 20+ years. CitiCorp is the card holder for Sears and I was not about to get involved with them to fix the matter - I am writing you to complain.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#677111

0123az,

Hi, my name is Brian with the Sears Cares team. I was able to locate your post and I'm sorry to hear that you've had such a bad experience with your online order and the amount you've been charged. I can understand how we missed your expectations as we expect only the best from ourselves when helping our customers with any problems they may have. We'd like to make sure this situation is resolved to your complete satisfaction. Please send the following information – contact #, phone # used at the time of purchase and your screen name (0123az) so we can reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. A dedicated case manager will contact you directly and assist in working towards an acceptable resolution. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#425444 Review #425444 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card

Sears 5 Year Warranty Service is a SCAM!

Bought front load washer and dryer, and then $600 of 5 year service warranty. Told you get one free preventative service call each calendar year. Each service has been to run the machines through a quickie cycle to check function, and vacuum out excess lint in dryer. Each of the past three years, I explained occasional grease on clothes, they didn't "see" anything, so couldn't dismantle to check bearings or anything else. This is the last year of warranty, but can't get service because even though it's a new calendar year, it's been less than 1 year since my previous service. Unless you schedule service in advance on the anniversary of purchases, you'll automatically lose one year of PM. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM..... Won't ever purchase from Sears again.... EVER!!
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#677770

You shouldn't have had to fight for SERVICE which is not preventative maintenance. And yes preventative maintenance is joke. They should be pulling panels and dry vacuming the interior if nothing else. Dust and lint can block air and lead to heat issues. They should be looking for leaks even including motor fluid leaks. They should be checking belts for fraying. But just turning it on-oh please.

There is pressure to sell those agreements and there is pressure for productivity. But that is Sears problem along with the managers and tech to meet certain quotas, goals or numbers.

Around here there enough appliance repair places I could've gotten at least 3 service calls for 600 dollars. When every you buy a big ticket appliance assume you will be asked to buy their insurance. Before you buy shop actual repair prices and service calls in your area. Also most manufacturers give you a one year warranty which includes service.

Anonymous
#677312

Here's my reply to SMAdvisor:

We purchased this set used, and called Sears to verify the warranty could be transferred prior to our purchase. We've had 3 PM service maintenance visits since we bought this set used. It was explained to us that we get one call each calendar year, the Sears associate we spoke with specifically said one each year between Jan 1st - Dec 31st.. nothing about 1 year between calls.

After our purchase, we realized why the previous owners sold it... it retains a mildew smell. We researched that issue through online resources, and found it's due to water having no way to evaporate when the unit remains closed after use.

Our main issues are as follows:

1) We bought this set, to find out it has mildew odors if left closed after use. Our 1st service visit explained we should d leave the door open and run Afresh once a month.

** With kids and pets around the house, we shouldn't need to leave an appliance open for unattended periods of time.

** Running the Afresh only adds expense in materials, water and electrical use etc... rather minimizing any energy saving technology or savings.

2) Our "Preventative Maintenance" didn't serve to do any preventative maintenance other than cleaning some lint from the dryer. The units were put through simulated use (abbreviated cycles) and that was it. Even after explaining during all 3 technician visits, that we've had grease stains on 2-3 occasions during the year (each and every year and each and every technician) we were told they won't "open" the unit to inspect bearings etc unless they see or hear something. We also told them we've had some small water leaks under the washer, but nothing major. We were told it could be from when we leave the door open after use, but we explained we noticed the water during operations and prior to the "opening to dry out" phase...

We also requested they inspect the spider bracket and drum assembly, as there seems to be a predominant issue with failure on those items, and again we were told they don't "inspect" for issues, they only repair what they see or hear that might be a problem.

3) We expected better "maintenance" from our $500 service investment. No such thing as lube or belt replacements.

We had considered filing under the "3 strikes" lemon issue, but any time we've spoken with associates or techs, we've had only negative feedback.

I've made two other attempts to speak with Sears associates and found it to be an exercise in frustration, simply a waste of time communicating with corporate pawns that offer no remedy or satisfaction.

It seems Sears policies have changed to all profit at the expense of consumers, and no sincere interest in craftsmanship, quality, and customer satisfaction. Sure they might "advertise" that they care, but it's simply marketing jargon to get to our wallets.

Anonymous
#677358
@GawgaDave

**** Update...

In fairness to Sears...

I sent the reply to SMAdvior, and received a phone call within an hour.

They are sending a technician to do a service call next Tuesday (which still happens to be under the warranty date).

I will follow up with what services the technician performs... I'll even try to post video of the entire service call. :roll

Anonymous
#677109

Dear GawgaDave,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are sorry to hear that you feel cheated by the protect agreement that covers your washer and dryer. We would like the chance to look into the concerns that you have brought to our attention, and see what we can do to help. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (GawgaDave), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. We do look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (3)
Review
#425348 Review #425348 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600

Sears in Newark, New Jersey - Improperly changing oil and tire rotation

I came into your Charlottesville center today to have my tires and my oil changed. I was greeted by a very polite older gentlemen who took care of me at the desk and took my car back. He told me about an 1 hr wait and that was fine. I received my car no longer then 20 25 mins later paid and I got into my car thinking everything was fine . I stopped by the store and I noticed the marks on the tires I had made before I went in for my rotation well they were still in the same spot and my oil gauge is still on going off...I Thought you guys were supposed to correct it when changed. I'm extremely upset about my visit and I will be sure to take my business else where. You need to hire a proper staff that will get the job done correctly
View full review
Review
#425203 Review #425203 is a subjective opinion of poster.