Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears cancelled my early bird Black Friday purchase too!

After getting an email from Sears with the subject, "Why wait till Black Friday?" soliciting early bird Black Friday Deals in store and online, I purchased a 21 cubic inch Kenmore Refrigerator for 499.99 on Thanksgiving Day. I was expecting delivery today 5 days later. When it didn't show, I called Sears and learned why- they had cancelled my order! Why? because of the great demand they were out of stock. While on the phone with customer service, I checked online at Sear.com and looked up the refrigerator and there it was! The same refrigerator and it listed "IN STOCK" Customer Service confirmed it was in-stock and apologized, yes, the fridge is in stock and I can get it but I need to pay the new higher price of $799.00. I am upset on so many levels. I can understand that there are limited supplies of these door buster items. I get that. But a purchase was made. Other items I tried to purchase that same day showed out of stock but this one was in stock when I purchased and is still in stock if I give them more money. Sears not only used deceptive advertising but they practiced unfair competition. If I had been notified that the product I wanted was out of stock, I would have gone to other retailers on Black Friday or even Cyber Monday and purchased one. But I have missed that opportunity because of Sears' deceptive practices. Customer Service was not helpful. I tried for several hours to get a resolution to my problem but Sears customer service read from a script, transfer me to Canada, put me on hold for 45 minutes, intermittently came back on to apologize they could not transfer me to a supervisor or give me a different number to call to have someone help me. I was basically stonewalled. The only solution they could offer was pay the new higher price. That's not a resolution, Sears. I won't shop here again. I am shredding my Sears rewards Card.
View full review
1 comment
John N
#575738

I am not surprised. Sears is now a failing company and should really be avoided.

They are no longer the Sears, Roebuck & Co. we all remember.

In your case, they basically scammed you by confirming a sale to you and then arbitrarily cancelling it for an apparent spurious reason-------they still had the item in stock. Let this be a lesson to anyone who still thinks Sears is reputable, honest and a good place to buy anything----------it is no!!

Review
#363272 Review #363272 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$799

SEARS: WORST shopping experience EVER!

I bought a dishwasher on sale at Sears.com last Friday November 23rd 2012 (Black Friday). My order was confirmed but after a few days (we are now November 29) I was surprised that Sears didn't contact me regarding the installation of the dishwasher. I go online to check my order and discover that it was cancelled WITHOUT NOTICE on November 26, 2012. I immediately call Sears customer service to understand why my order has been cancelled, how they can help me get a similar product for a similar price, and recoup my $500 gift certificate that I used. The lady tells me my order has been cancelled because it is out of stock. Yet my order had been confirmed on Friday and - ironically - she tells me that I can by the same product for $200 more if I wish to. So I guess they do have it in stock?? She later points me to the terms and conditions of the website - pages long - without refering me to any specific clause, despite my asking. She ignores my request to get a discount on the same product or another product, or a price adjustment, or any suggestion their customer service would have to compensate me for this unilateral unwarned cancellation. The women persists in refusing to provide me with any form of compensation for the damage I incurred: basically lost the opportunity to buy a dishwasher on sale (all sales are over by now and they never gave me a headsup so I could get an alternate product while sales were going on), have to now buy the dishwasher for almost double the price, and no help in getting my money back from my gift certificate. I do almost exclusively all my shopping online and screw ups happen once in a while. But i have never had a vendor respond so poorly to inavailability of a product (which by the way, I insist, the product is actually still available on Sears website!!) or offer zero compensation for the damage caused (I now have to buy a similar dishwasher for at least $200 more). This is the worst service ever!! I still hope that I can at least recover my $500 one day (and unfortunately have to spend it with Sears or one of their affiliated brands since it came through a gift certificate). Very very very disappointing.
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#577339

Disappointedwithsears,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the mix up with the purchase of your dishwasher. I understand how disappointing this must have been to discover the cancellation of the order of your dishwasher. Please know we are truly dismayed to learn of the poor service you received while trying to get help with your order. We are perplexed as to what could have happened and would like to look into this for you.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dishwasher was originally purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (disappointedwithsears) listed on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Zenaida M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

With Official Company Response
Review
#363265 Review #363265 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$553

Sears review in Kannapolis, North Carolina: I was SCAMMED!!!!!

I ordered a mattress, I was told I would be getting a free boxspring from the agent. She repeated the items on the receipt, asked for my card, and placed my order. SHE LIED!!!!!! I received the receipt in the email and saw that my free box spring that Sears advertised was not on my receipt!!!!!!! I wasn't getting what I paid for!!!! Sears would not honor their ad and would not honor WHAT I WAS AGREEING TO GET!!!!!!! They said their ad was for a free box spring for a certain type of mattress... well, then why did she agree to give me a free one? Why wasn't that on the ad? False advertising. Scary!!!!!!!!!! They didn't even offer to make it right. I got cut off four times and immediately was sent to take some sort of customer service survey. I'm taking my business to Macy's!!!!!!!! WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!!!
View full review
Review
#363249 Review #363249 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears Kenmore Freezer - DO NOT BUY!!

Update by user Jan 22, 2013

Update - Since my last complaint, I have been in touch with the Sears social media customer service via email (smsupport@searshc.com). After communicating back and forth, I am happy to report that Sears sent out a technician to look at my freezer and had it fixed at no charge to me. My freezer is working again.

Original review posted by user Nov 28, 2012

I bought a Kenmore 5.1 cu ft chest freezer (Kenmore Model 255.19702010) in September of 2011. This past week the freezer died suddenly. I called Sears and was conveniently told my one year warranty was over. I got the run around from customer service and was given different numbers to call. Sears and Kenmore continue to sell these freezers even though a lot of customers have documented complaints online. There is also an energy rebate claim on this freezer because they are not as efficient as advertized. I am not happy with sears or kenmore and I really do want my money back. Please save yourself the trouble and the money-STAY AWAY from this brand- stay away from Sears/Kenmore products!!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#597198

Glad it's fixed!

David
Sears Response
#576336

icyspicy,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulty you have experienced with your freezer. I understand how frustrating it is to purchase a freezer and it suddenly stopped working properly. Even more, I can see how irritating it is to receive poor customer service when you contacted us. My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Social Media Support Team. We would like the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you with possible options to resolve this matter. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the freezer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (icyspicy) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
With Official Company Response
Review
#363093 Review #363093 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300

How sears.com does to its customer:

I order asus 14" laptop with dvd drive, windors 8 and $219.99 after I paid for it to the customer of sears.com. Later I fund they changed my item with something else. I contacted them, and they told me they have this item right now and asked me to pay it again its new price $349.99, and promised me they will adjust it to be $219.99. but soon, I found they changed my order item again with an old laptop, and they asked me to pay third times for this same item with a 10% off.
View full review
Review
#362938 Review #362938 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I cannot get Sears to locate a mattress I ordered or get any help when I call.

10-31-12 Received confirmation email from Sears for my king size mattress order with order number 11-01-12 Received email saying order was shipped, but when I got online I could not find where I submitted order or track shipment. 11-02-12 Shipping company gave me courtesy call on 11-02-12 saying they would call when they received the package to make sure I am home so they can deliver it. 11-05-12 Called shipping company in my area they said they have not received the mattress 11-08-12 Called shipping company in my area they have not received the mattress 11-12-12 Called Sear's customer service they could not tell me where the mattress was they will forward the request to the fulfillment center and I will get an email 24-48 hours. 11-12-12 Chat conversation online from Sears.com, no help said someone would contact me in 5-7 days. 11-12-12 Found that it was charged to my Sears account on 11-01-12. From online receipt: Called Sears.com 800-349-4358. Was told that the item was sold by Sear's from an Independent carrier in North Carolina 11-13-12 Called shipping company in my area they have no information on it, they cannot see any movement. 11-13-12 Called Kathy at Restonic in NC She says once it leaves their manufacturing plant Home Direct is responsible for it. She says it is in route. 11-13-12 Called Home Direct website does not show it has even been picked up 11-13-12 Called Cargo Consolidation Sales (828) 459-3166 local distributor in Conover, NC left message for Robin. 11-13-12 Called Mattress Co. in NC back, Kathy. She says that if it has a way bill # then it has shipped. 11-13-12 Saw online where other customers have had same problem at sears.pissedconsumers.com. Emailed smadvisor@searshc.com ;and emailed Imran@customerservice.sears.com 11-15-12 (delivery date) Received email from Douglas M. (kmedhi) Sears Customer Care webcenter@customerservice.sears.com 1-800-366-3028, sears media support saying that sears fulfillment will contact me in 5-7 business days. 11-15-13 Checked Home Direct website to track order, it shows no movement it has not even been picked up yet. 11-15-12 Emailed with no response 11-15-12 Called Sear's at 1-800-549-4505 to get charge taken off of credit card or find mattress. I asked to talk to her supervisor to get it taken off my credit card, was placed on hold for over 120 min, then disconnected. 11-15-12 called home direct again they are in Chicago, Illinios they have not received the mattress from the vendor in NC and are not able to help me in any way until they received the mattress. 11-15-12 Called Kathy at Jackson Mattress they have taken it to Cargo Consolidation in Conover NC. She called Home direct and talked to Nina she was supposed to call me, but did not. Called Cargo Consolidation 828-459-3165, Talked to Teresa they have the mattress but they will not ship it until Home direct emails the waybill# to Town Air and Town Air send them the way bill#. I gave them the way bill# but that is not good enough they have to get it from Home direct. Email address is agent492@homedirectusa.com. I restated to her so you have the waybill# and you know where it is supposed to go but you will not send it she said yes that's correct. 11-15-12 Called Home Direct again talked to Nina explained everything that Cargo told me. She said she would email them to schedule a pick up and would call me back with an estimated time of arrival. 11-15-12 Emailed Home Direct at customerservice@homedirectusa.com: 11-15-12 Went online to onlineaccount.com to dispute charge for mattress. 11-16-12 Called professional logistics in Memphis. He could see where it was shipped from NC at 5 PM on 11-15-12, but that is all, he will call me when he gets it. 11-20-12 Called professional logistics, said it shows no different than on the 16th; they have not received it. 11-20-12 Rcvd email from Sears social media: Dear Mrs. Bawcum,We apologize for the difficulties you have encountered. A case manager has been assigned to address your concerns and we will contact you by the end of business on 11/20/12. Thank you,Tina Williams Sears & Kmart Social Media Team Email: SMSupport@searshc.comHours: Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 8:00PM (CST) Saturday/Sunday – 8:00 AM – 8:00 PM (CST) 11-20-12 Rcvd call from case manager but all he could tell me was I had a delivery date of 12-05-12 and he would follow it until then and see if I received it. I asked many questions but he could not answer any of them all he could say was I'm sorry I will follow your case. 11-22-12 Rcvd email from Sears.com: Dear Sears Customer, Thank you for shopping at Sears.com! Our shipper homedirect is waiting for your phone call to schedule your delivery if you could please give them a phone call to set up a delivery date. (800)611-6302 11-26-12 Called Home Direct at 9:30 AM talked to Bruce he looked and saw that it has not moved since 11-15-12 in NC. He said he would look into it and call me back or email me. 11-26-12 Called Cargo Industries they would not even talk to me they said I would have to call Home Direct to get any information on this. 11-26-12 Emailed customerservice@homedirectusa.com inquiring about mattress. 11-27-12 Checked Home Direct Online, now it says order has only been placed, not in transit, not even picked up any more. The pick up agency in NC has changed from Cargo Consolidation to ALL AMERICAN RELOCATION,(704)927-1725 11-27-12 Called Home Direct again talked to Demetria, asked to speak to supervisor. Natalie, answered said she was a manager and she would look into this and call me back today. I explained to her that Nina has told me twice she would call me back and Bruce told me yesterday that he would call me back. 11-27-12 Called Sear's at 1-800-549-4505 asked to speak to a supervisor; they would not let me. She was going to get information from me to connect me to case manager, which is who called me on 11-20-12 but all he was going to do was monitor the order until 12-05-12. 11-27-12 Sent letter to Sears Holding CEO to hopefully get some resolution on this issue and make him aware of how customers are being treated.
View full review
Review
#362754 Review #362754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$490

Sears review in North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina: Ripped off on turkey fryer

We ordered an electric turkey fryer from Sears and what came in the box was a set of wrenches; a visible set of wrenches with a shipping sticker on them saying "turkey fryer". I called on 11/14/12 to customer service to straighten this out. I was told by Almond that I would have to pay again for the turkey fryer but would receive a refund in 3-5 business days for the wrenches and that a UPS pickup ticket would be sent to my email. I accepted those conditions and let a second charge be applied to my debit card. Fourteen days later and I haven't received a refund and I haven't received a call tag for pickup. I called customer service today and was told to follow the return directions on the package. I objected because I don't want to pay shipping for their error and she said she would send UPS with a call tag within 24 hours. They refused to refund my money until they get the product in hand. She also said I could return to Sears store, 30 minutes away. I'm PISSED because Almond didn't advise me this way 14 days ago and I took their customer service rep at her word on receiving a refund because of their error. I won't shop Sears again and I am disapointed at the volume of complains I've now heard about Sears. I disapointed that I didn't check on this first. Bad customer service from Sears.
View full review
1 comment
David
Sears Response
#576324

Anonymous1932,

My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down and would like to offer some assistance. I understand how frustrating it can be to purchase turkey fryer and instead you received wrenches. Furthermore, I can see how disappointing it is to be told you would receive a call tag for the items but you still have received your refund. We would the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact your with possible options to resolve this matter in a timely manner. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the dehumidifier was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Anonymous1932) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

With Official Company Response
Review
#362707 Review #362707 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$120

Sears Sells Faulty Warranties

I purchased a 70 inch Toshiba DLP Television back in 2008 with an extended 5 year warranty through Sears covering me through 2013. I recently contacted Sears concerning white dots appearing on my television screen. After talking to two Sears reps, they informed me that I should contact Toshiba as they were the manufacturer and Sears would not cover the imperfections on my screen (would not even send a technician to my house to examine the television). I don't understand how they can charge 350 dollars for an extended warranty and then refuse to at minimum diagnose the problem.
View full review
1 comment
Alan C
#595472

Does your service contract cover "normal wear and tear? What do the terms and conditions say?

Are the "white dots" affecting the quality of the picture? Are they appearing with more frequency over time? Where are they on the TV? Is this Sears "service" you're speaking with or the store personnel?

You can probably Google this problem or forums as such on the Toshiba website. On the other hand, Sears has been selling this nonsense since the inception of service contracts/extended warranties.

Any due diligence research would have uncovered less than stellar service, unrealistic expectations and lots of incompetence. You succumbed to commissioned salespeople - you expected more?

Review
#362652 Review #362652 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000

Sears complete lack of follow-up and care

On 8/7/2012 I purchased a CMENS Denali 700 Road bike from their website. Due to it not being available in any of the area Sears stores i had to have it shipped to my home, which resulted in my having to put it together myself and incurring a heftier charge with shipping costs involved. All total i paid over $200 for this bike. Everything arrived on time and in one piece, however once i managed to put it all together and get it out on the road for a test ride for more and permanent fine tuning something happened that i had really not thought possible in this day and age of technology happened: The gear sprocket on the rear wheel hub completely disintegrated while i took that very first ride. This caused me to lose my footing and feet slipped off the petals resulting in some minor cuts and bruises; Nothing major thankfully but it surely could have been a whole lot worse. I have never seen this, never thought that i would have to concern myself with this and in my many years of biking have never heard of this happening to others. As i had bought this bike after surgery to help me get back into shape that i had fallen out of for being housebound and sedentary for the last 10 years i was really happy and excited, and after this incident left dazed and very much disgusted. Since i had bought it from Sears, whom my family has done business for many long years i had no worries, only the disappointment of having to wait a bit longer to get things sorted out. Boy was i ever wrong there! Having called and called again and called again and yet again, having been told numerous times that i should await a response via email or through the mail to be patient. It's been well over 4 months now and i refuse to try and deal with Sears customer service runaround hence me posting my story here. I haven't heard a word from them, only excuses and promises yet unfulfilled. I don't want it repaired i do NOT trust this manufacturer, I'd like my money back. I could have seriously been injured. I'd just like Sears to stand by their products and customers and do the right thing here. It's been a ridiculously long time now as it is. I didn't know where else to go for help; I just wish i had the CEO's email address so i could let him know how very displeased and concerned i am over this debacle.
View full review
2 comments
David
Sears Response
#574541

kingpin,

My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I saw your comment and wanted to reach out to you on this issue. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down and would like to offer some assistance with your online order. I can see how disappointing it is purchase a bike, to have issues with the bike, and receive poor customer service while trying to rectify the situation. We would the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact your with possible options to resolve this matter in a timely manner. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the tires were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (kingpin) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.

Social Media Moderator

Larry M
#574257

still waiting, no word from sears for the last 2 months after being told it was being taken care of.

View more comments (1)
With Official Company Response
Review
#362306 Review #362306 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$211

Sears - black friday tv's online are ghosts?

I do not understand what is wrong with sears website. I ordered TV on Black Friday night online and got confirmation but in the end the order was cancelled. It was my first experience with buying at sear's. Now I know having a note under your order: "Merchandise availability and pricing are not guaranteed" MEANS A LOT. Sears ruined my Black Friday as I could get tv in another store. I was really silly of me not to search for more information about sears in internet first....If you are reading this you are probably smart and decided to search before ordering. :)
View full review
4 comments
David
Sears Response
#576292

Dear Concerned from Past,

I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear that we have let you down with your online purchase. I understand how frustrating it is to order through our website and find out the order has been cancelled. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your experience and monitor your refund. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the snow blower is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Concerned from Past) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any inconvenience we have caused and we hope to talk to you

Thank you,

Liz R

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

David
Sears Response
#576286

tyvyigralpriz

Please accept our sincere apologies for the troubles you have experienced your online order. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I understand how frustrating it can be to purchase an item and the order was cancelled. We would like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to discuss your recent experience. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number the item was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (tyvyigralpriz) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support

Anonymous
#573670

I placed an order through Sears.com for snow blower and a 32" TV. received confirmation that they received my order.

Today I receive a noticed that I can pickup my order from my Sears store but only the TV. It appears they canceled my order for the snow blower as they were out of stock. The web page still indicated 2 were in stock so I called the store and they said their computer said they had 6 in stock. So I asked him to hold one and I would go pick up.

he said he couldn't as the price would be different since I was ordering online. I asked if he could confirm if it was really in stock so he did. But he could not physically find one.

So I called customer service and asked if it was discontinued or what and why did they cancel the order. Other stores said they did not have in stock but stated could be delivered in 4 to 7 days.

I asked about this and she could not answer. I asked to speak to someone of higher authority that could answer but she would not connect me.

So I asked about the TV and she said that it was ready to be picked up. I told her I was not happy with the way Sears is running their online service and I decided to cancel the TV.

I was informed that I had already been billed for it . I asked how could I be billed for something that I did not possess yet. She said that is Sears policy.

She also informed me it would take up to 2 weeks to credit my account for this TV that I did not posses yet. I've decided i am not to give Sears my business any more and bought both snow blower & TV from different companies.

okinc10
#573549

that happened to me twice when trying to purchase a DYSON Animal vac. I ended up going to the store and they said I didnt have an order and I had to buy in the store and show them proof in order to be refunded...Wont do that again.

View more comments (3)
With Official Company Response
Review
#362249 Review #362249 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
Loss
$500