Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears said they'd replaced our washer (but hadn't)

My husband and I purchased three large appliances from Sears in Newark, CA about a year and a half ago. Not long after they'd been installed, the dishwasher (Kenmore Ultra Elite) began having a variety of serious issues--long story short is that we had approximately **eight** service visits in less than a year. A few days ago, the dishwasher had another serious problem (tub not draning) occur, which it has experienced and been repaired for previously. I called the Large Appliances manager at the Sears where we'd bought it and requested a refund or replacement, explaining the many repairs that had already been required while it was still under warranty. (I should mention that this was not the first time--not by a long shot--that we had requested a refund or replacement, as we'd obviously gotten a lemon. However, Sears always refused, saying that as long as it was still under warranty, they had to fix it yet again before giving a refund or replacement.) The manager replied that it sounded like we indeed had a lemon and it "definitely should have been replaced earlier," but that he would first need to call their repair center to see if that would be okay. I didn't mind; I hadn't expected him just to take my word as to what had happened, He called back within about 30 minutes and said that not only had we not had that many repairs to the dishwasher but that Sears had **already replaced it** last June! I could hardly believe what I heard and asked him to repeat it. I then put him on the phone to my husband and could overhear him tell my husband the same thing. The dishwasher has **never** been replaced, however. Interestingly, my husband happened to be on our landline at that time with Sears' repair center, and he told the woman he was speaking to what the manager had said. Her response: "No, sir, I don't see any record here of us ever replacing the dishwasher." So, my husband got back on the phone with the manager and (nicely) asked him to call us back when he'd figured out the discrepancy between what the repair center had (supposedly) told him and what they were telling us. My husband had to go to the mall shortly after that, so he decided just to stop by Sears and follow up with that manager in person. Not sure if the guy was really the department manager after all, as his manager (not the store manager) came out to talk to my husband too. Anyway, the guy lied and claimed he'd never told either of us that the dishwasher had been replaced--when he'd told each of us that, separately, not even an hour earlier! Of course, both he and his manager refused to give us a refund or replacement. My husband spoke by phone the next day with the store manager who was also completely unhelpful. Why Sears, or any retailer, would choose to treat customers who've purchased multiple big-ticket items this way--especially when their own records clearly indicate we were sold a bad product--is beyond me, but they have lost us as customers for life, and not just for appliances.
View full review
Review
#371840 Review #371840 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$989

Sears in Carthage, New York - Close out is not damaged goods

I purchased a stove at Sears and was told the price was low because it was a close out. However, when I went to pick it up, the service man brought out a stove with a large dent. When I said it was damaged and I was expecting a stove in new condition, not dented, I was told to take it up with the salesman. The salesman told me it was a closeout and closeouts include scratched and dented merchandise. The dent was never brought to my attention as my daughter, who was with me at the time, can verify. I would not have been interested had I been told it was dented. The salesman implied that it was on sale as a closeout, which I consider as the last of a particular model, not damaged goods, when I purchased it. After not getting satisfaction, I asked to speak with the manager. The manager pretty much told me the same as the salesman did. She did offer the same model discounted by $100, but that is not satisfactory to me considering it was implied that the stove I purchased was indeed a closeout and not damaged. I took a refund as a last resort. Still not happy with the situation, I called a Sears complaint number. The woman that I spoke with told me the same thing that the salesman and manager told me. I was not satisfied with what she was telling me, so she called and spoke with the manager I spoke with earlier. The only resolution they offered was to give a 15% discount on a new stove. I feel the stove was misrepresented to me at the time of the sale and I should be offered a new, undamaged stove at the price I originally paid. I WILL NOT be doing business with Sears in the future. I have purchased a lot of merchandise at Sears over the years and think it foolish of them to lose a good customer over a $260. difference. So much for being a loyal customer.
View full review
Review
#371682 Review #371682 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears Furnace installer did not take away the old furnace

From a major home improvement company, the customer expects all the details to be taken care of. Removing the old furnace and disposing of it is exactly one of those details. I had a furnace installed by Sears and they did not dispose of the old one. To make matter worse, I was the Sears sales rep who sold the furnace to myself. I bought the furnace for a rental property that my folks own. Two years later, while visiting the property, I see the old furnace. I could tell you a lot more stories about how Sears sales managers steal from the own sales reps.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#588241

Anonymous1949

My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the troubles you have experienced with your furnace. I can truly understand your frustrations with the level of service you have received from our installation team. We would the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact your with possible options to resolve this matter in a timely manner. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number the furnace was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Anonymous1949) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#371647 Review #371647 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$30000
With Official Company Response

Sears Home Service misleading repair advice lead to big $$ ripoff.

Ken Technician #and the Sears Home Services should be arrested for consumer fraud. Sears charged us $350 repair and Ken told my husband that it would be worth it for a 10 year old dryer that originally cost $4500. The dryer cost $900 originally. If I had been home I would have refused the work. Originally the scheduled date was on the same day. They never showed never called. The service center claimed our line was busy. We have a cell phone line they can leave a message. Sears never intended on coming and never called us to cancel or reschedule. I had to contact them. On the chat I also told them I thought the dryer was newer than 10 years but during the same session I had time to go through my files and find the original receipt. I informed the person on the line that it was indeed older than 10 years and instead of backing up and telling me that it would not be worth the trip he went ahead and scheduled it and would not give us an estimate of the service call. I told him that the dryer drum did not turn and it was not electrical. Then I called them 2 days later after the visit and told him that we never had trouble with the heat and that the service technician, Ken, must have done something to it. Then they tried to schedule another visit for$75 to look at it. Then they tried to sell us a new dryer. Shame on Sears for taking advantage of us. I will complain to the public and consumer advocates. Sears should go out of business. They are crooks. We are $350 poorer but wiser to Sears. We will never buy or use anything affiliated or from Sears.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#588239

Anonymous1948

I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear of the troubles you are experiencing with your dryer. In addition, I understand your frustrations with the level of customer service you have received from our repair team. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your recent experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the order is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Anonymous1948) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#371590 Review #371590 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears Appliances & Delivery sell things they don't have

I bought a refrigerator and had a scheduled delivery for Thursday 12/27/12. I was called at 8pm 12/26/12 and told by an automated system that I needed to call and reschedule my delivery because of Weather. It was snowing. I was angry because there was very little snow but the customer service agent couldn't do anything about the date. I was now set for 12/30/12. i was called the next day by the automated system and told that my delivery was being rescheduled. I ignored that message. I was then called an hour later by an agent who told me my new delivery date was 12/30/12. I told him I already had three other phone calls about this and confirmed with the agent the day before. Do they no have computers or accounts? I was called the night before delivery and the automate line said it would be delivered between 7:45-9:45am. We waited. It was 10:30am when I took the time to track down a customer service department that could tell me anything about my order and it's delivery status. She then tells me THEY DON'T HAVE THE FRIDGE IN STOCK AT THE MOMENT. Needless to say I wasn't happy. I asked her how I could be elaborately scheduled TWICE for delivery of something they didn't have. She apologized and offered me a $50 gift card. Why would I want to spend MORE of my money at a place that schedules deliveries of products they don't have? I cancelled my order immediately and hope to GOD I am getting a refund. I've already repurchased the identical product (because Kenmore is just a name plastered on Frigidare and Whirlpool products) at Home Depot and expect an on time and easy delivery. I will never buy a product from Sears or their affiliated companies/brands again. (Kenmore, Craftsman, Kmart, Land's end, Diehard)
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#588517

troyeramanda,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulty you have experienced with delivery of your refrigerator. I understand how frustrating it is to purchase a refrigerator and find out the item is out of stock. Even more, I can see how irritating it can be to receive poor customer service when you contacted us. My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Social Media Support Team. We would like the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you with possible options to resolve this matter. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the refrigerator was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (troyeramanda) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#371420 Review #371420 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I had gone to some stores to look for a Christmas tree light dimmer cuz my husband had been *** that the lights on the tree were too bright. Nobody had one, so I started looking online. Found one @ Sears.com for $6 and some change plus $5 to ship it on 12/2/12 No...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1001085

Ordered *** handle from toolbox on 6/12/15, still have not received, They say it will be there today, tomorrow, next week etc. Doubt I ever see handle and if I do what shape will it be in ? Stay away from toolbox and you will be better off for it.

Review
#371295 Review #371295 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$11

Sears in Fort Myers, Florida - Blame game with undisclosed sub-contractor

I ordered a Samsung 65" Smart TV from (I thought) Sears. A week after payment was made I received a call from a party indicating the order was sub-contracted and that shipping was made through the sub-contractor. At no time prior to the payment for the TV was the sub-contractor relationship explained. In fact, the receipt (again after payment) indicates in small type the item was sold and shipped by "Onecall.com". The receipt has Sears in bold face in several places and the relationship with Onecall was not explained. Onecall arranged delivery and left the package curbside on palette in the rain. I am 67 with bad knees and was not able to move the box. Even healthy one person could not (without jeopardizing the product) move the package. Bottom line Onecall refused to accept a return because the product was damaged by the rain and Sears told me to deal with Onecall. Sears Sucks!!!
View full review
Review
#371058 Review #371058 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears in Zheleznodorozhnyy, Abu Dhabi - Washer and dryer that never came

Ordered a Maytag washer and dryer on November 26th from Sears. We were told it would be available to be picked up Dec 21st (should have been our 1st clue). We called on Dec 26th and were told that it would not be available until Jan 4th and that was not even guaranteed. At the time we purchased the washer/dryer the salesman was looking on the computer and saying "Oh yes it's available". I don't know what he was looking at but was obviously not our washer/dryer. Canceled our order and having some delivered tomorrow by maytag dealer!!!!
View full review
Review
#370885 Review #370885 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears.com is it fraud, theft or just plain illegal?

I purchased a 3 piece large bedroom vanity set on Nov. 7, 2012 online at Sears.com. Paid in full, received the order confirmation and ready for pick-up email. The item was located at a furniture store more than an hour away, I had no idea. I wasn't able to pick up item right away especially since this store is only open on weekdays until 5 p.m. and closed on weekends, is that odd for a furniture store? Anyways...I was in contact with the store letting them know of my status that my husband has 2 trucks but they are at work all day and I could not pick up furniture until he could get the day off to do so. We also have a special needs toddler adopted and it is not easy to just get up and go. I try calling them but most of the time, they do NOT answer the phone either. I guess they do business by means of their web page. So...I finally go today to pick up my merchandise...driving a big lifted diesel truck with both grand kids. I could not reach them by phone until finally....when I was just about 15 minutes from store and the man on the phone told me that they sold my furniture to a customer that needed it for a Christmas gift. I asked them how they could sell the furniture that I already owned, and paid for? He told me that he would need to order more and it would take a week or two. All I got was an "I'm sorry." I am so mad that I came home and called Sears..then went online and talked to a live agent. Sears assumes NO responsibility whatsoever....although they took my money and now my furniture. This is fraud and definately illegal. I want answers...but it seems no one is available to give me an explanation. I am sooooo very mad. I have always trusted Sears...all of my appliances have always been bought at Sears and with good service. Is Sears changing to hiring rude people that are not educated in customer service? I have read the "Fulfillment By Sears" agreement and it states that sears does assume responsibility for the items sold....I want to talk to a CEO or someone that can actually help me in this matter before I have to file suit. I am seriously mad as ***!!!
View full review
Review
#370870 Review #370870 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$516
With Official Company Response

Sears Repairman did not show up within the window time stated.

Repairman was suppose to come between 1pm and 5pm. He did not phone to tell me he was running late. The Repairman did not show up until 6pm to repair my washer. I had plans to go out with friends at 6pm that same evening. When I phoned customer service @5:30 I was told that I was next on the list so I had to cancel my plans . The Repairman showed up @ 6pm and he informed me after briefly looking at my washer that he did not have the part and he would not have it for 3 wks .
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#588248

Dear Anonymous370813,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration we have caused you regarding your washer repair. We acknowledge and understand that each time our technician comes to your home it is you, our customer who has to make themselves available. If the technician is late or doesn’t show up it is you who misses some part or all of your day. This is not acceptable to you and certainly would not be acceptable to me should I be in the same situation. We would like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to monitor the repair process and ensure that your service needs are met. This manager would be available to you to speak with for any questions or help with this repair process. We value your business and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you with your repair issue is being done.

At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dryer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (Anonymous370813) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#370813 Review #370813 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair