Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears in Dale, Indiana - Terrible service

Paid $1,200 for stainless steel oven from Castleton Mall store in Indianapolis 1/27/2012 for delivery 2/21. On 2/20 Sears calls to say Frigidare has notified them they no longer make it in stainless--this after more than three weeks from purchase and the day before delivery. Appliance dept. manager "in a meeting" and too busy to talk. Customer service no help at all. They say it will take 10 days for me to get a refund, meaning that I won't have the money to buy another oven from someone else until Sears pays me back. After all their years in business, you'd think they would have learned something about customer service by now. But maybe they don't want to stay in business. I, for one, do not intend to ever buy from Sears again. I'm putting my house on the market and specifically need stainless steel. I was clear about that at time of purchase. Now the whole process has been delayed for weeks because of Sears' gross incompetence. They should coordinate with their vendors to make sure this never happens. But I bet they won't, because they don't care.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#453529

Sequel: Turned out the Sears clerk entered the model number for another brand, another type of oven and at another price. She was very courteous and seemed trying to do her best.

However, her manager was too busy to see me, didn;t offer to call me, or make any other gesture.

I ended up getting the oven I wanted for less at HH Gregg, ironically from a former Sears appliance salesperson who couldn't stand to work there any more. I haven't been in a Sears store since and someone should smack me upside the head if I ever do again.

Review
#298654 Review #298654 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager
With Official Company Response

Sears Does Not Follow Through!!

OK...this is the 3rd review that I have written about Sears on this website. The past two times, I got responses from Stephani, Tricia B., and Susan R. stating that they are so sorry for the inconvenience, trouble, and frustration I've had due to my situation. If anyone wants details about this, please check my other posts. This review NOW pertains to the lack of follow through on customer service's part. I have had at least 20 emails back and forth with them and they have all told me that my problem has been referred to a specialist who would contact me within 24 hrs, 72 hrs, etc. My last email sent to smsupport@searshc.com was on 2-13-12. I still have not heard from anyone from Sears. Sears has been around for a long time and used to be the place to shop. All of my appliance are from there. All of my husband's tools are from there. All of our yard equipment is from there. And the thanks that I receive for being a loyal, long-time customer are broken promises. This problem has been going on since AUGUST 2011!!!!!!! So if you are reading this and wondering if you should shop at Sears, my answer would be an emphatic NO!!!!!!! Unless you want to be lied to, cheated out of, or just want a good kick in the teeth I would steer clear of Sears!!
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433635

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I see you have been in contact via e-mail with Sears customer service, but not the case manger? I would like to send this to the assigned case manger. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com with your name and contact information and we will look into this, we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#298624 Review #298624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
Loss
$228
With Official Company Response

Sears Lawnmower - Never Again!

Bought a $300 premium gas mower in April, 2011. This is the second one I have purchased from Sears in 3 years. It would not start today. I brought it in and was informed that I would be responsible for parts, labor and shipping(!) tio get it repaired. I did not buy the extended warranty and was told at the tiome opf purchase that I had a 90 day return and 1 year repair warranty that was included. They would not honor that today. They actually told me it was a Craftsman product and I would neeed to contact them to make arrangements to have it repaired but that I would pay the cost. In the past 3 years I have purchase 2 lawnmowers, one freezer, over $1,000 in hand and electrical tools, an air compressor and some misc.stuff. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM AGAIN! I have been a credit card customer for over 30 years. This wil be the end. When I told them (in pwerson) that I have been a great customer and just want the lawnmower fixed, they could care less. Fine. Two way street. They obviously don't care about a loyal customer, so I no longer care about supporting them. And i will make sure to tell everyone I know to steer clear of sears.
View full review
2 comments
arty
#541532

I bought an extended warranty for $600.00 and got the run around when trying to get parts to fix it. BTW...the mower cost over $3000.00 and broke down after 6 months. If they had sent the parts when I had first called, then it would have been fixed and I would not have been put through almost getting injured by this inferior lawn mower!

SearsCares
Sears Response
#433619

Dear Swenson,

My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I have just read your post and would like to apologize for any poor customer service you may have received, we can understand your frustrations and would like to speak to you and look further into this. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers to call you directly. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your lawn mower was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name “Swenson” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#298500 Review #298500 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
With Official Company Response

Sears in Frisco, Texas - Rang up wrong item, correct item out of stock

Went to Sears on Sunday, February 12, 2012 to purchase an elliptical. We hoped to take advantage of the Friends & Family discount. We were greeted by the Sales Consultant well enough. After a brief discussion, we selected the specific model, indicated the model to the Sales Consultant, and opted for the Service Agreement. It took over 20 minutes for the Sales Consultant to ring us up having to call back the Assistant Manager two times to get the discount information correct. Since the elliptical we wanted was not in stock, we had to wait until mid week to pick it up - they could ship it to the store but they could not ship it to our home. When we picked up the unit, the box was much longer and heavier than we had originally been told when deciding whether to pay for Delivery. The box just fit into our vehicle. After wrestling the box out our vehicle at home, we discovered that the Sales Consultant had rung up the wrong product! We lugged the unit back down to the store the next morning. Upon arrival, we asked to speak to the Store Manager. He was pleasant enough and understanding. He was willing to throw in a mat and free delivery to make up for the inconvenience. However, as he rang up the correct elliptical, he discovered that it was no longer in stock- anywhere - and that we would have to wait for another two weeks to receive it. Non-starter. We stressed that they needed to come up with a creative solution real fast. The Store Manager just threw up his arms saying that he couldn't sell what he didn't have. We asked for our money back and received it. Bottom line, Sears misrepresented the products they had for sale. Sears initial incompetence and ultimate incapability to resolve the situation to my satisfaction has convinced me to take my business elsewhere.
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433559

Dear Anonymous,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and it is very unfortunate that the item you originally wanted was out of stock. I can understand your disappointment. We do value you as a Sears customer and I do see that our Sears associate understood your frustrations and worked towards compensating you with the free mat and free delivery. These situations are unforeseen and we do our best to meet our customer’s needs. Thank you for your patronage, please let us know if there is anything else we can do.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#432958

Sears fan is right,you cannot stock enough of every item our you are going to be broke.Example, you try to have stock enough based on past sales. But if you purchase 10 items and only 5 sell any profit you made is tied up in the 5 you did not sell, bad business.In todays economy you have to wait on some things.It is not business of old unless you want to go broke.And don't expect something for free, Im think Sears is doing a better job of not giving away things just because someone yells a lot as they did in the past.I have a neighbor who said he was mad at Sears because they refused to replace his washer because it was worn out and the bottom has rusted away and that was not covered under his agreement,Sears told him it was time to buy a new one,he was mad because they would not replace it for free,his washer waas 13 yeaars old, he told me this will be the first washer he has had to buy since 1975, Sears has always replaced it.I told him he has been lucky and its a new world now and how could Sears stay in business if they just replaced everything.Good job Sears, P.S. He bought a new one and from Sears.

Anonymous
#432599

It was friends and family night, things get sold out,it was not like they couldn't get the product for you.You just did not want to wait.The saame thing has happened to me at other stores, Target and also Home depot. It happens,the differents is Sears was going to give you something free for your inconvience,that does not happen at all stores.

View more comments (2)
Review
#298243 Review #298243 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
With Official Company Response

Sears terrible customer service

We bought a Kenmore chest freezer in September. It worked for three months and died. So the plan to do holiday baking ahead and put it in the freezer went out the window. We called Sears service department, we had to wait two weeks for an appointment. Then they cancelled. When I called to re-schedule they said I had cancelled the appointment. So we re-schedules, the tech said the freezer could not be fixed. Since it was just over 90 days we could not get a refund. What resulted was MONTHS of fighting with the worst customer service I have ever encountered. Every person I talked with put me on hold for extended periods of time, so I had to listen to the same bar of music over and over until I wanted to scream. I think that's the plan, to make you hang up. Every person told me something different. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, I swear the lady put me on hold and then came back on the line pretending to be the supervisor. Bottom line: I will NEVER buy another appliance from Sears EVER. Customer service is very important, and Sears has next to none.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433539

Dear Laprofesora952,

I just came across your post; please accept our deepest apology for the frustrations surrounding your chest freezer. With the cancellation of the repair service and the poor customer service you received it is very understandable why you would be so discouraged to continue to shop with Sears. We do value you as a Sears customer and would like the opportunity to speak to you and turn this experience into a positive one. My name is Stephanie L. and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your chest freezer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name “Laprofesora952 ” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#298051 Review #298051 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Athens, Georgia - Lost over 175.00 and did'nt even get the order

I recently tried purchasing a TV online, first time, and of course paid the 300+ for the tv up front. I never received my order and when I brought it to their attention I was initially told that my money had been refunded. However when I checked my credit card activity I found out that my money was not refunded or even pending. I then contacted via phone and e-mail and was told a "Tracer" was placed on it and would be 5 to 8 days before anything would happen. 9th day comes and e-mailed the address given if any more problems arose and was met with a standard response stating the 5-8 days again. E-mailed again saying that I was told that same thing 9 days prior. Met with the EXACT same response as before. E-mailed again that I knew the process and it had been ten days at this point and yet again received the same response. Same response as if it were a standard reply e-mail they'd send out to everyone with a similar issue. No personal customer service at all. This went on for another 10 e-mails until I finally changed the subject heading to an all caps subject saying like 6th or 7th time I've e-mailed with no one actually readin them and actually responding with a personal response. this time I actually got one sentence that told me they had at least read the e-mail followed again by the exact same e-mail the rest had. Every one of them ending with a thank you, Have a nice day, and don't forget to check out our blah blah blah. This worked to upset me even more. I sent many more e-mails, taking time and effort on my part every time. I finally got a response and it was implied that they would compensate me for my troubles and expenses only to be lied to and screwed yet another time. Now I am not a rich person and 300+ dollars is a lot of money to me and so when I was told the refund was processed the first time I went and bought one from an actual store not knowing that I didn't have the money to cover it. So this actually cost me much more than what the tv I purchased at the store costed me. After the 5 overdraft fees I was charged at 35.00 a pop I spent another 175.00. All this I had to go through for something that was no fault of my own in any way, but because of sears. When I finally did get my refund I was only given what I spent on the TV I didn't receive and no compensation for my troubles or the money I lost in fees not to mention the embarrassment with the store and the bank. When I adressed this issue I was given another generic response followed up with a thankyou a have a nice day and of course, don't forget to check out our great deals online at...... I can only pray that this problem reaches an actual human being that can take asecond and imagine how they'd feel in my position. Sears was my favorite place to shop until this very troublesome matter. MY money was actually witthheld for a total of something like 29 days with NOTHING to show for it aside from headache embarrassment and more debt.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#430989

Popimpexpress,

We apologize for the inconvenience and distress you encountered with your recent television purchase. We know it is disappointing to have waited just about a month for your refund. My name is Zenaida and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I have been in a situation similar to this and I would like to get you in contact with one of our executive case managers.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help you with this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your television was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Popimpexpress) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue. We truly value your business and look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Zenaida M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#297442 Review #297442 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
Loss
$300
I've relocated to Australia and was happy to discover I could buy my favorite sheets at Sears online and have them shipped internationally. The Sears website lists the sheets at US $189 but as soon as I clicked "ship to Australia" the price jumped to US $229. One...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#846526

Welcome to Australia. We get ripped off in many more ways than online shopping at Sears.

No one does anything about it.

No one seems to care. *** Aussies just put up with it.

View more comments
Review
#297416 Review #297416 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
With Official Company Response
I placed an order at searsoutlet.com on Feb 1, 2012. I paid in full for the LG dryer order#2010000557 and the $200.63 delivery charge with a delivery date of February 10, 2012. Everyone I have been in contact with has been very polite and professional, however I...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#991483

Supposed to get my call yesterday with delivery time tiday--no call. Getting the runaround from different #s.

Outlet center delivery:

1-877-927-7957.

The 800 # said to call them now & assures me that they're open now... And of course, they aren't.

View more comments
Review
#296585 Review #296585 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$961

Do not buy from Sears

I bought a small chest freezer from Sears March/11 and in November/11 it stop freezing properly. Over $200 with of meat spoiled. The technician came out and said it was because the outside drain plug was missing. First he said he would order the part, after 2 months of fighting with them and the part not being order the first time like they said they did it comes. In the meantime the Tech put a piece of duct tape ober the hole and said it would work until the part showed. Nope...another $200 worth of meat spoiled. Finally the part comes in and the next Tech says its wasn't the problem and the compressor is broken on the inside, green tags it. I'm told by Sears customer service I would be called with in 48 hours to pick out a new freezer. No call. I'm not even telling you how horrible and the run around I received by the clowns in the customer service department. I then call Sears about getting the defunct freezer out of my kitchen and I have to go to the store and pick another one out. Get to the store...there is a recall on that freezer and they dont' know if Kenmore is making an new one of that size but I can buy the next size and pay more money, the little *** of a salesman tried to get me to buy one more expensive than the cheaper next to it. He can't do anything says his manager will call me in two days when he gets in because at this point I want my money back and this freezer gone. Still no word. I hate them and will never buy from sears again.
View full review
Review
#296083 Review #296083 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$150
With Official Company Response

DO NOT SHOP AT SEARS

It's sad to see an institution like Sears go under. I purchased a recliner chair on Dec 28, which was not delivered until Feb 9. They sold me an item from their show room that was not in stock. They didn't figure this out until my original delivery date. I came back to the State Street Chicago "flagship" store to complain and was "helped" by a man who was clearly intoxicated. He simply called the same customer service number that previously told me "I can't help you." Finally, on my "rescheduled" delivery date, the item was delivered four hours late. DO NOT SHOP HERE!
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#426779

Gbanks,

I'm sorry for any inconvenience and frustration you’ve encountered with your recliner purchase. My name is Brian H. and I’m with the Sears Cares Social Media Support team and we would like to help. We would like to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you in order to ensure proper resolution to your issue and an end to your frustration. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide a contact number and the phone number the recliner was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Gbanks) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#295772 Review #295772 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$300