Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Think Twice before ordering from Sears if you need delivery!

Sears has not stiffed me TWICE regarding delivery of appliances! I took a vacation day off work on Friday 7/15 to await delivery of a Refrigerator AND a Stove. We gave our old fridge away so we had "nothing" in the house and we disconnected our gas stove to make it easier for the delivery team. However, we were informed Friday around 12:00pm that a delivery person was injured and they were unable to deliver the items until Sunday 7/17. So we cancelled our plans Sunday and waited for our delivery. We called around 1:00 pm and were advised "we were next on the delivery run and should have the products by 3:00 pm. By 5:00 pm we were wondering if they were lost so we called AGAIN only to be told NOW they couldn't deliver to us until Tuesday 7/19! I work an hour and a half away from my home. I asked for after 5:00pm delivery. I was advised they can not guarantee that time slot. The customer service with Sears delivery team is horrible. We are currently checking prices and delivery options with other venues.
View full review
Review
#249532 Review #249532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Delivery Service
Just got a new AC and Furnace installed three days ago. Not only were they supposed to be here at 8:30 in the morning to get things moving, but they called at 11:30 AM, to let us know they won't be here until 5 PM... we understood as we needed the installation due to...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#315596

I understand completely. I have had to call Sears Warranty dept four times to schedule and re-schedule service appointments because the techs just don't show up.

We have been without a washer for four weeks now. I will never purchase from Sears again and kenmore products will slowly be fazed out of our lives - don't need all the frusteration that come with them.

View more comments
With Official Company Response
Review
#249460 Review #249460 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Renewed sears master protection plan 2 months age called for service 13 days ago still no service

Renewed my master protection plan 60 days ago called for service on July 5,2011on a dryer and was told first available date was 13 days later. I then got them to move it up to 9 days, waited from 1-5PM for someone to show only to receive a call after 5PM. that they will not becoming and will reschedule.They rescheduled for 13 days later or 21 days since the original call. Calls to customer service get polite but ineffective answers. The girl answering the phone claims she can assist me but couldn't even reach her scheduling department.
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#316340

In November 2008 Sears was called to service my 90 year old mother's furnace. It had been unusually cold and her old house was freezing.

My mom has been under a Sears protection plan since the 1980s and had come to rely on them for service. In fact, it was the only reason she could stay in her home alone.

When the service man showed up he wouldn't perform any service until he received a check to pay for the visit. He went down to the basement and immediately came back up stating that there was asbestos in the basement and he couldn't work on the furnace. This though Sears had come every year for twenty years and serviced the furnace.

What followed was one call after another to get Sears to service the furnace. When it was shown that there was no asbestos, all of a sudden the furnace was not covered under the plan, then another serviceman told her it needed to be replaced at her cost. One employee indicated that Sears would pay a portion of the costs. We never heard from that person again.

This went on until the end of December, still no service or offer to pay for a new furnace. Under the stress and the damp and cold home she lived in, my mother suffered chest pains and had to undergo heart surgery. It took three months for her to recuperate. In all that time, no resolution from Sears.

Out of desperation her family bought a furnace from another company in hopes that Sears might reimburse us for part of the costs. Nothing from Sears. Everytime someone called, there were no notes in the file, no mention of any problems or failed service. Absolutely no paper trail.

I have spent the last two weeks trying to open up the complaint again and get it resolved so that my mom will renew her Sears Performance contract. Once again, the runaround, no record of any calls or complaints. Pretty sure the customer service employees are trained to supplant Sears customers and leave them to believe something will be done when it never will.

Very misleading customer service. After all these years it is unfortunate that a 90 year old woman who had complete faith in Sears is treated in this manner.

David
Sears Response
#315576

Dear Me/Rescheduled Service:

We found this post and I want to reach out and express our concern and our deepest apologies for this situation. We value your business very much and would like to help you. My name is Susan and I’m part of the Social Media Escalations team. My team handles Internet related complaints as well as complaints that come to the executive branch and we are interested in taking over the handling of this issue or at the very least monitoring the progress of the current resolution. We need to make sure that everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.

At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the appliance was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Me/Rescheduled Service) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

David
Sears Response
#315567

Dear Anonymous/Master Protection Plan:

We found this post and I wanted to reach out and express our concern and our deepest apologies for this situation. When we set up a service call, we anticipate that we can get the service tech to your home and the service completed within a timely manner. We can’t ask a tech to leave a job partially done in order to make the next appointment(s). We wouldn’t do that to you or any of our customers. We also can’t know how long a particular job is going to take until the technician gets to the job and diagnoses the issue. Many times it takes longer because we are not going to cut corners for the sake of time. This does cause delays on occasion, but sacrificing quality for time is simply not an option for us. Of course, this is not an excuse, just an explanation. We would like to talk with you to see if we can get a technician to you any sooner and make sure that your appointment will not be rescheduled again.

At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dryer was originally purchased under(if different than the contact phone number) and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Anonymous/Master Protection Plan) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Anonymous
#313137

Happened to me, too. Apptmt was a week ago - no call; I had to call to find out the scheduled service tech was behind schedule & I would have to re-schedule (today).

Today they called (at 6pm) to say they'd have to reschedule another two weeks out.

Sears - this is unacceptable.

Are you listening? This is not the way to get me to renew my contract.

View more comments (3)
With Official Company Response
Review
#249116 Review #249116 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I hired Sears (Lorton, VA office) to clean the carpets in a house I was renting. They were selected because they are a national chain and my landlords are very picky about their carpets and demanded approval of the company prior to my being able to contract them. ...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#351324

SEARS LORTON VA did the same thing to me! I hired the company, trusting the Sears name, for air duct cleaning.

The workers showed up wearing doo rags, but I still let them in the house because the lead technician had a work order on Sears letterhead. They broke the joints of my duct work with reckless handling. Then they wanted to charge me for additional services to fix the damage they caused.

(I eventually hired Cropp Metcalf to fix the damage Sears caused.) When I questioned one of the SEARS LORTON VA technicians about his background, as he was in my house with my understanding that he represented the Sears name, he explained that he really works for Cyprus Air of Alexandria, VA -- another company I have heard troubling reports about -- and that the owners of Cyprus Air acquired the Sears franchise name in LORTON, VA. SEARS LORTON VA is disreputable and NOT professional at all!

Review
#248431 Review #248431 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Cleaning Service

Sears review in Baltimore, Maryland: Carpet Cleaning Charged $200 Extra

I requested a carpet cleaning service on April 24th 2011, they came and did 2 extra closets without asking me and charged me $200 and had my little brother sign on the invoice. I had to go to the hospital with my sister and they will not refund me because my brother has consented on the invoice. I talked to about 7 different people and they basically told me to do whatever I can because they will not refund me. A person named Brooke told me that she is the one in charge of making the refunds and she won't because of whatever B.S. She also claims that they have the highest customer service ratings in the country. With my experience this is the worst customer service EVER!!!!!
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#319111

Almost the same thing happened to me, only it was $400 more. Never authorized the additional services, I wasn't home, and an adult signed the invoice.

They claim there is nothing that can be done. Have you had any success getting a refund?

Review
#248218 Review #248218 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Apr 20, 2012

OK. After last years fiasco with sears over this lawn mower and them replacing the defective carberator, this summer the darn thing doesn\'t work again.

After using it for 10 min. it died and won\'t start.

Now the engine won\'t even turn over. The pull start is frozen....

View full review
13 comments
Anonymous
#1691040

I brought a riding mower ( Craftsman Mower ) Model # 917.20380 and the Warranty is a big rip off, they want $99.95 to look at the mower service fee plus I have to pay part of the labor charge. The mower is nothing but junk, have had nothing but trouble with it. I can see why Sears is closing all their store's

View more comments
Review
#248210 Review #248210 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Aug 22, 2011

UPDATE: I submitted the text of this post to Sears Customer Relations as well as the CEO of Sears. Within two weeks we received a phone call, and, to keep it short, Sears is replacing our stove. Definitely a step in the right direction.

Original review posted by user Jul 10, 2011

The problem here is simple: we...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#316717

That just goes to show you how incompetent Sears is and how they manage to have us fall for their tricks every single time.

Review
#248034 Review #248034 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1600

Update by user Aug 10, 2011

Since I posted this, I was finally contacted by a rep from the mattress dept.

Nothing was resolved, and I still have the *** mattress I had. I was called a liar and informed that they tried to convince me to not buy this replacement, because it was cheaper than the...

View full review
Review
#248032 Review #248032 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1300
The Terra Linda Sears, entrance and exit are filthy! I brought this to the attention of the store manager a month ago, and STILL nothing has been cleaned up! A good power-washing is needed, as it is an atrocious sight, compared with Kohl's which is next door!...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#515222

Agree. I've told the Northgate Mall Sears mgmt for years now to please remove the ashtrays (or move them as per law 20' away from the doors. As it is now their employees, and others, smoke there making it so customers can't get in or out.

Review
#248026 Review #248026 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Manager

Sears Lawnmower - Snapper

I bought a Snapper 21 SAL Lawnmower from Sears in Eden Prairie, MN. I've had it under 2 years and it will not start. I called Sears and their manager told me over the phone the warranty will not cover this. I asked how you can diagnose what is wrong with the mower over the phone? Terrible customer service from Sears, not surprising this Company is a shell of it's former self. DO NOT BUY ANY APPLIANCES FROM SEARS, once they sell you the appliance they walk away from all obligations. This mower cost me over $340 and the person who sold me this piece of *** said it was the best mower for the price. If that's true, that's frightening.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#327963

The point, if you actually read the review, was that they told me over the phone they would not cover even though it was under warranty. He diagnosed over the phone what the problem was because he said that 99% of the time it's the fuel.

Guess what?

I brought it into Beiswenger's repair and it was faulty wiring, which was covered. You're an ***, stay off these boards.

John N
#310521

This is a trick, right? You are complaining about Sears not doing, what?

Fixing your mower over the phone or just coming out to service it for the heck of it, free of charge? I am sure if you called Sears and told them to schedule someone to come out and look at and then repair your mower, they would do so. They are not going to do anything for you under warrant, because the warranty has expired. Really do not understand what you are complaining about.

Machines break and your mower "won't start." That could be the result of many things, all of which I am sure Sears would figure out, for a price, if you want them to. Or, do as I do and never, ever buy anything from Sears.

View more comments (1)
Review
#248019 Review #248019 is a subjective opinion of poster.