Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
We purchased a Dunkirk oil steam boiler from Sears in the spring of 2008. The first night it kicked on in the fall, the burner died. We had "Master Protection," but they won't come in the middle of the night to fix it, so we had to pay about $300 to have it replaced...
View full review
Review
#365569 Review #365569 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$8000
With Official Company Response

Terrible Service from Sears

We purchased a Kenmore washer and dryer from Sears, with a one-year warranty included. The washer stopped working. We called Sears the next day. They said someone would be out 2 days later. No one came. We called again. They said someone would be out 2 days later again. My wife was there when the man finally came to fix it, she said all he did was unplug it and plug it back in. It worked initially so he left. A few minutes after that it stopped working again. My wife called the guy back and he said he couldn't come back out without Sears telling him to. My wife called Sears, they said they couldn't make a new appointment until he cleared the ticket. My wife called him back and he didn't answer and hasn't called her or I back after leaving voicemails several hours ago. I called Sears and they said we would have to call again the next day and make a new appointment but they don't know when they would be able to come out again. We were at almost a week without the washer working and had gotten the run around from Sears and the man who was supposed to fix it the entire time. I will not be purchasing anything from Sears again.
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#580273

Dear Anonymous365487,

My name is Jay and I am part of the Social Media Support team at Sears and I am very concerned about what I have read here. We are truly sorry for the trouble and inconvenience that you have encountered with your washing machine and our service. We understand the importance of the washer and the role it plays in the family and being rescheduled continously is not something we want our customers to have to go through. We would like to look further into what has happen surrounding this service order and see what can be done to correct any mistakes that may have been made to help minimize your frustrations. At your convenience, please send us an email to smadvisor@searshc.com providing a contact phone number and the phone number that the washing machine was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (Anonymous365487) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jay C.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team.

Anonymous
#579769

Purchased a TV from one store and returned to another location. They closed at 7:00 pm.

I got there at about 10 min, til. The lights were off, and they were about to leave but allowed me bring it in (I'm guessing because they knew they should still be open). Because everything was off (computers), they said they would do the credit the following day. It's 3 days later and still no credit.

I called yesterday and the manager never called me back. Today I called and he said he didn't do it because their sales were down and if he ran it through it would show a negative and this would alert management. I told him that's not my problem and it needed to be done! He said he would do it in a couple of hours.

When I asked for his manager's name and how to contact him, he would not disclose.

This is unacceptable for a big name company!

View more comments (1)
Review
#365487 Review #365487 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears.Com does not deliver goods

I ordered a product through sears.com. The product was not delivered by the delivery date published. Sears.com declines to accept responsibility for the problem. According to the sears.com website, the product status was "shipped". The sears.com website provided a UPS tracking number. Using that tracking number led to a UPS site. The UPS site indicated that a shipping label was printed but nothing else. There was no package at UPS, just a label. I spoke with sears.com and was promised that an email would help resolve the problem. No emailcame. Two days later, sears.com said that they would try to help contact the merchant. I would advise against using sears.com for any purpose.
View full review
Review
#365412 Review #365412 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
Loss
$25
With Official Company Response

Never again will I shop at Sears.

I purchased a tablet (Xtreme 7' android) online through Sears to be picked up in the store on 12/1/12. I wanted it in time for Christmas. My son Juar is 10 and I thought I would try out a less expensive tablet for him. I thought the price was a good buy. I got an email to pick the tablet up (it was ready). I went to the store with my son . I did not want him to see the tablet because I knew he would get excited so i waited to get home to check the tablet. To my surprise, the tablet was used. There was smudges on the screen and there was stored pictures in the camera. When I tried to type the keys was malfunctioned. I called Sears to inquire about returns and was told there was no more of these tablets in stock I was told told to come in to do the return. I came in for return on 12/3/12. I purchased with my debit so I expected cash back. I was informed I can't get cash back. I will get a credit back to my card. I was first told it will take 24 hours. I am still waiting and as of yet, chase has not received any credit for a sears return. This is the holiday time and everyone is in need of there money. Sears will never have to worry about me buying anything from there store anymore.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#579340

Anonymous1940,

My name is Liz and I am a part of the Sears Social Media Support team. I saw your comment today and wanted to reach out to your to offer our assistance. I am very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience with your online order. It is frustrating enough to encounter any issues with your order must less not receiving your refund in a timely manner. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss your experience and see what can be done to turn things around. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number the order was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Anonymous1940) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#365410 Review #365410 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$70

Sears Craftsman metal adjustable trigger hose nozzle69238

What a piece of Chinese ***!! "Forever Warranty"--what a joke! Sears, like so many others, has discovered that it costs absolutely nothing to slap "Forever warranty", Lifetime warranty", or any other claim, promise or commitment on the product tags, advertisements and packaging! When i moved into my current home 18 months ago I went to Sears to purchase what I thought would be the best hose nozzles from a reputable company with a great reputation for excellent customer service[ things have really gone downhill ]. I purchased three(3) of them[ ITEM #69238 / upc#713022811324 ] - enough for each hose bib. In the last 18 months, I have exchanged these multiple times and had AT LEAST (9) different units. This is a poorly designed and manufactured product - right from the store they are NOT adjustable for an a household water pressure above 35PSI( yes I tested them). They work fine for a few months, then the trigger sticks open(or closed), begins leaking, etc. The first time, I thought I might have left water in them and they might have frozen during winter. I was wrong. There is no pattern other than the known PSI defect I can establish related to their failure. They fail even though they have never even been through a winter or even left outside. I paid $7.00 each for these. They are almost $9.00 now on the website[ SAME FLAWED DESIGN]. It's not a lot of money, but the principle involved is a crucial one. If we continue to except the indolence and mediocrity of our government, industries and retailers - one day soon THAT WILL BE THE NORM. Maybe it's a bigger problem than I imagine. It might be sheer brilliance on SEARS' part --- they got me to come back into their store at least (9) times[ for this specific issue ]. What a disgrace. Craftsman has become a Chinese wh*re.
View full review
Review
#365211 Review #365211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$75
Deceived and Screwed by Sears.com – Offer & Cancel, the new Bait and Switch? I ordered a Slingbox 500 at a great price from Sears.com on Sunday. I spent a lot of time shopping for this item at bricks & mortar stores and online, so I knew the Slingbox 500 sells for...
View full review
2 comments
ambitious1535
#580877

Sears is trying to comingle their online and store sales. This can affect inventory if the stores and online systems are not talking to each other.

Sadly this is the future of Sears.

This is why ALWAYS print out a copy of conformation numbers and receipts. You can then send a copy to Sears corporate to complain and/or state and federal regulators like the Better Business Bureau, Federal Trade Commission or Consumer Protection Agency. And if you want to go public a tv news station.

Document everything when dealing with Sears.

This is not your grand mothers Sears. Satisfaction is not guaranteed.

View more comments
Review
#365202 Review #365202 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
Loss
$299
With Official Company Response

Sears Service Stall

We purchased all our kitchen appliances from Sears less than 6 months ago. The dishwasher stopped working so we called Sears service for a warranty repair. They scheduled us over a week away during the holidays. They said they would be at our house between 8 AM and noon. At 10 AM on the day they were to arrive they called and said they wouldn't be there and added another week before they could come. When we told them that was unsatisfactory and asked to speak to a manager they hung up. We have not had a dishwasher since before thanksgiving and still do not on December 6th. The woman who called stated that because it was a warranty repair we would need to wait. I am through buying anything from Sears.
View full review
2 comments
ambitious1535
#580882

When you say warranty repair do you mean a repair under a service agreement or the manufacturer? Also did they say a Sears technician would be sent out or a contractor like A&E Factory Services?

A big problem with Sears and their service departments is that even with a service agreement alot of service managers want you to go through the manufacturer first. In the past Sears Service would cover the repair themselves sometimes getting reimbursed from the manufacturer after the fact. But Sears being so cheap with it's vendors now has many agreements that the vendor/supplier will not reimburse Sears after the fact.

When dealing with Sears service always get dates, times, employees & numbers and service request/ticket numbers. Also be aware many service companies wind up closing or cancelling your service request so they don't get gigged for a missed appointment or overtime from the higher ups.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#579316

Anonymous1938

Please accept our apologies for the experience you have encountered with the repair of your dishwasher. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I saw your post and wanted to offer our assistance. I can truly understand how important it is to have your dishwasher repaired in a timely manner. Even more, I can see how frustrating it is to have your repair rescheduled and the level of customer service you have received when you contacted us. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number the dishwasher was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Anonymous1938) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#365149 Review #365149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$700

Sears in Castroville, Texas - Shoddy unsafe installation and terrible customer service

Sears salesman came out to our house, did an evaluation and sold us a Propane furnace and Electric AC unit and scheduled an installation time. The contractors that were sent left (2) 2 ft x 1 ft holes where old return vents were, cut registers in wrong rooms, and stepped through the ceiling. Within 2 weeks we were having problems. We found a HUGE water stain underneath where the furnace/blower was up in the attic and the AC not turning on at all. The contractors were sent back out and fixed it (blamed it on us for not changing the filter even though it had only been on 2 weeks). Within a week we had another water stain in the same place. They fixed it. Next day ANOTHER Water stain and more workers to fix it. This has been going on/off for last 6 months. The other night we came home and the AC/furnace not working AGAIN. The contractors came back out and said that the furnace was set up for natural gas and not propane and it burnt out a switch and "shut off" the whole system. They converted it to propane and its working for the moment. The contractors say that Sears didn't tell them that we were on propane. We had been using the furnace on the wrong fuel source for over 6 months! In the 6 months we've had the system there have been over 9 problems and I've had to call them over 25 times.They put out entire family and home at risk with installing the furnace for the wrong fuel type. The safeties that are in the furnace didn't stop it from being used. This is a major fire hazard and we are lucky our house and family wasn't injured and damaged. Sears finally agreed to a HVAC tech coming out but wont agree to pay for anything until they have a bill and speak to that tech. They refuse to discount the furnace/ac because it's "working right now". Nothing to make up for the 6 months of rearranging schedules, broken ac/furnace, frustration, 25+ phone calls, 9 service calls to fix it. That in the 6 months we've had the system we have had problems EVERY SINGLE MONTH! Their defense was that whenever we call to have them come fix it is that they sent someone. (Its under manufacturer warranty, Sear's warranty and we bought a 2 year protection plan with them --so they have no choice to come out and fix it) My husband and I paid out of pocket for a licensed HVAC technician (not Sears affiliated) to come out and make sure it was working properly - we were afraid to use it. After paying that much for something I had expected better quality and service and not constant inconveniences and frustrations for the last 6 months. I don't feel they advertised their services correctly or their product. I spent $12K for something that I had expected to last and work for years, and it hasn't even worked properly for 1 month without issues. We asked that the price be discounted to a more reasonable amount for the inconveniences and problems as well as the gross negligence and irresponsible carelessness of not installing it correctly which put my family and property at risk. They came back with a measly 5% discount ($600) which is what they apparently believe our family's safety and property are worth.
View full review
Review
#365073 Review #365073 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$12000

Sears in San Diego, California - Worst company, worst customer service and no sense of responsibility

I ordered a chelsea sofa on 1st december . Got the order confirmation and delivery details as well. On 3rd of december I got mail that my order has been cancelled because that sofa is not in stock, I checked it online and it was available but for much higher price. I called Sears to ask why they have cancelled my order if they still have it in stock they replied it is because my sofa is sold by third party and it has been cancelled by third party (DA Stores) without any reason, and lady in sears told me to contact DA stores directly (I dont understand why should I contact DA stores if I made payment to Sears). However, I call DA stores, they told me that its not their responsibility to provide me sofa now because the price has been increased and if I want that sofa I have to spend more then double the price of it. (Then why did they put it on sale.) I again contacted Sears and they said that its neither their responsibility to provide me sofa now and I have to reorder it (what is the guarantee my order wont get cancelled again). I dont understand whose responsibility is it to deliver my sofa(Then why did Sears took money from my account if they dont have responsibilty). It is still available on their website and DA Stores only selling it. I really feel cheated. :( :(
View full review
Review
#364986 Review #364986 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$500

Sears ship to store? would be faster by pony express

On 11/22/12 I ordered a toaster over marked down due to black thanksgiving deal. I was being frugal, hence chose the ship to store option. Well it is now Dec. 5 and I still haven't heard when I should be picking this up. I was curious, and checked my account at sears for any updates. It stated that the email would show up the 5th, I checked the next day it said it would show up the 10th. This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS! If I would of know it was on the slow boat, I would of chosen ship to home, it was only 5 bucks. I WILL NOT BUY FROM SEARS ONLINE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
View full review
Review
#364981 Review #364981 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$32