Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears Don't Bother

Sears really does suck. I have purchased many items in the past - refrigerator, lawn mowers, tractor, clothes, etc, etc. I bought a dishwasher online on 1/8/12. I waited twice to have it delivered, nobody called or showed up. Finally I called them totally ticked that I wasted my time out from work for a delivery. They promised me a stinking gift card (never showed up) and they suggested I have my credit card recharged to have the dishwasher sent Sears internal since they could not seem to get it delivered. They finally did deliver it - I continued to receive calls for two weeks that they would deliver it after it was delivered! Three of the installation guys never showed up. Three more came out and the first said he could not do the install because the plumbing was not done right and left - Sears did the last install! The second said Sears installation sucks and gave me the number of another installer and told me to get a credit from Sears, the third guy found a different problem and said he would charge $250 and be back Monday - never showed! Sears you do suck, I will never buy another thing there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#451023

Don't bother talking with the useless Sears Social Media. I talked with a so called VP.

Other than the 25th empty promise she offer to waive the installation fee, what a joke she was going to send the same crew of losers as before.

I returned the dishwasher and they refused to give me a receipt. I talked with the crew that picked it up, they said this happens regularly.

Anonymous
#440508

are you aware they use the cheapest scab subcontractors ? i used to work for one...

get in get out as fast as possible

SearsCares
Sears Response
#438941

Dear Gmccormack,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. After reading your post, I have to say I am very concerned, and would like to offer my team's help. We are truly sorry to hear of all the trouble you have encountered with the purchase of your dishwasher, and the installation of the unit. We would like the opportunity to speak with you about this situation, and see what we can do to make it right. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dishwasher was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name Gmccormack you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Senior Case Manager

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (2)
Review
#300202 Review #300202 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
With Official Company Response
Customer Service from *** Sears customer service is the worst I have ever encountered. On Dec. 28, 2011, I ordered some slippers on Sears.com. The order was confirmed immediately and $26.52 was deducted from a gift card I used for the purchase. Within minutes the...
View full review
7 comments
paris007
#1336662

Report them to the ftc, I'm dealing with the same issue, as are others.

https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

View more comments
Review
#299892 Review #299892 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears BEYOND BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!

I have been dealing with Sears since early January over a hot water heater repair. First it took a week to get a back, then it was the wrong part, then it took another week to get a part the part was installed but didn't work!!!!!!!!! I have spent over a month dealing with this company - paid them over $500 and then had to pay $800 to anther company to actually FIX the problem. So, as of todays date 02/24/2012. the repair I called Sears for on 01/09/2012 has been fixed - by ANOTHER COMPANY! And guess what, Sears has still not returned the $500 I am owed even though we have returned ALL parts to them and let it not be I have spent countless hours on the phone talking to countless people about the same issue over and over and over - still no money and this is a week after I was supposed to have the money returned to me. I guess in Sears fashion I will receive my refund sometime in 2013.
View full review
3 comments
Anni71
#441725

Ok.....I feel it necessary to add a note to my complaint. I was called by Sears Corporate Customer Escalations (or something to that effect).....and guess what.....the WONDERFUL representative took the time to look at my case and worked out that yes....I was owed all my money back and then she arranged to get it to me!?????

I am happy with the outcome but oh so unhappy that it took posting on this website to get satisfaction.

Sears drove me to tears on occasion and if it wasn't for Darlene, the representative who FINALLY took care of me, I am sure I would still be in that state. Thanks to the escalations team who assisted me....

Anonymous
#439947

Oh my goodness. this is me with my washing machine.

I am still waiting to have it fixed. They called today at 10:38 and said someone would be there between 11 and 3 (they have already been to my house twice) sorry but it takes me 45 min to drive home and I was in a meeting and now they have to reschedule again.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#438908

Dear Anni71,

My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. After reading your post, I have to say I am very concerned, and would like to offer my team's help in making this right. I would like to apologize for the frustration, and inconvenience that you have encountered throughout your water heater repair with us. It is clear that we have let you down, and have tested the trust that you had in our services. We would love the opportunity to show that we do value your business. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the water heater was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name Anni71 you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian S.

Senior Case Manager

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (2)
Review
#299759 Review #299759 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500
With Official Company Response
My elderly mother was pushed into purchasing a television by a Sears sales person who assured her that she could return the item within 30 days if she was not completely satisfied. At no time did he mention that Sears (in very fine print after the purchase has been...
View full review
6 comments
Anonymous
#575987

I had same issue, just this weeek. I purchased a TV from Sears online ($600) and picked it up within a few hours from a local store.

Unfortunately, I found out after bringing it back home that it did not fit into the space I wanted to use. I tried to return it next day, but I was told by the store manager that since the box has been opened, they need to charge 15% ($90) restocking fee. They told me that once the box is opened, it is considered used. First, they never gave me a receipt (with return policy) when I picked up TV.

I read it before ordering online, but their return policy does not clearly state that any open box item would be charged a restocking fee and I think it is very misleading. I want everyone who is planning to shop at Sears during this holiday season to be aware of this.

I don't want anyone elese to make a mistake like I did and end up having a TV does not fit into a room. I won't be doing any type of business with Sears anymore.

View more comments
Review
#299283 Review #299283 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears Service is Terrible and They Don't Care

I have a snowblower from Sears with an extended warranty. I live where it snows A LOT so I need it to work. It broke in November and I called for service. The service line says they can't schedule appointments in my area but someone will call me back within 24 to 48 hours to schedule an appointment. They don't call, I call customer service, they say someone will call, they don't, I get to the escalated customer service called "customer solutions" they say someone will call, they don't, etc. This essentially goes on for 6 weeks before the snowblower finally gets fixed. In the meantime they promise to pay $50/week for the time I'm without they snowblower but they don't. Now, my snowblower breaks again yesterday. I call for service. I'm told I'll get a call in 24 hours to schedule an appointment. They don't call. I call back and I'm told they can't help me because it hasn't been 48 hours since my first call, that it isn't unreasonable to wait 6 weeks or more for a repair. they won't pay the earlier $50/week for the entire time I was out my snowblower because it's capped at $200 and they won't pay anything this time because of the last compensation. When I asked to submit a complaint I was told they are the escalation department and there is no other place ot complain and they won't help me.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#435034

Dear Llp,

We are very sorry to hear that you are out of your snowblower, from what you have stated we understand it is a much needed item in your part of the country. My name is Stephanie L. and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I would like one of our dedicated case managers to contact you to look further into this and to also go over what options we have to assist. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your snowblower was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name “ Llp ” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#299024 Review #299024 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$700
With Official Company Response

SEARS has horrible customer service!!

My friend and co-worker Erica purchased an older home in Chesterfield, MO. They hired a general contractor to remodel the interior. They purchased all their kitchen appliances from SEARS (Refrigerator, Dishwasher, Stove, Built-in Microwave Oven). The appliances were delivered in November 2010. They were finally able to move into the homein July 2011 (you know how construction goes!) They have had issues with 3 of the 4 appliances purchased, most notably the dishwasher. The oven was the first issue. It would not preheat past 250 degrees. They called for service and Erica's husband Carl took a day off from work to be there. The guy never showed or called. They finally called and learned that the serviceman had the wrong address! Funny, that wasn't an issue when they delivered the appliances. Erica called about the dishwasher in July. It wasn't heating the water properly and the unit had a terrible odor. She was placed on hold for over 30 minutes and finally had to hang up. She went to the Chesterfield, MO store the following day and was advised to use vinegar for the odor. She has tried that several times but it has not helped. Finally she was able to get through to the store and requested service immediately at no cost to her. She was told that a manager would call her later that day to discuss the issue. The warranty had expired a month or two ago since it started at purchase, not at the time they were able to move in to the home and use the appliances. Instead of the manager calling, she had the sales associate who sold Erica the appliances call her and tell her the warrantly was expired and there was nothing they could do. She further stated that the warranty might not have been valid any way since SEARS did not install the appliances. What a crock! The warranty comes from the manufacturer of the product, not the retail store that sells it! I purchased a Bosch dishwasher from Lowes and had the same problem with smell and mold. Apparently many of the new energy efficient dishwashers do not come with a drying cycle. Since they are so air tight, this causes problems with odor and mold. Lowes worked with me. Even though my own father had installed the Bosch, they allowed me to come into the store and chose whatever dishwasher I wanted. Since none of the Bosch models had a dry cycle, I chose an Electrolux. It was three times what I paid for the Bosch. Lowes, not only gave me the dishwasher I chose, but installed it and hauled the Bosch away! Now that's customer service! They have a customer for life in me! Erica is getting ready to replace her washer and dryer. I told her to go to Lowes!
View full review
2 comments
nikalseyn
#434459

A nice testimonial about Lowe's. I too, buy all my appliances from them now.

I appreciate the free delivery and also the knowledgeable sales people and even the delivery guys. All in all, I am a customer for life of Lowe's.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#434212

Dear Anonymous,

I have just read your post and it has raised concern. From what you have posted it is understandable why your friend Erica would be upset or frustrated. We do value her patronage and we would like to have one of our dedicated case managers contact her. At her convenience, she can contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so she doesn’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, she can provide a contact phone number and the phone number her appliances were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call her directly. Also, in the email, please have her provide the screen name ”Anonymous / 298890” for reference to her issue, and we do look forward to talking to her soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#298890 Review #298890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500
With Official Company Response

Sears, Making Returns Impossible

Update by user Mar 22, 2012

After posting this complaint, Sears corporate sent me a check for the cost of the part,and did stand behind this issue.It would have been better if they just issued the RA# on my first call to customer service. Thank You Sears for addressing and correcting my complaint.

Original review posted by user Feb 20, 2012

I ordered a part from Sears over the phone. The electronic part was delivered in a brown envelope and had a small dent in the package,but the part appeared to look un-damaged. I decided to test the part prior to the installation, and it was not working. I contacted Sears for a RA # and you could just tell the only thing customer service was instructed to do was to get out of issuing the return number. They told me that I had opened the package and therefor it was now a used part and would not take it back. I wrote them several times and they did respond each time with a polite but un-bending caned letter stating they would not issue a RA # Sears has become a company that is not reputable, so buyer's beware.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#434198

Dears Consumer,

We apologize for the disappointing experience. It is understandable that you would want to return the part you ordered after realizing it was not in functioning condition. My name is Stephanie L. and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your part was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name”Consumer” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#298699 Review #298699 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation

Sears in Dale, Indiana - Terrible service

Paid $1,200 for stainless steel oven from Castleton Mall store in Indianapolis 1/27/2012 for delivery 2/21. On 2/20 Sears calls to say Frigidare has notified them they no longer make it in stainless--this after more than three weeks from purchase and the day before delivery. Appliance dept. manager "in a meeting" and too busy to talk. Customer service no help at all. They say it will take 10 days for me to get a refund, meaning that I won't have the money to buy another oven from someone else until Sears pays me back. After all their years in business, you'd think they would have learned something about customer service by now. But maybe they don't want to stay in business. I, for one, do not intend to ever buy from Sears again. I'm putting my house on the market and specifically need stainless steel. I was clear about that at time of purchase. Now the whole process has been delayed for weeks because of Sears' gross incompetence. They should coordinate with their vendors to make sure this never happens. But I bet they won't, because they don't care.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#453529

Sequel: Turned out the Sears clerk entered the model number for another brand, another type of oven and at another price. She was very courteous and seemed trying to do her best.

However, her manager was too busy to see me, didn;t offer to call me, or make any other gesture.

I ended up getting the oven I wanted for less at HH Gregg, ironically from a former Sears appliance salesperson who couldn't stand to work there any more. I haven't been in a Sears store since and someone should smack me upside the head if I ever do again.

Review
#298654 Review #298654 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager
With Official Company Response

Sears Does Not Follow Through!!

OK...this is the 3rd review that I have written about Sears on this website. The past two times, I got responses from Stephani, Tricia B., and Susan R. stating that they are so sorry for the inconvenience, trouble, and frustration I've had due to my situation. If anyone wants details about this, please check my other posts. This review NOW pertains to the lack of follow through on customer service's part. I have had at least 20 emails back and forth with them and they have all told me that my problem has been referred to a specialist who would contact me within 24 hrs, 72 hrs, etc. My last email sent to smsupport@searshc.com was on 2-13-12. I still have not heard from anyone from Sears. Sears has been around for a long time and used to be the place to shop. All of my appliance are from there. All of my husband's tools are from there. All of our yard equipment is from there. And the thanks that I receive for being a loyal, long-time customer are broken promises. This problem has been going on since AUGUST 2011!!!!!!! So if you are reading this and wondering if you should shop at Sears, my answer would be an emphatic NO!!!!!!! Unless you want to be lied to, cheated out of, or just want a good kick in the teeth I would steer clear of Sears!!
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433635

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I see you have been in contact via e-mail with Sears customer service, but not the case manger? I would like to send this to the assigned case manger. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com with your name and contact information and we will look into this, we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#298624 Review #298624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
Loss
$228
With Official Company Response

Sears Lawnmower - Never Again!

Bought a $300 premium gas mower in April, 2011. This is the second one I have purchased from Sears in 3 years. It would not start today. I brought it in and was informed that I would be responsible for parts, labor and shipping(!) tio get it repaired. I did not buy the extended warranty and was told at the tiome opf purchase that I had a 90 day return and 1 year repair warranty that was included. They would not honor that today. They actually told me it was a Craftsman product and I would neeed to contact them to make arrangements to have it repaired but that I would pay the cost. In the past 3 years I have purchase 2 lawnmowers, one freezer, over $1,000 in hand and electrical tools, an air compressor and some misc.stuff. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM AGAIN! I have been a credit card customer for over 30 years. This wil be the end. When I told them (in pwerson) that I have been a great customer and just want the lawnmower fixed, they could care less. Fine. Two way street. They obviously don't care about a loyal customer, so I no longer care about supporting them. And i will make sure to tell everyone I know to steer clear of sears.
View full review
2 comments
arty
#541532

I bought an extended warranty for $600.00 and got the run around when trying to get parts to fix it. BTW...the mower cost over $3000.00 and broke down after 6 months. If they had sent the parts when I had first called, then it would have been fixed and I would not have been put through almost getting injured by this inferior lawn mower!

SearsCares
Sears Response
#433619

Dear Swenson,

My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I have just read your post and would like to apologize for any poor customer service you may have received, we can understand your frustrations and would like to speak to you and look further into this. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers to call you directly. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your lawn mower was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name “Swenson” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#298500 Review #298500 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card