Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears- Kenmore Refrigerators

We purchased a two door Kenmore frig with a 5 year guarantee. Last year, after the warantee had run out the freezer stopped making ice. When I called the service department I was connected to somebody in another Country who told me the charge would be $85.00. The serviceman arrived and after removing the old icemaker he gave my husband a bill for $386.00. At that time my husband gave him a credit card and paid him. Here we are not even a year later and the icemaker is broken once more. What do we do now? We will never buy from Serars or any Kenmore product again.
View full review
Review
#316328 Review #316328 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card

Sears is rude

I drove to seasrs for a hour in heavy traffic. I needed a hedge trimmer. It showed in stock. When I got there I could get no one to help me. I ran someone down. The trimmer I wanted was out of stock. I asked if they could sub another. They looked at me like I was crazy!!!! I asked for a supervisor....They sent one over...Supe#1, Ill have to get approval, she paged one, after 10 min. she showed up....Supe # 2 I can't do anything w/o a manager approval. Supe# 3...I cant do anything for you!!!! I now have investd over a hour in the store. She finally agreed to take 10% off another one.....Guess what! The other one was already on sale (not tagged on sale)....And we came out the same. The last two supes. were RUDE>>> and would not Listen to what I was saying. They were so QUICK!! to say I can't do anything...before looking at thier options. What is it about Sears that promotes rudness? I retired from Sears after 33 years.... Guess what, we would do whatever it took to take care of the customer.
View full review
Review
#316227 Review #316227 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sears Home Services Same-Day Guarantee is Fraud

We need a new water heater. The repair company we had been working with all week to see if ours could be fixed could not get one installed until tomorrow. I called Sears to see if they could have one installed today instead. After the sales rep checked my address and what size and type of water heater we need (and me being on hold for a long time), he came back and said great news, we have two different types of water heaters available in your area that can be installed today. I verified that if I proceed, the water heater will in fact be installed today. He double checked and said yes. So, I gave him my cc number and purchased on through Sears. I canceled the other one that was scheduled for delivery tomorrow. I had been told that I would recieve a call within 1-3 hours with a time that the water heater would be isntalled. After 3 hours of not hearing anything, I called to check in. At that point I was told that I live in a market where same-day installation is not possible. This is where I start to have major problems with the way Sears conducts business: 1. I gave the sales rep my ADDRESS, including city, state and zip, so that he could verify that same-day installation was in fact available for me. He supposedly checked on this, and I was told that it was available. 2. The same-day installation was THE ONLY REASON I chose to purchase our water heater through Sears. The fact that they told me this was guaranteed and it turned out not to be was total fraud. They told me what I wanted to hear to get the sale. 3. The "manager" I spoke with to discuss my extreme dissatisfaction with their fraud, said she understood my frustration (speaking right off of her script, I assume) and would be able to send me a $50 gift card to make things better. When I went into detail again about how if I am told something will be installed on a certain day and that is the reason I agree to purchase it through a specific company, I expect their end of the agreement to be upheld. At the point of the sale, when the sales rep is given my address, they should have all of the information necessary to determine what delivery/installation options are available. The "manager" told me that the sales reps did not have access to information about a city permit in my market (a top 30 DMA in the US). That is not my fault. It's actually not the sales rep's fault either, but it is SEARS' FAULT. They are knowingly not equipping their sales staff with the adequate information to provide customers with the services they offer. They are committing fraud by guaranteeing services to get sales that they can not hold up. In the end, the "manager" offered to take $50 off my bill when the water heater is eventually installed. That is not enough - without their fraudulent behavior, they never would have gotten our $700+ business to begin with. 4. When I googled Sears customer reviews, I couldn't believe all of the negative and similar things that I read. It's clear that Sears does not care about their customers. Perhaps that is why they're facing massive store closings and other issues.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#474825

The night mare continues. After being told by the sales rep at 1-800-6420 that the installer would call me by 6pm today to tell me when my water heater would be delivered tomorrow, I had to call them at 630pm to get the information.

After the customer service rep puts me on hold and seems to not be able to get a hold of the installer, he finally connects me with someone who works there. She tells me that the WH will be installed tomorrow between 1-5pm. A lovely four-hour window in the middle of the day - and more than 24 hours after the initial purchase that included SAME DAY INSTALLATION.

When I expressed my frustration to this woman (I know it's not her fault, but her company is contracted by Sears so she should know how horrible they are), she replied, "Well for this order, we have to go out to West Mifflin to pick it up." Sorry, West Mifflin is 15 minutes AT MOST from my house. Sorry for the inconvenience of doing business with you.

I have no hope that the water heater will be installed tomorrow. Maybe they'll surprise me?

Review
#316089 Review #316089 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response
i bought a chainsaw from sears a little over a year ago i had trouble from the get go with it and sent it in for service and they fixed it and sent it back well i go to use it again and guess what it does the same thing run a couple of minutes and dies and wont start...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#474259

leave it to sears to use a computer to leave automated responses to post the reflect poorly towards them

hey Stephanie L

read my post my name phone number and complaint reference number is in it you can earn earn your nice fat salary by contacting me i have no desire to get on the phone with the dog and pony show you call customer service and talk to 4 people how cant speak English well enough to order a pizza but think they are some how smarter than me just to get the someone will call you within 24 hours so if you want to talk to me either pick up the phone and call me or you can come see me in person when i'm sitting outside your store

s.... ***

e.... employs

a.... and

r.... retarded

s.... supervisors

View more comments
Review
#315868 Review #315868 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$180

Sears apparently HATES it's customers!

I sent the following letter to sears, recieved a automated reply that I would get a response in three days. Never get a call or anything, ended up having to call back for ANOTHER issue was transfered around to five different people before finally getting to the WRONG department, was then told that I would get a call back in 24 hours and that was over a week ago and I of course have heard nothing!!! To whom is may concern; My husband and I closed on our new home on Monday March 12, 2012. We promptly went to you store in Gurnee Illinois to buy the new appliances and equipment that we needed for this new house. We had purchased all of our appliances in this store for our previous home and expected to have the same great service that we had at that time. While we were in the store we had great customer service everyone was very helpful from price matching to setting up delivery of our new Samsung HE washer and dryer and Craftsman riding lawnmower with bag. When it came to delivery your company did not come anywhere NEAR meeting our expectations, and the warranty department that we had to contact to get these things corrected was also nowhere NEAR as epithetic as I believe they should have been. When the washer and dryer were set up the individuals that did this on March 17, 2012 LEFT THE SHIPPING BOLTS IN THE WASHER! When we contacted the customer service line we were shoved off to warranty in not so nice of a manner. Once we were in contact with your warranty department they stated that "oh it must be the shipping bolts that are causing you not to be able to level your washer, this is common.". This issue may be common but very uncalled for. Isn't this something that should be checked at every delivery? Aren't there shipping bolts in all equipment to SHIP them to the homes? We were then informed that it would be a WEEK before anyone could be sent out to rectify this. I find this quite ridiculous, YOUR company sends out delivery men that do not do their job and WE have to suffer a WEEK before anyone can come out. Because of this we had to spend almost $40 to take our clothes to a Laundromat that is more than the measly $30 gift card we were offered for "our trouble." We have two children and two dogs, we CANNOT afford to go a WEEK without a washer and dryer On to the riding mower, this was delivered the same day, my husband and two of our very intelligent friends tried to use this mower. At first it would turn on and only go about a half mile an hour, after reading the manual AGAIN they tried it out again and this time the mower would not move. AGAIN we called customer service, they sent us to warranty and they said no one could come out till March 27, 2012. This time OVER a week, YOUR company sends us faulty equipment and we are forced to house it and not be able to mow our lawn for over a WEEK? We had a reception for our children's baptism at our home this past Sunday March 25, 2012 and were unable to clear or mow our lawn before had because of this. This is horrible business. I have informed ALL of my friends of this situation and also anyone that I'm speaking to that the conversation turns in that direction. I would love to be able to go back to these individuals and explain how well your organization rectified this matter after the fact. On the 27th we were given a new mower. We were informed by the delivery person that the mower was in fact defective. So again we had defective equipment housed in our garage for OVER a week this is unacceptable! I do not believe that our situation was resolved in an appropriate way. After spending over $4000 at a store I expect to receive items that work. I would expect someone to be at my home within 48 HOURS to fix these items if they are faulty. I expect customer service to offer something more than a gift card for less than 1% of the purchase price of my items. I expect a timely response to this letter with a MUCH better resolution; I believe that a refund of ATLEASAT 10% of the purchase price of these items is appropriate; a refund for the $40 we had to spend at the Laundromat and a sincere apology for these issues and stress this has caused our family. Sincerely, Sarah and Joshua Grubbs
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#473729

Stephanie,

I will contact the area that you reccomend. But this is almost too little too late at this point. I have never been dealt such HORRIBLE customer service. If My issue is not resolved this time I will continue to make everyone aware of the issue this caused me so that other consumers are not put through the torture that I have been for buying items at Sears.

Sarah

SearsCares
#473719

Dear Segrubbs,

My name is Stephanie L. and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We have just come across your post and it has caused concern. We would first like to extend our deepest apology for any poor delivery service you have received. It is very understandable to expect stellar service especially after making such a large purchase. We would also like to apologize for the poor customer service, we expect our agents to build customer relationships and it does not seem this happened. We would like to contact you and further discuss your experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer, dryer, and riding lawn mower was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name Segrubbs you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#315652 Review #315652 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Dallas, Texas - Lied about warranty

The tech lied 3 times why they would not cover warranty. I gave them a tiller that was less than a year old. Yers it was rusted on the out side. 1st they said the oil/gas mixture was wrong and the motor was locked up. I told then that was funny since the 4 cylinder did not require oil/gas mixture. 2nd was then your oil wear low in crank case. I tol;d them that was the first thing I checked. I only used the tiller once and the oil was fine. 3rd it was rusted, there had to be water in the oil. It must have been left out in the weather. I said NO it was in the shed out of the weather. HERE is the deal. Yes I have a pool. Yes I clean it with Muriatic Acid was stored in the same areas as the tiller. The point is that it's not that they did not cover it. It is that if you have a warranty they will LIE to get out of it. I just bought a $1000 worth of sears tools really thinking about returning them and I sure will be canceling the extra warranty that I bought with those tools. COME ON, JUST BE HONEST!!!! I am thinking about posting on Facebook about "DO NOT BUY WARRANTY FROM SEARS" RIPOFF!!!!!!
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#474125

Hello Phowe@christchurchfw.com,

We are sorry to hear about the problems that you are experiencing with Sears service. We can only imagine the frustration this has caused you and your family. It is our goal to get your tiller to run properly when servicing and to exceed your expectations. This clearly has not been done for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you. My name is Robert and I work for the Social Media Support Team. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the tiller was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Phowe@christchurchfw.com) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Robert B.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#473415

Just wondering how it got rusty if it was kept in a shed out of the weather.

IHateStupidCustomers
#473413

what I'm getting from this is that you wanted to blame Sears for your dumbness and then lie about it. why should they cover rust that you caused?

View more comments (2)
Review
#315352 Review #315352 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Fayetteville, North Carolina - Lied to

My over the range microwave went out. I have an extended warranty. Sears honors it but the amount of time wasted in not being able to go to work and being lied to because the technician never showed up, then lied to a computer that he must've punched in to say no one was home, having to reschedule twice because I was lied to about the time the technician showed up, which cost more lost wages, is not worth it. I could have purchased a new one and come out cheaper. Jesses James had a gun! To top it off every person I spoke to had an accent that made me think they were from China and would not allow me to speak to a supervisor.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#473705

Dear Anonymous,

My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team, we have just come across your post and wanted to reach out. Please accept our apologies for the troubles you’ve had with the repair of your over the range microwave. We understand your time is valuable and multiple missed service appointments are never acceptable. We would like to contact you and look further into this, and to also go over the options we have to assist. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the microwave was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name Anonymous / 314868 you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#314868 Review #314868 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Our Washer broke, went out shopping for a new one. After spending 30 min at local sears, opening machines, reading prices, looking around, no salesperson came over. In the midst of looking a group of 3 pass by us twice without asking if we needed help. Went to Home...
View full review
6 comments
Anonymous
#481683

it took 5 years to get them to replace my washer then they charged me several times for a maintenance agreement that i did not want that added up to 5000 ive had a lien on my house now for way over that because i refuse to pay it. for that price i could buy 20 washers. not to mention the rude phone calls i received from them for years :(

View more comments
Review
#314345 Review #314345 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1

Sears =terrible company

Sears.ca had a glitch on their website on 04/13/2012 where they had 40' Toshiba TVS for $219 when they should have been $599. I called and ordered 3 and they were shipped. I called numerous times to confirm my order and when I called on Wednesday to see if it was in, they told me there was an error and they had SHIPPED THEM BACK TO THE STORE!! I called and emailed and was told too bad, it was wrong and that i had to pay full price if I wanted it. They emailed me a link to their "disclaimer" on their website and what a load of BS. I had to select "ctrl+f" and search "errors" to find out exactly what they were talking about. They tried to give me a $50 giftcard for the hassel and I told them where to go. Other customers in the same city as me got theirs, it all depended if it was a drop--off location or a Sears store. Next time, I'll run to futureshop and price match and walk out with my tvs thank you very much. I will NEVER deal with sears again.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#471677

Wow you are a piece of work as you know it was a pricing error and instead of ordering one you got greedy and ordered three. Good for Sears not giving you any.

Maybe next time you will not be so greedy and may receive the one you ordered like myself. So Sears did honour this mistake and sold me the TV's for $219 and I hope anyone who ordered more than one did not receive any for being so greedy.

Anonymous
#470904

hey everyone here is what you do if in case u are stuck going to buy at Sears, get the most out of it. 1st) do your research compare pricing with other.

they match any advertised price on the same product plus usually give another 10% off. 2nd) ask for free delivery hhgregg does it all year every other week. 3rd) wait for it to com to your house be at the truck when the delivery guys show up chances is that the box will open, they what you call open to check for damages which is kinda a waste since they call you the day before to let you know there coming. now you have rescheduled your day to get the delivery then they don't send out your delivery, not to mention the don't call you till late in the day (or no call at all) to tell you that it's not coming for what ever the lie is; but if it does come out undamaged it's still an open box item cause it's to be open in front of you.

so now that you understand that you can now u can ask for an additional 20% off for the open box item( and yes it's still new but it's about the savings).4th and is the greatest you've just stuck it to Sears.

oh if they don't wanna give you 20% ask for a free 5 year extended warranty. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW

View more comments (1)
Review
#314307 Review #314307 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Livingston, New Jersey - The burner on Elite range keeps burning out

The center ring on my burner keeps burning out. The service man is very nice and caring but the problem is not solved. We bought the stove but did not put it in service for several months as we were building a home. I actually cooked on the stove about 6 months then it went out. It was replaced and then I only cooked on it about 5 months and it went out again. Thank goodness for the expensive service contract. The customer service rep was not kind but I wasn't either. He told me to read my contract and although it took 5 calls to fix it that only counts as one. In order to qualify for the lemon replacement it must burn out four times in 12 months. We winter away from our home for 3 months each year so that is hard to do. One thing about it. Don't buy a $1999. stove from Sears and expect it to work. Although it has the Sears name the rep told me Sears has nothing to do with it or its parts. Nice to know.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#470654

Dear Anonymous,

Please accept our apologies for the problems you are having with your range. I certainly understand your frustration with having the technician to your home five times to repair the same issue. My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Support team. We are a single point of contact for escalated issues which means that we handle an issue start to finish with one dedicated case manager. We would like to look into this situation further and offer our assitance to help resolve the issue with your range. We want to make sure that everything that can be done for you is being done.

At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the range was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (PC314295) I have assigned you for this website, for reference to your issue. We do look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#314295 Review #314295 is a subjective opinion of poster.