Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears- bad service/WORSE CUSTOMER SUPPORT

On 10/22/12, I ordered a part over the phone for my dryer from Sears and paid for expedited shipping and should have had part in 3 days. The woman on the phone put wrong address & wrong name on the order and it was not delivered by UPS and returned to Sears Parts. There was no call back or follow up by Sears. On 10/31/12 i called Sears and they eventually acknowledged it was their error, explaining the wrong address and name part and they would have the part shipped to my by 11/8/12. I explained i had paid for expedited shipping and this was unacceptable especially since it was their error and I am traveling on orders this Saturday. I asked to speak to a supervisor who may be able to authorize getting this part to me faster. I was the transferred to a "supervisor" named SHAYLENE who;1- did not let me explain the situation and consistently interrupted me, 2- did not try to resolve the situation and continued with she cannot get a part to me any faster, and 3- had and attitude and a tone towards me (SEARS CUSTOMER) that was not justified nor called for. I had to stop her mid interruption and asked to listen to herself and the tome she used with the customer. SHAYLENE advised there is no way the part could be sent any faster and even though it was Sears' mistake, I had to wait 8 more days for the part. When asked to speak to her supervisor, she would only give the corporate address and told me to write a letter. When asked for details from my order and the names of the persons involved with mishandling the order, she advised that is proprietary information and not allowed to give it out. So, I assume that Sears must condone the mishandling of orders, lack of follow up by their employees, rude and disrespectful treatment by their supervisors, the run around of 2+ hours of several calls to different departments trying to resolve this and lodge a complaint and still can not get the part I need expedited to me. I have a hard time believing Sears, a major company in the United States, when they make and error causing a long delay in getting a needed part to a customer who already paid for said part and expedited shipping, does not have the ability to get the part shipped over night to that customer with an apology instead of another week delay and rude discourteous treatment. I buy all my appliances at my local Sears as well as other major purchases but with the treatment i received this evening, I should take my business elsewhere and not recommend Sears to anyone, including those I work with. James jjm336@comcast.net
View full review
Review
#355836 Review #355836 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$50
With Official Company Response

SEARS: cannot get them to fix my lemon fridge

WE BOUGHT A FRIDGE FROM SEARS IN JAN. 2012 WITH THEM TO DELIVER AND SETUP, FIRST THEY DELIVERD BUT SAID THEY COULD NOT SET UP BECAUSE THEY DID NOT HAVE THE CORRECT STUFF WITH THEM TO DO IT AND WE NOTICED THAT THE DOORS HAD DENT MARKS IN THEM HE SAID TO JUST CALL IT IN, SO WE HAD TO HOOK UP OUR OWN FRIDGE AND CALL THEM TO REPLACE DOORS. SO AFTER A MONTH THEY CALLED TO SAY DOORS WERE IN AND THEY CAME TO REPLACE AND LEFT OLD ONES LAYING IN OUR HOUSE FOR US TO DISPOSE OF AND THE NEW DOORS DID NOT HAVE A SEAL AROUND THEM AT ALL, SO WE CALLED THEM BACK AND IT WAS GONNA TAKE THEM 2 WEEKS TO GET BACK OUT TO PUT SEALS ON OUR DOORS. WE THEN HAVE BEEN NOTCING THAT IT IS NOT KEEPING COOL AND HAVE CALLED TO HAVE SOMEONE COME LOOK AT IT 2 TIMES NOW AND BOTH TIMES THEY HAVE NOT SHOWED UP AND WHEN I HAVE CALLED TO SEE WHAT IS GOING ON THE FIRST TIME EXCUSE WAS OUR GUY GOT SICK, AND THEY COULD GIVE ME NO REASON WHY NO ONE BOTHERED TO CALL US, SO THEN IT TOOK ME 2 WEEKS TO GET ANOTHER APPT. AND THEY DID NOT SHOW UP WHEN I CALLED THIE EXCUSE THIS TIME WAS INCLEMENT WEATHER AND AGAIN NO CALL TO SAY THEY WERE NOT COMING. I HAVE CALLED TO COMPLAIN AND GET NOWHERE BUT WE WILL MAKE YOU ANOTHER APPT., WELL IM TIRED OF MESSING WITH THEM I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK AND I NEVER WANT TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH SEARS AGAIN BUT THEY WILL NOT DO THAT AND TELL ME THAT IT IS MY PROBLEM AND NOT THERES AND WE WILL SET UP ANOTHER APPT. WHERE IS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT SEARS USED TO HAVE I OWN ALOT OF SEARS PRODUCTS BUT NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY ANOTHER ONE. I NOW UNDERSTAND WHEY SEARS ARE GOING OUT OF BUSINESS AND THEY DESERVE TO WITH THIS KIND OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.
View full review
2 comments
TreatUsRight
#586702

Buyer beware. We've had this Kenmore frig for 11 months and it keeps breaking.

There's a fan/motor assembly that begins making a grinding noise, graduating up to the sound of a B1 Bomber before it finally quits. We get error code ER 1F and Ice melts down the door. We have the extended warranty, but because THREE of the incidents haven't occurred within 60 days of each other, Sears won't honor the lemon clause. Researching on the Web, I see others have similar problems ...

and no help from Sears.

I contacted the Escalations team and was called back by Angie, a manager, who is not willing to help. Our escalation case number is 1188893.

If Sears truly does care, I'd appreciate your help in replacing this defective unit. I will email your Advisor.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#562640

Dear scrapbookmom,

Hello my name is Jay and am part of the Sears Social Media escalation team. Please accept our apologies for the chaos that has resulted from your refrigerator experience. I definitely understand your frustration surrounding the missed appointments and no shows on our part. I know everyone has a busy life to lead and no one’s time should be wasted like this. I am very sorry for any inconvenience we have caused you and for the time we caused you to lose. We would like to put you in contact with one of our dedicated case managers to help sort this out and put an end to your frustration.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be troubled by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the refrigerator was originally purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the customer name (scrapbookmom355525 ) listed on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jay C.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#355525 Review #355525 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2900
With Official Company Response
We bought our home with brand new appliances in it on December 15, 2011. The developer of our home bought the fridge on July 10, 2011. No one had ever used them until we moved into the house. We noticed from Day 1 that the fridge RAN MUCH LOUDER than we'd expect a...
View full review
2 comments
bustedfridgeinMN
#576012

Well, very shortly after posting here, Sears contacted me and to make a long story short, they offered to buy us a new fridge and refund our money for the service plan and repair. I was very pleased with the way the resolution was handled in the end, as we now have a different fridge model and we love it!

View more comments
Review
#355348 Review #355348 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair

Sears portrait was a complete waste of my time

i have a complaint about the sears portrait studio in holyoke, ma. as a first time mom with twins, i was very excited to get portraits done. my babies were almost 11 months at the time and i had been checking out studios and capitalizing on offers they had so i could see if i wanted to continue to go there. since my plan is to get portraits done at least once a year (we have family in new york, friends all over the country and of course grandparents and aunts and uncles want pictures). at the time you guys had a promotion for a free 10x30. i figured that'd be perfect! i could get a family picture of just our heads, it'd look cute and i could see if i wanted to stick with sears for pictures. so i made an appointment. well, i got there and waited for someone to acknowledge us and after a few minutes of standing there with workers around, some helping others, some doing... i have no idea what. a woman yells to us from another room asking what we need. i let her know we have an appointment and she said she'd be right there. which lead to more waiting for about half an hour. finally when someone came to check us in, she let us know that the 10x30 was only for one person but perhaps they could squeeze in both of my babies. so the family photo was out. after that, we were made to wait even longer! we sat there for at least an hour. my kids started getting cranky, tired and hungry. even though we packed snacks for them, they wanted to nap and play. had i knew, this appointment, would take so long, i wouldn't have even bothered. but i was very optimistic it'd be worth the waiting time. after what felt like an eternity, we finally got into the photo studio. my daughter was tired and pissed off and wouldn't smile... not that the photographer tried all that hard beyond making a few noises. my son was adorable as can be, but was getting teeth in and drooling a lot. we took his bib off right before he went in front of the camera, but ended up with a big wet spot on his shirt anyway. there was some cute poses and the session wrapped up pretty quickly. we waited for another 45 minutes so we could see the prints (customers before us came right out of the session and was able to view theirs so i found that interesting and we were the only ones in there after our session). we went through them and none of my daughter's pictures were good and although my son looked cute, the huge drool spot on his shirt was the first thing you saw. i was later told by someone that they could've edited that out, no one at the studio offered this or even mentioned it. we chose the photos we liked and paid for extra. we were told everything would be ready in a week. a week later, i dropped by. i live 20 minutes away, so this is no small trip, especially with twins. the pictures we paid for were ready but not the free 10x30. i was told, i'd get a call when it arrived and was ready. i never got any call and a month later, i decided to call them and see if it was there and they forget to let me know. i called and the phone rang and rang and then disconnected. thinking it was my phone, i called again. it rang and rang and rang and rang. finally someone picked up and i told her i was calling to see if my portrait was ready. she said she'd be right with me. i sat on the phone for half an hour. i could clearly hear the workers talking to other customers and talking amongst themselves and doing absolutely nothing. so i figured i had to stop by the next day and ask. again, very inconvenient for me. i went in there and right away a worker saw me and had the print ready, handed it over and that was it. no thank you, no sorry, no nothing. i was very unhappy with my experience to the point of, i feel like it's not even worth the free print. which we don't even have hanging up in our house because it's of such poor quality. and they said it was the only one that would fit for the 10x30 so we had no other choices. obviously, i won't be back but i feel i should let you know that your awesome promotions are being wasted. sears could have easily gotten a regular customer who is willing to spend a fair amount of money on great portraits and instead i won't ever go back even for freebies and will let everyone know of my experience. ***tried to send this exact message to sears and it says message not valid. even their online customer service is no help.***
View full review
Review
#354920 Review #354920 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

No service from Sears

I have been a customer of sears for 35 years and I guess as with all things this will end. I purchased a top end Samsung steam washer and dryer 9 months ago and I am now having an issue with the dryer. I called Sears repair and started the repair process. They sent me an email conformation number of 000803540918343 and followed it up with a conformation phone call. After I waited all day for the service tech I called the service unit it find out the status and this is where everything when south. I was told that the service call was canceled the day before and I would have to reschedule. This would have been fine if they would have called to let me know but they did not. The next appointment was a week later but we are going on vacation the day before the next appointment. I try to explain this to the off shore call center but they keep insisting on setting the new repair date to a day that I would be out of town. This included 4 disconnects, 5 different centers, 12 representatives, 2.5 hours, 0 apologies and very little faith that the next repair date would be different than the last. I setup a repair though Samsung's website which issued me a repair ticket with a different service center that is not affiliated with Sears. I spend several thousand dollars with Sears each year. This was not due to price but with the unfounded belief that they would service what they sale. Well silly me, now that bubble is popped I will not be spending a single dollar with Sears unless I have to. My business may not mean much to Sears but 3K per year for 35 years is about 100 thousand dollars. To most businesses this would be a big deal but I will go out of my way and even pay extra to not give Sears any more of my business.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#561582

Dear Hartgw,

My name is Jay and I am part of the Social Media Support team at Sears and I am very concerned about what I have read here. We are truly sorry for the trouble and inconvenience that you have encountered with your service appointment and our customer service. We understand the importance of your time and your money that you spend with us and in our stores. We would like to look further into what has happen surrounding this service order and see what can be done to correct any mistakes that may have been made to help minimize your frustrations. At your convenience, please send us an email to smadvisor@searshc.com providing a contact phone number and the phone number that the dryer unit was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (Hartgw or reference number 354912 ) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jay C.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team.

Review
#354912 Review #354912 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears changing an expensive mattress for a cheap one at the same price point

I had a problem with a Kingsdown mattress purchased from Sears that costs us $2200. Sears replaced with a like mattress which we have paid the same price for and it was changed. 18 months later we have discovered that the mattress is a Riverstone II and this one is much worse. We had sagging and bunching problems right away.. say after 6 months... not only is this bad enoough... but we have just discovered this bed retails for $269 and we were charged $1954 by Sears for the same mattress. Law suit? How can they justify this? Not only do we have a poor quality product.. but they now us the difference of $1000... lets see if Sears will stand by their actions.
View full review
Review
#354911 Review #354911 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1954

Sears delivery does suck, worse ever of anyone

my dishwasher from sears was delivered on 10/13/12. they called friday night and gave me a time window of 3:15 to 5:15. Sat. morning at 7:14 AM I get another call saying my delivery will be between 3:15 to 5:15 and if they are running late the would call me------5:30 PM comes and no delivery. They finaly show up around 6:00 flying around the curve. . The installer comes in on Monday 10/15/12 to install the dishwasher, they have taken out the old one and took the new one out the box to find that the front was all bent in. they rescheduled another delivery-10/27/12 for 11:00-1:00---it's 2:12PM and they still made it---now the installing will have to be rescheduling-----another wasted weekend and wasted evening. never will buy anything I can't put in my car and take home myself from SEARS!
View full review
Review
#354720 Review #354720 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600
With Official Company Response

Sears

Bought a treadmill in April 2011. Upon delivery it did not work. Waited three weeks for repair. June 2011 it failed again. Waited three weeks for repair. April 2012 it failed again. Waited three weeks for repair. September 2012 it failed again and stopped working on the day it was serviced. Have waited over a month for service. Service scheduled for today between 8 AM and 12 PM--Sears called at 10:50 am to let me know no one was coming. Called customer escalation line--was put on hold after explaining the problem and then cut off. Will be proceeding to small claims court on Monday get all of my money back. I live in a remote area and I am pretty sure no one from Sears will show up to contest it--and people wonder why Sears is going out of business. I feel sorry for the hourly folks that have to put up with angry customers like me when the Sears system with its $7.5 million CEO is an epic fail.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#561991

Dear webster678,

I saw your post here and I want to apologize for the difficulty you’ve had with your tractor. I can understand how frustrating it is when something you purchased does not perform as expected. We would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you and work towards a resolution. My name is Dianne with Sears Social Media Escalations Team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns such as yours. At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a personal case manager will reach out to you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number so that we can call you directly, the phone number the treadmill was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number), and please do include your user name (webster678) for reference to your issue. Again, I apologize for all the inconvenience you’ve experienced with this and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Dianne D.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#354697 Review #354697 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$1700
Tags
  • Small claims court
With Official Company Response

SEARS-DON'T BUY!!

I purchased an item from Sears...well oddly enough I tried to post a review on Sears.com..but oddly, it keeps kicking me off when I have finished my review. So, I will post here...don't buy from Sears...EVER.. item will not be received when told, item will not be what it says it is...(many posts on here regarding that)--in short, just stick with AMAZON...Don't buy from SEARS!!! NEVER EVER!!! I could have drove to the Sears warehouse long before I received the item...heck, long before the item ever left the warehouse....just don't buy from Sears!
View full review
2 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#561643

My name is Tony and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team at the executive office. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the troubles that you have had with your online order. I can certainly understand your frustration with the delay in getting the item delivered to you. Furthermore, the disappointment that you must have felt is certainly understandable.

We recognize that we have let you down in this particular situation and we apologize for that. As a valued Sears’ customer, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further and work on your behalf to ensure that this matter is resolved to your complete satisfaction.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the item is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (354452) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Tony T.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

SearsCares
Sears Response
#561616

Dear Anonymous354452,

My name is Jay and I am part of the Social Media Support team at Sears and I am very concerned about what I have read here. We are truly sorry for the trouble and inconvenience that you have encountered with the item you ordered and our service. We understand the importance of our customer's options and we strive to provide the best possible shopping experience we can for everyone. I see that we fell short and let you down in this matter. We would like to look further into what has happen surrounding this order and see what can be done to correct any mistakes that may have been made to help minimize your frustrations. At your convenience, please send us an email to smadvisor@searshc.com providing a contact phone number and the phone number that the item was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (Anonymous354452 or reference number 354452) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Jay C.

Social Media Moderator

Social Media Support Team.

View more comments (1)
Review
#354452 Review #354452 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$168
Here are the emails and the exec phone for the big wigs at Sears! let them know how you feel over and over...maybe they will realize they have a problem? Louis J. D'Ambrosio, CEO/ President ld'ambrosio@searshc.com Ronald D. Boire, Exec VP, ...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#842481

Has very very bed experience with protection department, re:case #2606428. You have very unprofessional employees, I was hanged up twice yesterday because they didn't want to help me.

Review
#354274 Review #354274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2500