Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
With Official Company Response

Sears in Boca Raton, Florida - Poor quality and no support

Bought a $700 dishwasher from Sears and it broke at 12 months. Warrantee support was a nightmare. Broke for the third time last week. I am done trying to get this machine working. The first repair took 1 month to get someone out to repair it. I had to escalated two levels up before someone would authorize the repair even though it was in warrantee. My largest frustration is that sears does not stand behind their product. I learned a good lesson, pay a bit more and get a quality support organization. I cannot believe how difficult this company was to deal with.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#319643

To Ejeffr,

I'm sorry you've had so many issues with this dishwasher and that you haven't received more help. My name is James and I am part of the Social Media Support Escalations team at Sears and we would like to help resolve this issue. At your convenience, please contact our office at smsupport@searshc.com. Please send us an email providing a contact phone number and the phone number the dishwasher was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (Ejeffr) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

James H.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#250974 Review #250974 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Loss
$700

Sears in Columbia, South Carolina - Sear's Home Delivery Nightmare

My fiance and i went to sears in New Jersey to buy a mattress for our apartment in Greenville South Carolina on July 6 because they were having a great sale. We found the perfect mattress and the sale made it a such great deal, so we thought... We told them we were moving to South Carolina an would like the mattress delivered there and they said no problem and told us to pick a delivery date. We chose saturday the 16 of July and had to pay a 10 dollar weekend delivery fee. Seeing we would be in Greenville on the 15th we figured roughing it for a night in sleeping bags wouldn't be too bad. The night before the scheduled delivery sears confirms delivery for the 16 between 12 and 2. We went to sleep thinking "awesome" everything is going to go smoothly. The day of the delivery we get a call at 8 am telling us the delivery was cancelled.... Ok no big deal just one more day on the floor... They called on saturday night and confirmed delivery for Sunday with another 2 hr window... Sunday morning came and again at 8 am sears called to cancel delivery... My fiance calls sears to see what's going on and they said that they don't have it in the warehouse but they had from the 6th of July to get it in the warehouse... Seeing that I'm getting more aggravated as the days pass by I go into sears to talk with customer service that afternoon.... I was I formed that they couldn't do anything for me since I ordered the mattress in new jersey so their solution was for me to cancel the order and put it in the system fresh. They informed me that since I work they won't be able to deliver until Saturday because they don't deliver after 5. I asked them and I quote "can I be guaranteed delivery of the mattress for Saturday then?" and the sales associate looks on the computer and he tells me that the shipment of the mattress will definitely be in on Saturday the 23 and that delivery will not be an issue. So we go through the hassle of canceling the order and reordering the mattress in Greenville and go home to rough it for a week on sleeping bags. Friday the 22 rolls by and sears calls to confirm the delivery for Saturday the 23. Happy that I'll finally be able to sleep on a real bed I go to sleep only to be woken up Saturday morning by sears telling me that the delivery was cancelled and that delivery will be pushed back to the 30th of July and that they can't guarantee delivery on the 30th. WHY even set up delivery then or even let me purchase a bed you can't deliver!!! Why didn't they offer to give me a replacement mattress that they have in stock... So many things they could have done but didn't!!! Sear customer service and delivery is terrible!! And thanks to sears I have to sleep on the floor because cancelling the order takes 7 to 10 days so I can't buy a mattress because I DONT have the money!!!
View full review
1 comment
Marivera521
#320585

Well Sears is awesome... Not...

Got a phone call today july 30 that the mattress delivery has been cancelled and pushed back to august 6. So a month after purchasing the mattress i still have to sleep on the floor... AWESOME... I called customer service and told them how PISSED i am and how i have been waiting what will now be 3 weeks for a mattress delivery and the lady just said really its been that long?

WHAT!!And still they didn't think to offer a discount, a replacement for a better mattress or anything instead the guy asked me would you like to cancel the order? :(

Review
#250822 Review #250822 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Loss
$885

Sears in Reading, Pennsylvania - Faulty Kenmore Refrigerator and Service

I purchased a Kenmore refrigerator about 2 years ago. I was told it was top of the line and was highly recommended so I didn't mind paying over $2000 for it. Since day one we've had problems with it. The ice doesn't go into the container properly. Every time you open the door you find ice cubes on the floor of the freezer. It's been serviced about 3 times. Earlier this week the service department came out(I have the Master Protection Plan)because the fridge side was not cold enough and said he had to order some parts. They came back a few days later and "fixed" the issue. We were told that it would take a few hours for it to get cold since he had the doors open. A few hours later we realized that it was getting worse and the food was beginning to good bad. Placed another call to service and the earliest they could come is 8 days later. I'm having surgery Monday, so I called yesterday to see if they could come in sooner. They said they would put me on the cancellation list and call if they have anything sooner. They offered to reimburse me for mini fridge (up to $100), which I accepted thinking it would actually pay for one. After going to Sears I saw that the only ones under $100 couldn't fit a gallon of milk, let alone anything else and since I have small children that really what I needed it for. Plus I won't be able to drive after surgery for at least a week and I need food in the house for the kids. Very disappointed with Sears and will never buy the protection plans from them again, which is a shame because I have one on all my appliances.
View full review
Review
#250782 Review #250782 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2700

Sears in Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin - Never trust the internet. At least Sear's website.

We are getting a kitchen renovated and we decided to order an oven from Sears. We are on a tight schedule because we need the new kitchen appliances by the time the contractors come to install. We requested that sears deliver them by a certain date. We order and paid for the order and seemed to work fine except that there was no confirmation e-Mail stating anything about the order we made. A day or two later we called Sears to find out if the order went through. Transfer-transfer-transfer again-hold then a two hour talk just to find out the order didn't exist at all. The service representative stated the online catalog isn't always up-to-date (that's helpful) and sometimes some orders will not exist. We thought fine OK it was just an error. The representative canceled the order and we were done. We order somewhere now on a tighter schedule and a few days later, we get a courtesy call from Sears stating the appliance is to be delivered this Saturday (tomorrow). We called Sears concerning this call and they claimed (after the hold and transfer routine) the order was cancelled and that there won't be anything delivered on Saturday. Today we received another courtesy call claiming that an order is to be delivered tomorrow. We called Sears yet again to ask about this and after yet again, the transfer and hold routine, we reached the manager. We were telling him about this situation and he put us on hold "while he figures this out", has the nerve to put us on hold and leave us hanging. He never responded. Never ever trust Sears again.
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#318984

VERy similar story here, except that mine is a dishwasher that arrived damaged ... it's been 4 months and I STILL haven't received a refund or been able to get them to pick it up!

Everytime I call they give me a new date that they will be here to pick it up! This place out to be out of business!

Anonymous
#316615

If the story was fake, do you think I'd put it up there. We have call logs of this as well as an enroute to us this moment from another. We even reported Sears to the BBB.

ccountry
#316589

"NEVER TRUST THE INTERNET"

Does that include not believing your story?

View more comments (2)
Review
#250701 Review #250701 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Do Not Use Sears for AC Installation

A Sears Sales Rep. came out to my house for a free estimate on an AC Installation. He quoted how they sub-contract out the work, but everyone is heavily screened. Sounded good to me, like I could trust them. I've used Sears before and they have done a Great job in the past. Until the day came when my AC was installed... Sears came out in April and istalled the AC. They ended up not having a part, so they finished what they could and said they would come back. As they were packing up to go my Heater turned on and Black Smoke was coming out of the vents. Along with the Black Smoke was a horrible burning smell. The guy said it was normal because of all the work they had just done and so they left. As days went on everytime my Heater came on the smoke and burning smell came into the house. We had to open windows to let the smoke out. We called Sears on a Saturday and they had No Emergency Service. We were on the phone for at least 2 hours being transferred and transferred again. We ended up calling a small Heating/AC business and they had a guy come out on a Saturday to see what it was. It ended up being the silicone they used was a low temperature silicone and not a high temperature silicone..windows and doors silicone :( That low temperature silicone was burning off when the heater came on and coming into the house. Probably took a couple years off my life inhaling it. I called Sears and they said it was my Heater and that I need a new one. I explained to them it was the silicone they used and they transferred me to another person and then another until my story wasn't fully heard. Sears never came out to install the part they forgot. I ended up buying the part that I had already payed for through Sears and my Fiance's friend installed it for him. So paying $6,000 for a horrible job. When it finally came time to start the Air Conditioner in May the outside piece froze and I called Sears. They came out the next day and fixed it..the Freon was low on the brand new machine and there was a part they did wrong that they fixed. Sears has the audacity to continuously call the township building in my town about me not scheduling the inspection yet. Thank goodness the people at the township building know me and called to let me know. I told them what was up and that Sears had not contacted me at all. I just said well if it was done properly the 1st time I would have had it done right away. Never again Sears..I will not use You for anything else I do to my house. Simply Unexceptable..are You not paying Your Sub-Contractors that much that they have to use Low Temperature Silicone on my AC job? Thanks for the disregard of My Family's Personal Safety and the Toxic Smoke :)
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#315926

Wow, that amazes me, thanks for the tip. I can't believe how much they care for the money, but not the people

Review
#250396 Review #250396 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$6000
With Official Company Response
Sears sucks! Sears sold me a service contract to have a gas line installed for my new gas stove which was delivered this weekend. Evidently after four days on the phone I just learned "they don't believe" that they can even hook up the stove. I have to get someone...
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#315560

Dear Anonymous/Sears Business Model:

We are sorry to hear about the problems that you are experiencing getting your gas range installed. We can only imagine the frustration this has caused you and your family. It is our goal to get your appliance installed, to run properly and to exceed your expectations. This clearly has not been done for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you. My name is Susan and I work for the Social Media Support Team. My team handles Internet related complaints as well as complaints that come to the executive branch and we are interested in taking over the handling of this issue or at the very least monitoring the progress of the current resolution. We need to make sure that everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.

At your convenience please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so that we can assist with resolving this issue. Please provide us a contact number as well as the phone number used to purchase your gas range (if different from your contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, include your screen name (Anonymous/Sears Business Model) in the email so we can reference to your case.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#249751 Review #249751 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
Loss
$129

Think Twice before ordering from Sears if you need delivery!

Sears has not stiffed me TWICE regarding delivery of appliances! I took a vacation day off work on Friday 7/15 to await delivery of a Refrigerator AND a Stove. We gave our old fridge away so we had "nothing" in the house and we disconnected our gas stove to make it easier for the delivery team. However, we were informed Friday around 12:00pm that a delivery person was injured and they were unable to deliver the items until Sunday 7/17. So we cancelled our plans Sunday and waited for our delivery. We called around 1:00 pm and were advised "we were next on the delivery run and should have the products by 3:00 pm. By 5:00 pm we were wondering if they were lost so we called AGAIN only to be told NOW they couldn't deliver to us until Tuesday 7/19! I work an hour and a half away from my home. I asked for after 5:00pm delivery. I was advised they can not guarantee that time slot. The customer service with Sears delivery team is horrible. We are currently checking prices and delivery options with other venues.
View full review
Review
#249532 Review #249532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
With Official Company Response
Just got a new AC and Furnace installed three days ago. Not only were they supposed to be here at 8:30 in the morning to get things moving, but they called at 11:30 AM, to let us know they won't be here until 5 PM... we understood as we needed the installation due to...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#315596

I understand completely. I have had to call Sears Warranty dept four times to schedule and re-schedule service appointments because the techs just don't show up.

We have been without a washer for four weeks now. I will never purchase from Sears again and kenmore products will slowly be fazed out of our lives - don't need all the frusteration that come with them.

View more comments
Review
#249460 Review #249460 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Renewed sears master protection plan 2 months age called for service 13 days ago still no service

Renewed my master protection plan 60 days ago called for service on July 5,2011on a dryer and was told first available date was 13 days later. I then got them to move it up to 9 days, waited from 1-5PM for someone to show only to receive a call after 5PM. that they will not becoming and will reschedule.They rescheduled for 13 days later or 21 days since the original call. Calls to customer service get polite but ineffective answers. The girl answering the phone claims she can assist me but couldn't even reach her scheduling department.
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#316340

In November 2008 Sears was called to service my 90 year old mother's furnace. It had been unusually cold and her old house was freezing.

My mom has been under a Sears protection plan since the 1980s and had come to rely on them for service. In fact, it was the only reason she could stay in her home alone.

When the service man showed up he wouldn't perform any service until he received a check to pay for the visit. He went down to the basement and immediately came back up stating that there was asbestos in the basement and he couldn't work on the furnace. This though Sears had come every year for twenty years and serviced the furnace.

What followed was one call after another to get Sears to service the furnace. When it was shown that there was no asbestos, all of a sudden the furnace was not covered under the plan, then another serviceman told her it needed to be replaced at her cost. One employee indicated that Sears would pay a portion of the costs. We never heard from that person again.

This went on until the end of December, still no service or offer to pay for a new furnace. Under the stress and the damp and cold home she lived in, my mother suffered chest pains and had to undergo heart surgery. It took three months for her to recuperate. In all that time, no resolution from Sears.

Out of desperation her family bought a furnace from another company in hopes that Sears might reimburse us for part of the costs. Nothing from Sears. Everytime someone called, there were no notes in the file, no mention of any problems or failed service. Absolutely no paper trail.

I have spent the last two weeks trying to open up the complaint again and get it resolved so that my mom will renew her Sears Performance contract. Once again, the runaround, no record of any calls or complaints. Pretty sure the customer service employees are trained to supplant Sears customers and leave them to believe something will be done when it never will.

Very misleading customer service. After all these years it is unfortunate that a 90 year old woman who had complete faith in Sears is treated in this manner.

SearsCares
Sears Response
#315576

Dear Me/Rescheduled Service:

We found this post and I want to reach out and express our concern and our deepest apologies for this situation. We value your business very much and would like to help you. My name is Susan and I’m part of the Social Media Escalations team. My team handles Internet related complaints as well as complaints that come to the executive branch and we are interested in taking over the handling of this issue or at the very least monitoring the progress of the current resolution. We need to make sure that everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.

At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the appliance was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Me/Rescheduled Service) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

SearsCares
Sears Response
#315567

Dear Anonymous/Master Protection Plan:

We found this post and I wanted to reach out and express our concern and our deepest apologies for this situation. When we set up a service call, we anticipate that we can get the service tech to your home and the service completed within a timely manner. We can’t ask a tech to leave a job partially done in order to make the next appointment(s). We wouldn’t do that to you or any of our customers. We also can’t know how long a particular job is going to take until the technician gets to the job and diagnoses the issue. Many times it takes longer because we are not going to cut corners for the sake of time. This does cause delays on occasion, but sacrificing quality for time is simply not an option for us. Of course, this is not an excuse, just an explanation. We would like to talk with you to see if we can get a technician to you any sooner and make sure that your appointment will not be rescheduled again.

At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dryer was originally purchased under(if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Anonymous/Master Protection Plan) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#313137

Happened to me, too. Apptmt was a week ago - no call; I had to call to find out the scheduled service tech was behind schedule & I would have to re-schedule (today).

Today they called (at 6pm) to say they'd have to reschedule another two weeks out.

Sears - this is unacceptable.

Are you listening? This is not the way to get me to renew my contract.

View more comments (3)
Review
#249116 Review #249116 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I hired Sears (Lorton, VA office) to clean the carpets in a house I was renting. They were selected because they are a national chain and my landlords are very picky about their carpets and demanded approval of the company prior to my being able to contract them. ...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#351324

SEARS LORTON VA did the same thing to me! I hired the company, trusting the Sears name, for air duct cleaning.

The workers showed up wearing doo rags, but I still let them in the house because the lead technician had a work order on Sears letterhead. They broke the joints of my duct work with reckless handling. Then they wanted to charge me for additional services to fix the damage they caused.

(I eventually hired Cropp Metcalf to fix the damage Sears caused.) When I questioned one of the SEARS LORTON VA technicians about his background, as he was in my house with my understanding that he represented the Sears name, he explained that he really works for Cyprus Air of Alexandria, VA -- another company I have heard troubling reports about -- and that the owners of Cyprus Air acquired the Sears franchise name in LORTON, VA. SEARS LORTON VA is disreputable and NOT professional at all!

Review
#248431 Review #248431 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Cleaning Service