Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears in Frisco, Texas - Rang up wrong item, correct item out of stock

Went to Sears on Sunday, February 12, 2012 to purchase an elliptical. We hoped to take advantage of the Friends & Family discount. We were greeted by the Sales Consultant well enough. After a brief discussion, we selected the specific model, indicated the model to the Sales Consultant, and opted for the Service Agreement. It took over 20 minutes for the Sales Consultant to ring us up having to call back the Assistant Manager two times to get the discount information correct. Since the elliptical we wanted was not in stock, we had to wait until mid week to pick it up - they could ship it to the store but they could not ship it to our home. When we picked up the unit, the box was much longer and heavier than we had originally been told when deciding whether to pay for Delivery. The box just fit into our vehicle. After wrestling the box out our vehicle at home, we discovered that the Sales Consultant had rung up the wrong product! We lugged the unit back down to the store the next morning. Upon arrival, we asked to speak to the Store Manager. He was pleasant enough and understanding. He was willing to throw in a mat and free delivery to make up for the inconvenience. However, as he rang up the correct elliptical, he discovered that it was no longer in stock- anywhere - and that we would have to wait for another two weeks to receive it. Non-starter. We stressed that they needed to come up with a creative solution real fast. The Store Manager just threw up his arms saying that he couldn't sell what he didn't have. We asked for our money back and received it. Bottom line, Sears misrepresented the products they had for sale. Sears initial incompetence and ultimate incapability to resolve the situation to my satisfaction has convinced me to take my business elsewhere.
View full review
3 comments
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433559

Dear Anonymous,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and it is very unfortunate that the item you originally wanted was out of stock. I can understand your disappointment. We do value you as a Sears customer and I do see that our Sears associate understood your frustrations and worked towards compensating you with the free mat and free delivery. These situations are unforeseen and we do our best to meet our customer’s needs. Thank you for your patronage, please let us know if there is anything else we can do.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#432958

Sears fan is right,you cannot stock enough of every item our you are going to be broke.Example, you try to have stock enough based on past sales. But if you purchase 10 items and only 5 sell any profit you made is tied up in the 5 you did not sell, bad business.In todays economy you have to wait on some things.It is not business of old unless you want to go broke.And don't expect something for free, Im think Sears is doing a better job of not giving away things just because someone yells a lot as they did in the past.I have a neighbor who said he was mad at Sears because they refused to replace his washer because it was worn out and the bottom has rusted away and that was not covered under his agreement,Sears told him it was time to buy a new one,he was mad because they would not replace it for free,his washer waas 13 yeaars old, he told me this will be the first washer he has had to buy since 1975, Sears has always replaced it.I told him he has been lucky and its a new world now and how could Sears stay in business if they just replaced everything.Good job Sears, P.S. He bought a new one and from Sears.

Anonymous
#432599

It was friends and family night, things get sold out,it was not like they couldn't get the product for you.You just did not want to wait.The saame thing has happened to me at other stores, Target and also Home depot. It happens,the differents is Sears was going to give you something free for your inconvience,that does not happen at all stores.

View more comments (2)
Review
#298243 Review #298243 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
With Official Company Response

Sears terrible customer service

We bought a Kenmore chest freezer in September. It worked for three months and died. So the plan to do holiday baking ahead and put it in the freezer went out the window. We called Sears service department, we had to wait two weeks for an appointment. Then they cancelled. When I called to re-schedule they said I had cancelled the appointment. So we re-schedules, the tech said the freezer could not be fixed. Since it was just over 90 days we could not get a refund. What resulted was MONTHS of fighting with the worst customer service I have ever encountered. Every person I talked with put me on hold for extended periods of time, so I had to listen to the same bar of music over and over until I wanted to scream. I think that's the plan, to make you hang up. Every person told me something different. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, I swear the lady put me on hold and then came back on the line pretending to be the supervisor. Bottom line: I will NEVER buy another appliance from Sears EVER. Customer service is very important, and Sears has next to none.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#433539

Dear Laprofesora952,

I just came across your post; please accept our deepest apology for the frustrations surrounding your chest freezer. With the cancellation of the repair service and the poor customer service you received it is very understandable why you would be so discouraged to continue to shop with Sears. We do value you as a Sears customer and would like the opportunity to speak to you and turn this experience into a positive one. My name is Stephanie L. and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your chest freezer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name “Laprofesora952 ” for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Stephanie L.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#298051 Review #298051 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears in Athens, Georgia - Lost over 175.00 and did'nt even get the order

I recently tried purchasing a TV online, first time, and of course paid the 300+ for the tv up front. I never received my order and when I brought it to their attention I was initially told that my money had been refunded. However when I checked my credit card activity I found out that my money was not refunded or even pending. I then contacted via phone and e-mail and was told a "Tracer" was placed on it and would be 5 to 8 days before anything would happen. 9th day comes and e-mailed the address given if any more problems arose and was met with a standard response stating the 5-8 days again. E-mailed again saying that I was told that same thing 9 days prior. Met with the EXACT same response as before. E-mailed again that I knew the process and it had been ten days at this point and yet again received the same response. Same response as if it were a standard reply e-mail they'd send out to everyone with a similar issue. No personal customer service at all. This went on for another 10 e-mails until I finally changed the subject heading to an all caps subject saying like 6th or 7th time I've e-mailed with no one actually readin them and actually responding with a personal response. this time I actually got one sentence that told me they had at least read the e-mail followed again by the exact same e-mail the rest had. Every one of them ending with a thank you, Have a nice day, and don't forget to check out our blah blah blah. This worked to upset me even more. I sent many more e-mails, taking time and effort on my part every time. I finally got a response and it was implied that they would compensate me for my troubles and expenses only to be lied to and screwed yet another time. Now I am not a rich person and 300+ dollars is a lot of money to me and so when I was told the refund was processed the first time I went and bought one from an actual store not knowing that I didn't have the money to cover it. So this actually cost me much more than what the tv I purchased at the store costed me. After the 5 overdraft fees I was charged at 35.00 a pop I spent another 175.00. All this I had to go through for something that was no fault of my own in any way, but because of sears. When I finally did get my refund I was only given what I spent on the TV I didn't receive and no compensation for my troubles or the money I lost in fees not to mention the embarrassment with the store and the bank. When I adressed this issue I was given another generic response followed up with a thankyou a have a nice day and of course, don't forget to check out our great deals online at...... I can only pray that this problem reaches an actual human being that can take asecond and imagine how they'd feel in my position. Sears was my favorite place to shop until this very troublesome matter. MY money was actually witthheld for a total of something like 29 days with NOTHING to show for it aside from headache embarrassment and more debt.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#430989

Popimpexpress,

We apologize for the inconvenience and distress you encountered with your recent television purchase. We know it is disappointing to have waited just about a month for your refund. My name is Zenaida and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I have been in a situation similar to this and I would like to get you in contact with one of our executive case managers.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help you with this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your television was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Popimpexpress) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue. We truly value your business and look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Zenaida M.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#297442 Review #297442 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Credit Card
Loss
$300
I've relocated to Australia and was happy to discover I could buy my favorite sheets at Sears online and have them shipped internationally. The Sears website lists the sheets at US $189 but as soon as I clicked "ship to Australia" the price jumped to US $229. One...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#846526

Welcome to Australia. We get ripped off in many more ways than online shopping at Sears.

No one does anything about it.

No one seems to care. *** Aussies just put up with it.

View more comments
Review
#297416 Review #297416 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Sears Website
With Official Company Response
I placed an order at searsoutlet.com on Feb 1, 2012. I paid in full for the LG dryer order#2010000557 and the $200.63 delivery charge with a delivery date of February 10, 2012. Everyone I have been in contact with has been very polite and professional, however I...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#991483

Supposed to get my call yesterday with delivery time tiday--no call. Getting the runaround from different #s.

Outlet center delivery:

1-877-927-7957.

The 800 # said to call them now & assures me that they're open now... And of course, they aren't.

View more comments
Review
#296585 Review #296585 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$961

Do not buy from Sears

I bought a small chest freezer from Sears March/11 and in November/11 it stop freezing properly. Over $200 with of meat spoiled. The technician came out and said it was because the outside drain plug was missing. First he said he would order the part, after 2 months of fighting with them and the part not being order the first time like they said they did it comes. In the meantime the Tech put a piece of duct tape ober the hole and said it would work until the part showed. Nope...another $200 worth of meat spoiled. Finally the part comes in and the next Tech says its wasn't the problem and the compressor is broken on the inside, green tags it. I'm told by Sears customer service I would be called with in 48 hours to pick out a new freezer. No call. I'm not even telling you how horrible and the run around I received by the clowns in the customer service department. I then call Sears about getting the defunct freezer out of my kitchen and I have to go to the store and pick another one out. Get to the store...there is a recall on that freezer and they dont' know if Kenmore is making an new one of that size but I can buy the next size and pay more money, the little *** of a salesman tried to get me to buy one more expensive than the cheaper next to it. He can't do anything says his manager will call me in two days when he gets in because at this point I want my money back and this freezer gone. Still no word. I hate them and will never buy from sears again.
View full review
Review
#296083 Review #296083 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$150
With Official Company Response

DO NOT SHOP AT SEARS

It's sad to see an institution like Sears go under. I purchased a recliner chair on Dec 28, which was not delivered until Feb 9. They sold me an item from their show room that was not in stock. They didn't figure this out until my original delivery date. I came back to the State Street Chicago "flagship" store to complain and was "helped" by a man who was clearly intoxicated. He simply called the same customer service number that previously told me "I can't help you." Finally, on my "rescheduled" delivery date, the item was delivered four hours late. DO NOT SHOP HERE!
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#426779

Gbanks,

I'm sorry for any inconvenience and frustration you’ve encountered with your recliner purchase. My name is Brian H. and I’m with the Sears Cares Social Media Support team and we would like to help. We would like to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you in order to ensure proper resolution to your issue and an end to your frustration. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide a contact number and the phone number the recliner was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Gbanks) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#295772 Review #295772 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$300
With Official Company Response

Sears in Oakland, California - Wrong item shipped

I placed an order of men shoes at sears.com. 10 days later, I received a package with woman fitness shoes. I emailed sears' customer services right away and got a reply that they would resolve issue within 5-7 business days. Exactly 7 business days later, I received an email with the link to print out return label and instructed me to bring the package to UPS retailer. How come Sears never offer pickup services. It was their faults after all. And seriously, it took Sears 7 days just to issue an return authorization and shipping label, really!!! I think Sears' customer services wait until the last minute just to frustrate its customers. That's not all, I have not heard anything from them about fulfilling my order. So I guess they automatically cancelled my order. And I wonder how long does it take for them to credit my money after they receive the package.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#426776

I'm sorry for any inconvenience and frustration you’ve encountered with your online shoe order. My name is Brian H. and I’m with the Sears Cares Social Media Support team and we would like to help. We would like to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you in order to ensure proper resolution to your issue and an end to your frustration. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide a contact number and the phone number the shoes were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include this code (PC01) in the email so we can reference your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Brian H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#295719 Review #295719 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears' outright lies are documented

I placed an online order for store pickup of a camcorder. The item was listed as available in the store. I got an e-mail shortly after stating that the item was not available in the store and offering to ship it to me at no extra charge. The item was a gift and it looked like I would get it in time. As a result, I requested that the item be shipped to me. A few days later, over the weekend, I received an e-mail stating that my item had been shipped along with a UPS tracking number. I checked the tracking number on Monday and Tuesday and got messages stating that the tracking number was not found. I called customer service on Tuesday and was told that the tracking number was wrong and I needed to call UPS to get the right tracking number (????). I didn't agree with this and asked the rep to call UPS while I was on the line. She called and found that UPS could not provide her with any information. I asked to be transferred to a Superviosor. I was disconnected 3 times and finally reached a supervisor on my 4th attempt. After about 25-25 minutes more the Supervisor informs me that the item is not in stock and was never shipped. They will credit my account (which will take 3-5 business days) and offer me 10% of my next online purchase. I needed the item by the next day! I ordered the item from a place in NY and received by the next day!!! The second merchant provided fabulous service.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#426629

Nice reply from the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I replied promptly to their comments and even sent them a copy of the e-mail from Sears with the UPS tracking number (for the package that was never sent).

I gave them my cell phone number and home phone number for them "to call me directly". I have still not received any communication from them.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#426017

Dear Nishaisaac:

My name is Susan and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I am very concerned about what I have read here. I came across your post and I wanted to reach out and offer our assistance in getting this unfortunate situation resolved. We’re very sorry to hear about the service you have received from our online team and we apologize for the frustration this has caused you and your family. This is not the type of service that you deserve nor the type of service that Sears has been long known for. Sears Social Media Escalations Team is a single point of contact for escalated concerns which means we step into a situation and handle it start to finish with one Case Manager. We would like to look into this issue for you and offer our assistance to help resolve it.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the Camcorder was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Nishaisaac) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (1)
Review
#295673 Review #295673 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears - bad customer service

Sears says they have a price match guaranty - if you find a lower price they will beat it. I found a lower price for an appliance online and called Sears to buy from them instead. The representative said that I couldn't make the purchase over the phone, that I had to go into a store with a printout showing the competitor's lower price. I told him that I wouldn't have time to go into a store right away. He said I could go in with the printout within 60 days and the price would be honored. I went to Sears 2 weeks later and they would not honor the price. I called the customer service line and they said that because the representative I spoke with earlier did not write notes on the computer system, they could not honor the price. I am very frustrated because if I knew this was going to happen I would have just bought the appliance from the other company. Ironically I waited to buy from Sears because I thought they would have better customer service.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#426027

Dear Anonymous,

We are very sorry that you were told incorrectly about Sears price match policy. I certainly understand your frustration and inconvenience with not being able to purchase the appliance you wanted at the lower price. It is Sears policy to have our customer's go into the store with proof that an item is priced lower at one of our competitors and this should have been communicated to you. My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Escalations team. Our team handles internet related complaints as well as complaints that come through our executive office. We would like to offer our assistance to help resolve this unfortunate situation.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (PC295489) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#295489 Review #295489 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$130