Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Sears surely knows how to waste your time

I had a Tile/laminate flooring job that I was getting quotes from different companies for. I called in Sears for an estimate since 1. They do not list any pricing or any information about there products used during installation and 2. Because that was the only way to get any questions answered. After speaking to a Sears rep. I had a set appointment. First, the man that came to my home was over a hour late and I had to call to find out where he was. He blamed traffic for his tardiness.When he finally got there he had entered my home unprepared, no samples or equipment and still no list of prices for anything. Instead he talked for hours about his life, his businesses and his passed professions. I had to remind him and push him to do his job. I told him just to give me some solid numbers and to show me the product. After about an hour of chatting, he finally went back to his car to get his laptop and measuring stick and laptop to plug in numbers(still no pricing or samples)he chatted some more before measuring out my living-room. 30 minutes later, he gave me an estimate for just my living-room, based off of a 15x17(255 sq ft) room I was expected to pay over $3k, for laminate! I have over 1700 more sq ft to go! I asked once again about the laminate samples. He went to his car again and brought back a fold out board with about 8 samples. I was told the install would run between $13-$15k. I couldn't believe it. He was very hesitant about giving me the number per sq ft. Stating that his computer isn't capable of giving him those numbers. And what made matters worse I asked him to finish off the estimate and forward it back for comparison. I haven't heard anything back. Its been about a month passed his visit. My floors are installed now and only cost me half of what I was quoted with Sears. This isn't the type of company that anyone should do business with. This was a waste of time on both ends.
View full review
Review
#239741 Review #239741 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
I tried to call my local sears store in panama city, fl and their phone system forwards all the calls to a call center in another state. You can't even talk to the local store anymore. I needed to replace my under counter ice maker after 5 years. The call center...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#315961

I am with you with Sears not being what they once were. I bought tires online and went to have them installed the next day only to find those particular ones were not available in the store even tho the online showed that store had them.

Of course they were happy to offer me other models that were quite a bit more expensive.

A set of tires that should have been 400$ plus install and disposal ended up costing over 750$ I have personaly stopped shopping at sears and advise my friends to do the same. I had a bad experiene with purchasing a riding lawn mower with them 2 years ago and gave them a second chance with the tires, but this was the last straw.

Review
#239538 Review #239538 is a subjective opinion of poster.
In April 2009 I purchased a Sears Craftsman Walk Behind Lawn Mower. It is a 21" 775 Series Self Propelled, Automatic Start, Rear Bag Mulching Mower with 175 CC and 7.5 ft/lbs Torque Briggs and Stratton Engine. Model # 917.371031, one of the best available at the time,...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#290115

Buy a bolt? Less then $0.10

Review
#239425 Review #239425 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Greetings, I understand that you may receive quite a few complaints. As a Director of Quality, I hear much of the same. In my dealings with complaints, it is best practice to try and resolve these issues to a degree of satisfaction which is beneficial to both...
View full review
3 comments
sammylag
#299993

I agree, I have shopped at sears for 40 years,never again.

View more comments
Review
#239128 Review #239128 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Installation
With Official Company Response

Sears in Toronto, Ontario - Horrible Service

I bought a dishwasher cash, then i had to return it since they shipped the wrong model. paid again with visa. didn't get a refund until now. two months later,,,,they are horribly unorganized! i called in four times and every time i was assured that the check was on its way but it never arrived. i am on the hold line as i am writing this review. basically i would prefer dealing locally from now on. they cant manage this whole online order and shipment process. and the customer service people seem like they just want to get you offthe phone line and will tell you what you want to hear ....but let the stuff go through their inefficient process after you hang up.
View full review
1 comment
SearsCares
Sears Response
#287726

To Nimakaj,

I saw your comment here and I wanted to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for the difficulties that have occurred in getting you properly credited for your Sears Outlet.com purchase. It certainly sounds as if you’ve had a very frustrating experience and that it still has not been resolved. We would very much like to help and make sure that you receive any money you are due.

My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so that we might assist you in a timely manner. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dishwasher was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Nimakaj) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Laura D.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#238321 Review #238321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$400

Sears in Los Angeles, California - Won't honor their own return policy.

I bought snow tire chains at the Bellingham, WA store and was told at the time that I could return them to any Sears Auto Center if they were unopened. I didn't use them and the case is still factory sealed. I tried to return them to the Carlsbad, CA store and they refused to take them back even though I have a receipt and it is well within the 90-day return period. It took 90 minutes of talking to indifferent sales people, multiple phone calls, and finally talking to the manager and they still wouldn't budge. They even called the original store to see if this item is returnable and they said it is. The receipt clearly says Satisfaction Guaranteed and everything is returnable within 90 days with a receipt. There are no limitations stated about brand new, unused items. I only bought these at Sears because they told me I could return them. If I had known they would refuse to take them back I would have paid half the price as another auto parts store. The service at the Carlsbad location was totally ridiculous. Nobody cared at all, just said this is their "policy" even though that is not what the printed return policy says on the receipt.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#289689

Update: After complaining to Sears corporate, the Carlsbad Auto Center agreed to issue a refund, minus a 15% restocking fee. In other words, they honored their printed return policy.

Too bad it took a formal complaint to get them to do the right thing. They have lost a long-time customer over $50.

Anonymous
#287489

Sears will not allow me to exchange a new craftsman tool for another size tool. They are K-MART in every respect. And will not have my $ ever again.

View more comments (1)
Review
#238176 Review #238176 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$54
Browsing the sears.com website for a king mattress set for under $1000.00. I noticed that they had some mattresses listed as "Mattress Only" and all others listed as just "Mattress" I chose the Simmons Beautyrest Matira Plush Pillow top King Mattress because it was on...
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#500220

Perhaps it would have been wise to try the live chat BEFORE finalizing your order.

View more comments
Review
#237950 Review #237950 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$748
With Official Company Response
Recently purchased a Husqvarna back pack blower from a Sears retail store. The pricing tag had a sears price of $234.99 with a savings of about $35.00 for price sale price of $199.74. Needed to go on the Husgvarna web site while putting it together and saw the MSRP...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#293643

We purchased an HE2 dryer from Sears and it was mis-installed causing it to fail. The first service call they failed to even show up for.

After admitting in writing that they caused the failure they refused to take responsibility.

We are totally frustrated and disappointed by their lack of concern . We talked to their corporate office and they don't even return calls after promising a followup.We used to like Sears when we grew up but they have gone completely down hill .

View more comments
Review
#237476 Review #237476 is a subjective opinion of poster.
With Official Company Response

Sears poor service

In December our washer broke. I called Sears to schedule repair. It took them over two weeks to get here and fix it. I was told the warranty purchase was a good deal and if they could not fix it if it broke again, I could get the cost of warranty put toward a new washer. The washer worked for a couple of months and I called again for them to come and fix it. It worked for a couple of weeks and I rescheduled yet another repair scheduled for May 6th. We went out of town for a child's event and paid someone to be at our home during the repair. SEARS called to say they could not come between 7-11 am and the person we hired was scheduled to leave at 11:00. I called and told SEARS this and they still did not come between the time they scheduled. I asked for the warranty to got towards a new washer and I was told they could not do that. ONLY SEARS CAN SAY when they will refund the warranty. This means that they could come once a month for the entire year and still not refund the warranty cost. What a horrible scam. I'll never purchase through SEARS again. Sincere, Sally Bart
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#292162

I am not a customer support person like Ms. Laura here, but I do work for Sears and know exactly what the protection agreement covers (and how it can be exploited). I agree it sucks they have to keep coming out, but after the fourth time in a year they replace it, as stated in your contract. People on the 800 numbers have probably been employed there for less than a week, as all call centers, and don't really know what the contract covers (I have to deal with them daily), but the best way to deal with them is to have your documentation in hand so you can prove you're right and be firm but respectful. That's the best honest advice I can give for your current situation.

Or give Laura a holler as she is not a scammer (this is something Sears does regularly) and she does have a little more authority to make things happen for you.

But next time shop at a Sears Home Appliance Showroom! We take care of service calls for you there and don't take their BS. Plus there's free cookies and drinks and stuff. All around a much better experience than the malls or online.

Anonymous
#289768

SearsCares sounds like a huge scame do not e-mail this person they are probably looking for your credit card info

SearsCares
Sears Response
#284890

To Sally Bart,

I want to apologize for the poor service you have received while trying to have your washer repaired. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. From your post I can see that this has been a source of great frustration for you and we would like to assist.

My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Sally Bart) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Laura D.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

View more comments (2)
Review
#236783 Review #236783 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Sears Repair
Astoundingly incompetent! I made three trips to my local Sears trying to get a replacement mandrel assembly for my mower. Despite bringing my model and serial numbers all three times, the staff would stare at Parts Direct as if it were Greek, then cast about for...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#284874

To Our Valued Sears Customer,

I am so sorry to read about all the difficulties you had purchasing a mandrel assembly for your lawn mower. It certainly sounds as if you did not receive the type of Service we pride ourselves on here at Sears. We would like to assist in resolving the problems you detailed in your post.

My name is Laura with the Sears Cares team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so that we might assist you in a timely manner. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and we’ll call you directly. Also, in your email, please refer to the reference name that we have given your post (Lawn Mower 5911) so that we will be able to quickly access your information. We do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Laura D.

Social Media Moderator

Sears Social Media Support

Review
#236690 Review #236690 is a subjective opinion of poster.