Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears Elite Appliances are JUNK.

I purchased Sears Elite Appliances; side by side refrigerator, slide in dual fuel range, and dishwasher for my new home in 2003. I realize that these appliances are a whopping 10 years old, but in ten years, I have compiled the following history of these gems: The diswasher and range were replaced within the warranty period because they were "broken" and unrepairable. The refrigerator has been repaired 7 times...new icemaker, new icemaker line, new motors, new filters etc etc. all at my expense. When the through the door ice dispenser seized up, the service person I spoke to informed me that I would have to purchase a "whole new door for $1100.00 because there were no parts for them." My personal repairman (independent, not Sears, who I have on speed dial) was able to repair it. The motor on the dishwasher was replaced one month after the warranty ran out on the replacement dishwasher from the in warranty breakdown. The pump has been replaced also. The range no longer has automatic ignition for the gas burners because removing the burners is too much of a *** shoot and can result in a $400. repair if the screws break off (which the repairman tells me, happens almost 100% of the time) The burners are currently being ignited with a butane match. Tonight, for reasons known only to the designer, the oven door locked and now will not open. I actually am almost curious to see what else might happen with them, When I replace these horrors, I'm going to take them to the backyard beat them with a sledge hammer. Sears Service department is absolutely horrible. They do not know their products and they give incorrect information about repairs. If Sears announces they are giving away appliances from their "Elite" line, run the other way.
View full review
Review
#370785 Review #370785 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4800
With Official Company Response

Five weeks before Sears will hopefully fix my washer

I called Sears on 11/20/12 to request service for my washer. I was told we would have to wait two weeks for a repair person. Two weeks later the repair person advised I needed the usual parts and the soonest someone could come would be 12/28/12. Purchased in 2006, the Kenmore Oasis Canyon washer has broken down six or seven times. Because the repeated repair priced at $399, we purchased a service contract which we renew every two years. These contracts are about $200 per year for both washer and dryer. It has cost us over $100 and many hours at the not-to-nice laundrymat. Sears is not what it used to be and smart buyers will stay away.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#586555

Reddmary

I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear that we have let you down with the repair of your washer. In addition, I understand how frustrating it can be to receive poor customer service while trying to rectify the situation. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your recent experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Reddmary) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#370542 Review #370542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$100
With Official Company Response

Sears customer service is horrible

I ordered a computer from Sears.com on December 13, 2012. Fearful that it would not show up on time for Christmas I called and cancelled order about 2 hours after placing the order. I was told that my order was cancelled and that I would receive a refund in 3-5 business days. Later that day I received an email stating that it was cancelled and that I would receive a refund in 3-5 business days. The next day I received an email stating that my order was being processed. I called Sears customer service and the person I spoke to could barely speak english. They told me they could not help me or find a supervisor for me to speak with and to call back later. I called back later, spoke to a young woman who told me she would cancel the order and that I would receive my refund in 3-5 business days. I received an email from there customer service asking about the experience. I told them that they needed to employ people in customer service that could communicate. The next day I received and email stating that my order was not canceled and that I could return it to my local Sears for a refund when it arrived. I did not have it shipped to my house as it was a present. It was being shipped to the Sears in Bethesda. I have been going back and fourth with them. Never able to speak to a Supervisor. I get one email stating the order is canceled and that I will get a refund in 5-7 business days. Today is December 26th. I received an email stating that my order is at the store and to come an pick it up. I am going down tomorrow after work and raise holy heck! I will never buy from Sears again. No wonder they are going out of business. I am going to cause such a scene it will drive customers out of the store.
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#586543

Anonymous1947

My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear that we have let you down and wanted to offer some assistance. I understand how frustrating it can be to receive poor customer service regarding your online order. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your recent experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number at the time of purchase (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Anonymous1947) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have and look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Anonymous
#586370

Sears is going to the pits, terrible service.

A few years ago they talked me into getting a Sears Credit Card, when I tried to use it the first time I was escorted to the office,security embarrased me in public, once at the office they apologized to me and told me it would not happen again, guess what, it happened again , 2 more times,thats when I left their credit card right there and told them to shove it.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#586547
@Sears Response

Dear Joe Desoto,

I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear that we have let you down. In addition, I understand how frustrating it can be to receive poor customer service while trying to rectify the situation. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your recent experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number at the time of purchase (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Joe Desoto) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

View more comments (2)
Review
#370438 Review #370438 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears in Orlando, Florida - Very unsatisfied customer

If i would have know i was buying a product from someone else other than sears i wouldn't have done it. This new thing your doing is very deceiving. i can't even return my product to a store because someone else filled my order. totally ***. you know the whole time i was think to myself. well i'll order this from sears and if it doesn't work out i can at least take it back to a sears store. nope not the case hear. I can't pay to ship this item back. the shipping would cost more than the product. I am totally saddened by this and will no longer look at a sears.com or step foot in a store. Yes and we are only talking a few bucks but that's my few hard earned bucks. I hope you change your ways cause i can see more customers leaving you. I will also post this on a few sites and forums to keep people informed of your new practices and return policies with new suppliers. Good Luck
View full review
Review
#370428 Review #370428 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1
With Official Company Response

Update by user Mar 18, 2013

Months have passed and I spent more time trying to get justice than is justified by the loss however, it's not about the money any more. I guess the little satisfaction to date is that Sears may have spent more money through a range of staff trying to give me the brush...

View full review
8 comments
ShitOn
#623471

By far the worst customer service I've ever experienced :(

View more comments
Review
#370407 Review #370407 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$200

Sears in Akron, Ohio - No supply hoses for washer

I bought a kenmore washer, and I live 45min away from store, no one at the store told me that it did not come with supply lines, so I called their corporate office, to let them know about the situation, but they did not really care. They did not even ask for the store infomation, so they could look into it. I will not shop at Sears or K mart again. Whatever happened to the days when stores cared about the customers? Gone are those days. Never to be seen again, and that is a shame. We need to Stand up America.
View full review
Review
#370341 Review #370341 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$25

Sears in Livingston, New Jersey - I ordered, was told cash rewards would be given after purchase, NOT!

Telephone people LIED to me Repeatedly I was told they would CANCELL my ORDER!! They did not!! They took my money, Told me they were in the USA, They were NOT!! My Bank Tells me this!! These people put me on hold, Disconected me X3, Told me I would get my "Rewards Points" after I Placed my order!! Another Lie!!! Then They assured me they would cancel my order!! LIED AGAIN!!! I was Going to order a Ride on Lawn Mower, GOOD THING I DIDNT!!! *** SEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT MY MONEY BACK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This I Never EXPECTED This From U!
View full review
Review
#370039 Review #370039 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • good thing
With Official Company Response
Sears refuses to honor water heater warranty
I have a Kenmore water heater from Sears with a 12 year warranty. The warranty states, "Sears will 1) provide free water heater parts for those that are defective in materials or workmanship, and 2) supply a free water heater for one that develops a leak. For the...
View full review
24 comments
Anonymous
#1763332

I have a Sears Kenmore Water Heater. It too has a 12 year warranty.

I got the printout of my Purchase of the Water heater from a small Sears store. They no longer carry water heaters. I call Sears and they said I had to pay $99 for a technician to diagnose. Based on the diagnosis they will supply the needed part.

The tank is leaking so the Warranty says they will send out a replacement. I originally installed but some of their people say they must do the install others say I can do it myself. I would like to take the tank out and bring it in for for any diagnosis to keep from paying the Technician visit. I guess I will just have to wait out and find what they will offer.

My issue with their requirement is that the earliest diagnosis is 2 weeks from now and since they will have to order a new Water Heater that will take another 2 weeks...if they require that I must have a technician install that will take another two weeks plus whatever they want to charge. Probably take a month...how would you like to not have hot water for a month...not fun and not responsive.

View more comments
Review
#369969 Review #369969 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$20
With Official Company Response
I ordered 4 items online from Sears as Christmas gifts this year, on Dec. 16th. At check out, I was informed that if I didn't upgrade from my "Free" shipping, to "2 Day Express" that my gifts might not arrive in time, charging me an additional $17.99. I'd...
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#586190

Dear DM_McCann,

My name is Brian and I’m part of the Sears Cares Escalations team. I saw this comment and I wanted to reach out to you to see if we could be of assistance. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment surrounding your online purchase. We can certainly understand how being over charged for the incorrect items and then having to deal with horrible customer service would be most upsetting for you. We would love the opportunity to look into this for you, and help find a satisfactory resolution.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the order was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (DM_McCann) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments
Review
#369938 Review #369938 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Shipping Service
Loss
$103
With Official Company Response

Sears a&e factory service

Ice and water not dispensing from my refrigerator. I called Sears, made appointment with a&e factory service. A serviceman came out during the correct time period. All good so far. But, wait. He was here 20 minutes, told me it was not a problem with the refrigerator, that it was the water supply that was not coming in to the refrigerator. Handed me a bill for $148. I called to complain and they said that the bill was correct, nothing they could do. End of story. So, now I'm going to tell my story where ever I can.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#586178

Anonymous,

I'm sorry for any inconvenience and frustration you’ve encountered with our repair service in regards to your refrigerator. My name is Brian H. and I’m with the Sears Cares Social Media Support team and we would like to help. We would like to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you in order to ensure proper resolution to your issue and an end to your frustration. At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide a contact number and we will call you directly. In addition, please include this screen name I've created (PCRefrigerator) in the email so we can reference your post. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#369720 Review #369720 is a subjective opinion of poster.