Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears in Cornwall, Ontario - SAMSUNG 3-DOOR S.S. FRIDGE NIGHTMARE

My husband and I over the years have bought furniture, appliances, booked cruises, vacations, clothing, gifts etc., couldn't total everything but spent certainly several tens of thousands. Always happy with products and service......until this last year. Since we moved to Ontario we have bought and had serviced once or more the following new items within the past few months: Samsung stove, Lawnmower, Central Vac., Samsung fridge. The current unresolved problem is the counter depth 3-door stainless steel Samsung fridge. Inside the freezer drawer ice and snow cover everything. The problem ebbs and wanes. Ice blocks form on the metal tracks the drawer runs on and when the drawer is opened pcs fall off onto the wood floor. Problems started around the 6 month mark. Repairman came first time and returned to replace the drawer seal as well as both metal tracks. Problem returned one month later with a vengeance. Repairman returned again this time took photos and said would have a reply within 2 days. One month later I had was still waiting. Call repairman lest messages with no response. Called Sears Service again who also sent repairman an email to follow up saying they could do nothing without his report. We have been on this merry-go-round for a couple of months now. This is completely unacceptable. Last call we made was November 24th advising Customer Service that we would give 10 days to resolve this problem. My research indicates that Samsung's compressor/motor is insufficient for the job. There is no fix - it is a design flaw. We will take this to News org's, journalists and as well as online media to get resolution. The clock is ticking.
View full review
2 comments
M. Allan
#587512

Follow-up re above. Re'd call from Sears management within the 10 day deadline.

Fridge was promptly replaced. Satisfactory outcome with Sears service, we will continue to purchase from them.

Will no longer buy Samsung kitchen products.

M. Allan
#575635

.

View more comments (1)
Review
#363317 Review #363317 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears charged credit card and did NOT deliver product

Against my better judgement I placed an online order with Sears and received ONE of the two items yet was charged for BOTH items! When I contacted Sears Customer Service I was told "Too bad, I don't believe you, Sears would never make a mistake like that!" And, the "customer service agent" hung up on me! I called back and was told, "not my problem!" then I called a THIRD time and was told "we will have to research this and see if we can refund your money!" REALLY? I ordered the items, recieved ONE of the items and was charged for both! This is unbelieveable! I will be contacting the BBB regarding this incident and will be filing a fraud complaint with my credit card company. To be treated in this manner by Sears is unacceptable!
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#577323

Greeneyezpa,

Hello my name is Zenaida and I am part of the Sears Social Media Support team. I came across your post and wanted to offer our assistance. We are very sorry for the mix up with the order of your drapes. We realize how upsetting it is to have received only half of your order, but to have been billed for the entire order. Please know we would like to look into this matter and get it straightened out for you.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your order was originally purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (greeneyezpa) listed on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Zenaida M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#363286 Review #363286 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$16

Sears cancelled my early bird Black Friday purchase too!

After getting an email from Sears with the subject, "Why wait till Black Friday?" soliciting early bird Black Friday Deals in store and online, I purchased a 21 cubic inch Kenmore Refrigerator for 499.99 on Thanksgiving Day. I was expecting delivery today 5 days later. When it didn't show, I called Sears and learned why- they had cancelled my order! Why? because of the great demand they were out of stock. While on the phone with customer service, I checked online at Sear.com and looked up the refrigerator and there it was! The same refrigerator and it listed "IN STOCK" Customer Service confirmed it was in-stock and apologized, yes, the fridge is in stock and I can get it but I need to pay the new higher price of $799.00. I am upset on so many levels. I can understand that there are limited supplies of these door buster items. I get that. But a purchase was made. Other items I tried to purchase that same day showed out of stock but this one was in stock when I purchased and is still in stock if I give them more money. Sears not only used deceptive advertising but they practiced unfair competition. If I had been notified that the product I wanted was out of stock, I would have gone to other retailers on Black Friday or even Cyber Monday and purchased one. But I have missed that opportunity because of Sears' deceptive practices. Customer Service was not helpful. I tried for several hours to get a resolution to my problem but Sears customer service read from a script, transfer me to Canada, put me on hold for 45 minutes, intermittently came back on to apologize they could not transfer me to a supervisor or give me a different number to call to have someone help me. I was basically stonewalled. The only solution they could offer was pay the new higher price. That's not a resolution, Sears. I won't shop here again. I am shredding my Sears rewards Card.
View full review
1 comment
nikalseyn
#575738

I am not surprised. Sears is now a failing company and should really be avoided.

They are no longer the Sears, Roebuck & Co. we all remember.

In your case, they basically scammed you by confirming a sale to you and then arbitrarily cancelling it for an apparent spurious reason-------they still had the item in stock. Let this be a lesson to anyone who still thinks Sears is reputable, honest and a good place to buy anything----------it is no!!

Review
#363272 Review #363272 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$799
With Official Company Response

SEARS: WORST shopping experience EVER!

I bought a dishwasher on sale at Sears.com last Friday November 23rd 2012 (Black Friday). My order was confirmed but after a few days (we are now November 29) I was surprised that Sears didn't contact me regarding the installation of the dishwasher. I go online to check my order and discover that it was cancelled WITHOUT NOTICE on November 26, 2012. I immediately call Sears customer service to understand why my order has been cancelled, how they can help me get a similar product for a similar price, and recoup my $500 gift certificate that I used. The lady tells me my order has been cancelled because it is out of stock. Yet my order had been confirmed on Friday and - ironically - she tells me that I can by the same product for $200 more if I wish to. So I guess they do have it in stock?? She later points me to the terms and conditions of the website - pages long - without refering me to any specific clause, despite my asking. She ignores my request to get a discount on the same product or another product, or a price adjustment, or any suggestion their customer service would have to compensate me for this unilateral unwarned cancellation. The women persists in refusing to provide me with any form of compensation for the damage I incurred: basically lost the opportunity to buy a dishwasher on sale (all sales are over by now and they never gave me a headsup so I could get an alternate product while sales were going on), have to now buy the dishwasher for almost double the price, and no help in getting my money back from my gift certificate. I do almost exclusively all my shopping online and screw ups happen once in a while. But i have never had a vendor respond so poorly to inavailability of a product (which by the way, I insist, the product is actually still available on Sears website!!) or offer zero compensation for the damage caused (I now have to buy a similar dishwasher for at least $200 more). This is the worst service ever!! I still hope that I can at least recover my $500 one day (and unfortunately have to spend it with Sears or one of their affiliated brands since it came through a gift certificate). Very very very disappointing.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#577339

Disappointedwithsears,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the mix up with the purchase of your dishwasher. I understand how disappointing this must have been to discover the cancellation of the order of your dishwasher. Please know we are truly dismayed to learn of the poor service you received while trying to get help with your order. We are perplexed as to what could have happened and would like to look into this for you.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dishwasher was originally purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (disappointedwithsears) listed on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Zenaida M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#363265 Review #363265 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$553

Sears in Kannapolis, North Carolina - I was SCAMMED!!!!!

I ordered a mattress, I was told I would be getting a free boxspring from the agent. She repeated the items on the receipt, asked for my card, and placed my order. SHE LIED!!!!!! I received the receipt in the email and saw that my free box spring that Sears advertised was not on my receipt!!!!!!! I wasn't getting what I paid for!!!! Sears would not honor their ad and would not honor WHAT I WAS AGREEING TO GET!!!!!!! They said their ad was for a free box spring for a certain type of mattress... well, then why did she agree to give me a free one? Why wasn't that on the ad? False advertising. Scary!!!!!!!!!! They didn't even offer to make it right. I got cut off four times and immediately was sent to take some sort of customer service survey. I'm taking my business to Macy's!!!!!!!! WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!!!
View full review
Review
#363249 Review #363249 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears Kenmore Freezer - DO NOT BUY!!

Update by user Jan 22, 2013

Update - Since my last complaint, I have been in touch with the Sears social media customer service via email (smsupport@searshc.com). After communicating back and forth, I am happy to report that Sears sent out a technician to look at my freezer and had it fixed at no charge to me. My freezer is working again.

Original review posted by user Nov 28, 2012

I bought a Kenmore 5.1 cu ft chest freezer (Kenmore Model 255.19702010) in September of 2011. This past week the freezer died suddenly. I called Sears and was conveniently told my one year warranty was over. I got the run around from customer service and was given different numbers to call. Sears and Kenmore continue to sell these freezers even though a lot of customers have documented complaints online. There is also an energy rebate claim on this freezer because they are not as efficient as advertized. I am not happy with sears or kenmore and I really do want my money back. Please save yourself the trouble and the money-STAY AWAY from this brand- stay away from Sears/Kenmore products!!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#597198

Glad it's fixed!

SearsCares
Sears Response
#576336

icyspicy,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulty you have experienced with your freezer. I understand how frustrating it is to purchase a freezer and it suddenly stopped working properly. Even more, I can see how irritating it is to receive poor customer service when you contacted us. My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Social Media Support Team. We would like the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you with possible options to resolve this matter. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the freezer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (icyspicy) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#363093 Review #363093 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300

How sears.com does to its customer:

I order asus 14" laptop with dvd drive, windors 8 and $219.99 after I paid for it to the customer of sears.com. Later I fund they changed my item with something else. I contacted them, and they told me they have this item right now and asked me to pay it again its new price $349.99, and promised me they will adjust it to be $219.99. but soon, I found they changed my order item again with an old laptop, and they asked me to pay third times for this same item with a 10% off.
View full review
Review
#362938 Review #362938 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I cannot get Sears to locate a mattress I ordered or get any help when I call.

10-31-12 Received confirmation email from Sears for my king size mattress order with order number 11-01-12 Received email saying order was shipped, but when I got online I could not find where I submitted order or track shipment. 11-02-12 Shipping company gave me courtesy call on 11-02-12 saying they would call when they received the package to make sure I am home so they can deliver it. 11-05-12 Called shipping company in my area they said they have not received the mattress 11-08-12 Called shipping company in my area they have not received the mattress 11-12-12 Called Sear's customer service they could not tell me where the mattress was they will forward the request to the fulfillment center and I will get an email 24-48 hours. 11-12-12 Chat conversation online from Sears.com, no help said someone would contact me in 5-7 days. 11-12-12 Found that it was charged to my Sears account on 11-01-12. From online receipt: Called Sears.com 800-349-4358. Was told that the item was sold by Sear's from an Independent carrier in North Carolina 11-13-12 Called shipping company in my area they have no information on it, they cannot see any movement. 11-13-12 Called Kathy at Restonic in NC She says once it leaves their manufacturing plant Home Direct is responsible for it. She says it is in route. 11-13-12 Called Home Direct website does not show it has even been picked up 11-13-12 Called Cargo Consolidation Sales (828) 459-3166 local distributor in Conover, NC left message for Robin. 11-13-12 Called Mattress Co. in NC back, Kathy. She says that if it has a way bill # then it has shipped. 11-13-12 Saw online where other customers have had same problem at sears.pissedconsumers.com. Emailed smadvisor@searshc.com ;and emailed Imran@customerservice.sears.com 11-15-12 (delivery date) Received email from Douglas M. (kmedhi) Sears Customer Care webcenter@customerservice.sears.com 1-800-366-3028, sears media support saying that sears fulfillment will contact me in 5-7 business days. 11-15-13 Checked Home Direct website to track order, it shows no movement it has not even been picked up yet. 11-15-12 Emailed with no response 11-15-12 Called Sear's at 1-800-549-4505 to get charge taken off of credit card or find mattress. I asked to talk to her supervisor to get it taken off my credit card, was placed on hold for over 120 min, then disconnected. 11-15-12 called home direct again they are in Chicago, Illinios they have not received the mattress from the vendor in NC and are not able to help me in any way until they received the mattress. 11-15-12 Called Kathy at Jackson Mattress they have taken it to Cargo Consolidation in Conover NC. She called Home direct and talked to Nina she was supposed to call me, but did not. Called Cargo Consolidation 828-459-3165, Talked to Teresa they have the mattress but they will not ship it until Home direct emails the waybill# to Town Air and Town Air send them the way bill#. I gave them the way bill# but that is not good enough they have to get it from Home direct. Email address is agent492@homedirectusa.com. I restated to her so you have the waybill# and you know where it is supposed to go but you will not send it she said yes that's correct. 11-15-12 Called Home Direct again talked to Nina explained everything that Cargo told me. She said she would email them to schedule a pick up and would call me back with an estimated time of arrival. 11-15-12 Emailed Home Direct at customerservice@homedirectusa.com: 11-15-12 Went online to onlineaccount.com to dispute charge for mattress. 11-16-12 Called professional logistics in Memphis. He could see where it was shipped from NC at 5 PM on 11-15-12, but that is all, he will call me when he gets it. 11-20-12 Called professional logistics, said it shows no different than on the 16th; they have not received it. 11-20-12 Rcvd email from Sears social media: Dear Mrs. Bawcum,We apologize for the difficulties you have encountered. A case manager has been assigned to address your concerns and we will contact you by the end of business on 11/20/12. Thank you,Tina Williams Sears & Kmart Social Media Team Email: SMSupport@searshc.comHours: Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 8:00PM (CST) Saturday/Sunday – 8:00 AM – 8:00 PM (CST) 11-20-12 Rcvd call from case manager but all he could tell me was I had a delivery date of 12-05-12 and he would follow it until then and see if I received it. I asked many questions but he could not answer any of them all he could say was I'm sorry I will follow your case. 11-22-12 Rcvd email from Sears.com: Dear Sears Customer, Thank you for shopping at Sears.com! Our shipper homedirect is waiting for your phone call to schedule your delivery if you could please give them a phone call to set up a delivery date. (800)611-6302 11-26-12 Called Home Direct at 9:30 AM talked to Bruce he looked and saw that it has not moved since 11-15-12 in NC. He said he would look into it and call me back or email me. 11-26-12 Called Cargo Industries they would not even talk to me they said I would have to call Home Direct to get any information on this. 11-26-12 Emailed customerservice@homedirectusa.com inquiring about mattress. 11-27-12 Checked Home Direct Online, now it says order has only been placed, not in transit, not even picked up any more. The pick up agency in NC has changed from Cargo Consolidation to ALL AMERICAN RELOCATION,(704)927-1725 11-27-12 Called Home Direct again talked to Demetria, asked to speak to supervisor. Natalie, answered said she was a manager and she would look into this and call me back today. I explained to her that Nina has told me twice she would call me back and Bruce told me yesterday that he would call me back. 11-27-12 Called Sear's at 1-800-549-4505 asked to speak to a supervisor; they would not let me. She was going to get information from me to connect me to case manager, which is who called me on 11-20-12 but all he was going to do was monitor the order until 12-05-12. 11-27-12 Sent letter to Sears Holding CEO to hopefully get some resolution on this issue and make him aware of how customers are being treated.
View full review
Review
#362754 Review #362754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$490
With Official Company Response

Sears in North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina - Ripped off on turkey fryer

We ordered an electric turkey fryer from Sears and what came in the box was a set of wrenches; a visible set of wrenches with a shipping sticker on them saying "turkey fryer". I called on 11/14/12 to customer service to straighten this out. I was told by Almond that I would have to pay again for the turkey fryer but would receive a refund in 3-5 business days for the wrenches and that a UPS pickup ticket would be sent to my email. I accepted those conditions and let a second charge be applied to my debit card. Fourteen days later and I haven't received a refund and I haven't received a call tag for pickup. I called customer service today and was told to follow the return directions on the package. I objected because I don't want to pay shipping for their error and she said she would send UPS with a call tag within 24 hours. They refused to refund my money until they get the product in hand. She also said I could return to Sears store, 30 minutes away. I'm PISSED because Almond didn't advise me this way 14 days ago and I took their customer service rep at her word on receiving a refund because of their error. I won't shop Sears again and I am disapointed at the volume of complains I've now heard about Sears. I disapointed that I didn't check on this first. Bad customer service from Sears.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#576324

Anonymous1932,

My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down and would like to offer some assistance. I understand how frustrating it can be to purchase turkey fryer and instead you received wrenches. Furthermore, I can see how disappointing it is to be told you would receive a call tag for the items but you still have received your refund. We would the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact your with possible options to resolve this matter in a timely manner. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the dehumidifier was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Anonymous1932) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Review
#362707 Review #362707 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$120

Sears Sells Faulty Warranties

I purchased a 70 inch Toshiba DLP Television back in 2008 with an extended 5 year warranty through Sears covering me through 2013. I recently contacted Sears concerning white dots appearing on my television screen. After talking to two Sears reps, they informed me that I should contact Toshiba as they were the manufacturer and Sears would not cover the imperfections on my screen (would not even send a technician to my house to examine the television). I don't understand how they can charge 350 dollars for an extended warranty and then refuse to at minimum diagnose the problem.
View full review
1 comment
Honest4Sure
#595472

Does your service contract cover "normal wear and tear? What do the terms and conditions say?

Are the "white dots" affecting the quality of the picture? Are they appearing with more frequency over time? Where are they on the TV? Is this Sears "service" you're speaking with or the store personnel?

You can probably Google this problem or forums as such on the Toshiba website. On the other hand, Sears has been selling this nonsense since the inception of service contracts/extended warranties.

Any due diligence research would have uncovered less than stellar service, unrealistic expectations and lots of incompetence. You succumbed to commissioned salespeople - you expected more?

Review
#362652 Review #362652 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000